We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brynarth Country Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Conrah Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Antaron Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queensbridge Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
259
10
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
10
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomperfect hostscosy loungetable tennisguest loungeget away from it allpeace and quietbeautiful countrysidelog firerural retreatspent three nightslocal producean evening mealwarm welcomeguest househighly recommend a staystayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We recently stayed at the Brynarth for 2 weeks and booked out the entire property. We were working in the area and found the guesthouse a perfect retreat after a hard day. Cathy and Ian went above and beyond and really made it a home from home for us. We'd all love to go back with friends or family and a little more time to explore the beautiful surroundings and hang out in the games barn!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186220Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here unfortunately for one night only. The place is a little out of town and can be tricky to find, but its secluded location is part of its appeal in very relaxing surroundings.

Our host Ian was fantastic. He was helpful with our bags and looking out for us as we arrived (it was dark). He made us feel welcome, as we were checking in; he offered us a drink and asked if we were hungry. So it immediately made us happy to be there. We enjoyed our friendly chats about the history of the property and the surrounding area.

The room was great – good size, comfy double bed, and very nice complimentary toiletries. No television though, but again keeping with the “retreat” theme. There is however free wireless Internet provided, which is a handy convenience to keep in touch with family/friends back home.

The house facilities included a games room with table tennis, pool (not swimming), plenty of books to choose from and loads of local walks around the area.

The only negatives were that the building is quite old and therefore the water pressure is a little lacking. The shower barely managed a trickle. Also there was some noise from downstairs as we were above the breakfast/dining room, but not too bad.

Breakfast was awesome and a real highlight as it was made with local produce and Ian’s homemade jams and conserves. A very good start to the day!

Would I stay here again? – most definitely!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccranny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Ian and Cathy were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed staying in the farm house particularly sitting in the snug/lounge by the log fire in the evening having a drink from the bar and chatting to our hosts and the other guests. We liked having no TV in the bed room. Breakfast was excellent especially the local sausages and home made jams, which set us up for the day. Our room was a good size and well furnished in keeping with a farmhouse with comfortable beds. Free internet comes in very handy as their is no mobile phone reception, but Skype or Facetime both worked well.

If you like somewhere quiet and tucked away with no noisy neighbours other than the local wildlife this is an excellent place to stay. Well hidden in the Welsh Hills, it's easy to find with the printed directions, but hard to find without, my Satnav was going crazy trying to find the place. Don't get put off by the grass growing down the middle of the narrow roads.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Lovely friendly welcome, room was well decorated and very comfortable, the lounge and snug were perfect, and the breakfast was fantastic, catering for dietary requirements with imagination.

Would I go again? Absolutely! Not if but when....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Have just returned from Brynarth and are going back again in February. Ian and Cathy make you so welcome and the atmosphere is one of peacefulness and calm. Food is excellent and the rooms are delightful. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinema51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews