We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brynarth Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lledrod B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I can't add to the existing eloquent 5* reviews! Well organised, friendly and helpful hosts. Cosy accommodation in a beautiful location and delicious breakfasts. Although 'in the middle of nowhere' only about 20 minutes from Aberystwyth. The directions that James and Stuart provided were necessary!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
118
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Brynarth is a perfect country retreat in the "middle of nowhere" surrounded by delightful countryside. James and Stuart were marvellous hosts and we couldn't have felt more welcome. Getting there can be a bit challenging but their website has the Ordnance Survey coordinates as the postcode covers quite a large area.

The room was really comfortable and decorated in a classic country manner. The bed was great. The only downsides were that the wi-fi isn't available in the Old Dairy" and there was no TV in the room. However, it was available in the bar/lounge and there was a large games/TV room to keep you occupied. (Note there's no mobile signal here.)

The breakfasts were plentiful and filling, as you might expect for a guesthouse. We tried dinner there one evening and it was delicious (they use home-grown vegetables when in season) and good value. The drinks in the bar were reasonably priced too.

In terms of location, although not directly near to anywhere (you'll need a car), it's a great base for visiting Aberystwyth and other costal towns in Cardigan or Devil's Bridge for the Rheidol Valley Railway. We highly recommend it and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Our hosts ARE brilliant, and we shall be returning... From initial booking right through our stay they were very attentive to our needs, AND 'peculiarities'. The full breakfast is always fresh, and varied, it will build you up for the day. Local suppliers are used, and theres nothing more local than home laid eggs and home grown veg! If your a mobile junky, you'll be in detox as theres no signal on site, WIFI is provided, silence abounds, and on a clear night the stars are stunning. Truly a place for peace and quiet.... But also an ideal base to explore the region.
MND,ARW

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at Brynarth during a motorcycle tour of the UK, James and Stuart were very accommodating for the bikes as well as ourselves, nice big garage (back the bike in if you stay not ride it in!). We only stayed the one night but will definitely be back. Very knowledgeable hosts with information as to where to eat out locally too. Beautiful setting, just the place to go and unplug and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are just back at work after a great weeks stay with James and Stuart at the Brynarth Country Guest House, This lovely secluded residence situated away from the hussle and bustle in its own beautiful grounds has been a great tonic. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a welcome to match the warm weather that we were fortunate to have all week.
Our hosts could not have done more for, from pointing out all the great places to visit and routes to walk, to treating us to superb cooked breakfasts and home cooked evening meals. We were booked into there farmhouse room 1 which was full of character to match the whole building. Superbly clean and maintained as would be expected on a daily basis.It was and is our sort of place.
We came away on Saturday vowing to return, the reason being the venue and our friendly hosts. Quite a lot of fellow guests were only booked in for one/two nights but I am sure the wished they were staying longer. There is so much to see in this area, and being keen walkers we have only touched on the area in our weeks stay.
We will be back, keep up the good work James and Stuart

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first stay at Brynarth and we shall definitely be returning. The setting in the countryside is quite beautiful and very quiet and the accommodation is excellent and very clean. James and Stuart were very welcoming and hospitable and gave us lots of information about the surrounding area and things to do and see. The evening meals cooked by James, which included home grown vegetables and the breakfasts cooked by Stuart were excellent. The garden was lovely and we enjoyed walking round the grounds in the evenings.

Room Tip: Room number 1 in the farmhouse is the largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned home from two nights at Brynarth; this was (we think) our fourth visit, but certainly the first in the summer, brought about by our daughter's graduation from Aberystwyth University. The tensions of the preparation for this mega-event were very much eased by the incredibly relaxing atmosphere that James and Stuart create, and Brynarth provided an ideal base from which to make forays into town in order to sort out the inevitable last-minute hitches.
Summer up in the hills was quite amazing; we had never explored the grounds at Brynarth before, and enjoyed walking around the mown path that Stuart has prepared; there are a number of places to sit in the garden itself, and they provided a magnificent view to enjoy in such a tranquil setting. The garden is awash with blooms and fruit, and the colours are really vivid.
As we did not have our dog with us, we booked Farmhouse 1 this time; this is a lovely room upstairs in the main building which it is spacious and beautifully-furnished. Although our daughter has now finished her official association with Aberystwyth, there is no doubt that we will return to Brynarth on a fairly regular basis.

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the double rooms - they are all great, and wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lledrod
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
7.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
9.2 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynarth Country Guest House

Property: Brynarth Country Guest House
Address: Trawsgoed Road, Lledrod, Aberystwyth SY23 4HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Lledrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lledrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynarth Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynarth Country Guest House is nestled in rural splendor amongst some of the most stunning scenery in the Ystwyth Valley. It is owned and run by James Dwyer & Stuart Betts and is situated within the beautiful countryside in the foothills of the Cambrian Mountains. Brynarth is ideally located to access not only the many attractions in Ceredigion, The Ystwyth and Elan Valleys but is close enough to easily enjoy the bustling coastal town of Aberystwyth itself. The 17th Century farmhouse and barns have been tastefully and sympathetically renovated in keeping with Brynarth's age and time in history, with two acres of bluebell woods included within it's eight acres of grounds, Brynarth hosts an abundance of wildlife - including regular fly-pasts by red kites, successfully re-populating this area of mid-Wales. Bats, owls and pheasants are usually both seen and heard daily. Crystal clear spring water comes down from the mountains to supply Brynarth even through the driest of summers. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind, whether for a weekend break or a longer stay, and if you're feeling more energetic there is so much countryside waiting to be explored, particularly by foot or bicycle. The accommodation includes two double rooms in the main farmhouse, both with large en-suite shower rooms, one with sitting area and dual aspect windows looking out over the countryside. Just across the courtyard, The Old Dairy Barn has 5 delightful en-suite rooms, 2 being singles, plus a further double and a twin that share a bathroom and are ideal for use as a family 'suite' or small group. All rooms are centrally-heated, have free Wifi, radio alarm clocks and hair dryers, tea and coffee making facilities, Welsh toiletries and egyptian cotton towels. Rooms are serviced each day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. An iron and ironing board are available on request. Our Bed and Breakfast rates include a cooked breakfast of your choice from our menu, plus fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and toast and preserves. We pride ourselves on offering as much local, fresh produce as we can, most of our eggs come from our own chickens! Breakfast is served in the warm and welcoming farmhouse Dining Room. Evening meals can be arranged for groups of four or more guests and are bookable in advance. Dinner is normally served at 7pm and comprises a set menu of two courses, a main course and dessert, with after dinner coffee/tea/mints for £25 per person. If you wish to dine with us please note that we require at least 48 hours notice. Packed lunches are also available by arrangement, if you are planning a day out walking or cycling. Guests can relax in front of a log fire in the lounge with it's adjoining licenced Snug Bar. We are fully licensed with a good range of beers, wines and spirits. To enhance the evenings, there is a separate Games Barn where one can enjoy table tennis, pool & darts, here there is also a large colour television with comfy sofas. We have a large car park and also offer secure, covered parking to motorcyclists and cycles. We welcome 'Well-behaved' dogs by prior arrangement only. We have designated rooms that can accommodate your pet so please contact us first to check availability and requirements. We allow a maximum of 2 dogs per room. We charge £10 per dog for a one/two night stay, and then an additional £5 per night thereafter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Brynarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynarth Country Guest House UK/Lledrod, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing