We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynarth Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lledrod B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Outstanding location!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I only stayed the one night but wished it could have been longer. The accommodation was recommended to us by the dog breeder we had gone to see. We travelled from Bridlington to pick up a "sproodle" puppy and wanted somewhere nearby to stay. It couldn't have been better as James and Stuart (the proprieters) had a sproodle from the same breeder, so we could see what we where letting ourselves in for.
A fantastic setting in nice quiet surroundings. The food was outstanding (home made as opposed to just home cooked)! The bedrooms where spotless and very comfortable. We can't recommend enough.
Thank you James and Stuart.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
124
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having recently returned from a 2 night stay at Brynarth, I can only say what a gem of a find. From arrival to departure James and Stuart cannot do any more to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. Yes, it is in a rural location and there is no mobile reception (there is wifi access in the farmhouse for those who cannot bear to be without some form of technology) but this is what makes it so special, a place to relax and unwind. The rooms are to a high standard and the beds very comfortable, the breakfasts and evening meal I ordered were very good and all locally sourced. The grounds are stunning with landscaped gardens and woodland to walk through, a particular joy was to sit on one of the benches and watch red kites flying overhead. Cors Lan nature reserve is a short walk up the road for those who want more. A special mention should go to Brian a delightful spoodle who accompanied me one morning on one of my walks. Whilst there a certificate arrived from Tripadvisor awarding them an excellence rating for 2014 and I totally agree, I am already planning my next stay.
Well done to James, Stuart and Brian

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosek2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Brynarth is one of those rare special places where everything comes together in harmony. The location is stunning, the old farmhouse is gorgeous, the gardens are lovely and James and Stewart are welcoming and delightful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, and every detail is thought of They must work incredibly hard, but they seem totally relaxed, funny and warm, which sets the tone for your stay at Brynarth.
The family is completed by Brian, their adorable spaniel/poodle mix, who just loves people.
Add to all this the excellent food (the full English breakfast is to die for!), and one could hardly ask for more.
We are already planning our next visit.

Nick and Alan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Its not often you get such a welcome in such a wonderful setting, then when you add in that we were travelling by motorcycle it really was a brilliant stop over on our tour of Wales. Most B&B's are a bit hesitant about motorcyclists but James and Stewart went out of their way to make us feel welcome and allowed us to store the motorcycles in the dry garage. The rooms are welcoming and comfortable, the surroundings and views are breathtaking, the food brilliant. It was an excellent stop over after a full days ride on some brilliant roads. If you are travelling through Wales it is well worth a stay in this excellent and yet tranquil B&B to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have had a wonderful 2 night stay at Brynarth and will be returning. Accommodation is beautiful, food is wonderful and hospitality is fabulous. Brian the Spoodle is a lovely walking buddy whilst exploring the acres of land on offer. Thank you for looking after our every need xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Brynarth is in an amazing setting, lovely and remote which is just what we wanted. We received a warm welcome from the moment we arrived with a touching attention to detail from James and Stuart who run the b&b. Me and my partner are both vegan and after letting them know prior to arrival they went to a great deal of trouble to ensure we were catered for: from vegan biscuits with a big pot of tea on arrival to snacks in the room and a lovely cooked breakfast.

The room was gorgeous with loads of original features and very comfortable and downstairs in the snug lounge/bar we enjoyed warming ourselves by the log burner in the evening. To top it all there was secure bike storage for our mountain bikes.

I would wholeheartedly recommend staying here to anyone who wants a peaceful retreat they can use as a base to explore this area of Wales. We will definitely be back for a longer stay in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cidersmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Brynarth has shadowed some of the highly rated 5 star hotels we have visited, never have me and my partner felt so welcomed and comfortable whilst staying at a B&B. From the arrival coffee to the departure breakfast James & Stewart had a perfect mixture of attentiveness without smothering our solitude, they're really a credit to Brynarth.

We particularly enjoyed the snug bar, we found the drinks prices really reasonable, Stewart was the perfect host keeping the bar open until a time that suited us, and the roaring fire provided a relaxing setting.

We had a double room in the farm house which was exceptionally clean and completed to a high standard, with a tv, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities, they'd even provided books and board games in the hall ways to provide a wet weather contingency, we couldn't have asked for more.

The breakfast was delicious with all the ingredients sourced locally and cooked perfectly, you've got the poached egg down to a T!! We're looking forward to eating the evening meal with you on the next visit as the breakfast was so tasty.

We can certainly recommend Brynarth as one of the best places for an idillic, relaxing country break, with exceptionally good accommodation and tied together by James & Stewart as superb accommodating hosts.

We really look forward to visiting again, keep up the great work guys!

Oh yes I couldn't leave a review without mentioning Brian their Spoodle, make sure you meet him, coming from a cat lover mainly he's absolutely adorable and loves a good belly rub.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynNathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lledrod
7.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
9.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
9.1 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#3 of 36 in Aberystwyth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynarth Country Guest House

Property: Brynarth Country Guest House
Address: Trawsgoed Road, Lledrod, Aberystwyth SY23 4HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Lledrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lledrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynarth Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynarth Country Guest House is nestled in rural splendor amongst some of the most stunning scenery in the Ystwyth Valley. It is owned and run by James Dwyer & Stuart Betts and is situated within the beautiful countryside in the foothills of the Cambrian Mountains. Brynarth is ideally located to access not only the many attractions in Ceredigion, The Ystwyth and Elan Valleys but is close enough to easily enjoy the bustling coastal town of Aberystwyth itself. The 17th Century farmhouse and barns have been tastefully and sympathetically renovated in keeping with Brynarth's age and time in history, with two acres of bluebell woods included within it's eight acres of grounds, Brynarth hosts an abundance of wildlife - including regular fly-pasts by red kites, successfully re-populating this area of mid-Wales. Bats, owls and pheasants are usually both seen and heard daily. Crystal clear spring water comes down from the mountains to supply Brynarth even through the driest of summers. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind, whether for a weekend break or a longer stay, and if you're feeling more energetic there is so much countryside waiting to be explored, particularly by foot or bicycle. The accommodation includes two double rooms in the main farmhouse, both with large en-suite shower rooms, one with sitting area and dual aspect windows looking out over the countryside. Just across the courtyard, The Old Dairy Barn has 5 delightful en-suite rooms, 2 being singles, plus a further double and a twin that share a bathroom and are ideal for use as a family 'suite' or small group. All rooms are centrally-heated, have free Wifi, radio alarm clocks and hair dryers, tea and coffee making facilities, Welsh toiletries and egyptian cotton towels. Rooms are serviced each day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. An iron and ironing board are available on request. Our Bed and Breakfast rates include a cooked breakfast of your choice from our menu, plus fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and toast and preserves. We pride ourselves on offering as much local, fresh produce as we can, most of our eggs come from our own chickens! Breakfast is served in the warm and welcoming farmhouse Dining Room. Evening meals can be arranged for groups of four or more guests and are bookable in advance. Dinner is normally served at 7pm and comprises a set menu of two courses, a main course and dessert, with after dinner coffee/tea/mints for £25 per person. If you wish to dine with us please note that we require at least 48 hours notice. Packed lunches are also available by arrangement, if you are planning a day out walking or cycling. Guests can relax in front of a log fire in the lounge with it's adjoining licenced Snug Bar. We are fully licensed with a good range of beers, wines and spirits. To enhance the evenings, there is a separate Games Barn where one can enjoy table tennis, pool & darts, here there is also a large colour television with comfy sofas. We have a large car park and also offer secure, covered parking to motorcyclists and cycles. We welcome 'Well-behaved' dogs by prior arrangement only. We have designated rooms that can accommodate your pet so please contact us first to check availability and requirements. We allow a maximum of 2 dogs per room. We charge £10 per dog for a one/two night stay, and then an additional £5 per night thereafter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brynarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynarth Country Guest House UK/Lledrod, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing