We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic camping holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at East Shilvinghampton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic camping holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

we have just returned from our 4 night stay at east shilvinghampton farm with our 3 year old daughter and bella the dog. all i can say is the whole experience exceeded our expectations! i dont like th idea of camping at all, but the tent was more like home. the double bed was so comfy better than my own at home. my daughter loved the cupboard bed. i loved the idea of a wood burning stove to keep the tent warm if it turned a little chilly, and boy did it keep the rest of the tent toastie warm. the views from the field were stunning, especially at night watching the sun go down. bella our dog loved running around the spacious field i the evenings as we were the only family there at the time.
martin and joby were very warm, welcoming people who were always on hand to help, they came to check if everything was ok most days and have a general chat with us. me and my daughter particurlarly loved bottle feeding the lambs and goat kids, an experience i will never forget. on our last day martin took me, my partner and daughter for a very informative farm tour and got to sit in the big tractor! all in all i would definately go again and would recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NewMaldenGirl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay, Joby & Martin did a great job of looking after us - from great hope cooked food available in the honesty shop to a great farm tour, daily feeding of the sheep/goats for my daughter (and me!) and stoking up the wood-fired oven for pizzas mid-week.

My daughter (4) loved the week on the farm. The field with the 8 Featherdown tents in it is relatively large and she could run around to her hearts content, with us happy that she could be free in such a safe enviroment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMaldenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just come back from a long weekend at East Shilvinghamtpn Featherdown Farm site and we are already discussing when we will be going back!
As a completely "camping virgin" family of 5 (high maintenance Mum, Dad and 3 boys 8y, 5y, 3y) we were a little apprehensive about the whole experience and, in fact if you are looking for a 5*luxury holiday, Featherdown is not for you. However, if you want high end luxury camping this will definitely fit the bill and it surpassed all my expectations.
I could go on for pages about the fabulous and extremely well equipped tents but you can see all that on the Featherdown site and it's all as you see it there, at least at East Shilvinghampton it is.
What made this holiday for us was the farm and the lovely family running it.
The tents (8 of them) are set on a fabulous field site with stunning views, all slightly offset so that they don't look into each other and far enough apart that you have a good sense of privacy but within a great camping community.
There is a camp-fire pit in the centre and plenty of wood available for long nights with marshmallows and hot chocolate.
There is more than enough space for the children (and grown ups who forgot that they are 40 and not 14!) to run, play and generally burn off steam. There is also a great sense of community with all the children getting outside together and enjoying the beautiful setting.
I have read reviews of other Featherdown Farms saying that campers felt fleeced for all the extras - wood, toilet roll, BBQ grill etc.. This was definitely not the case at East Shilvinghampton. In fact Martin and Jobey really couldn't do enough for us.
We had a great introductory tour and then Jobey popped by every morning to check we were OK. She also made a couple of baked potatoes in her own oven on pizza night for our one child who won't eat pizza and Martin raided his loo for a spare roll for us when we had a toilet crisis. We were left wanting to tip for all the little extras.
My only complaint which is a Featherdown issue and not unique to the farm is the in-tent toilet. It is obviously wonderful to have a flushing loo in a tent but the bench it is set in is cold and the hole is set too far back. As a result we used up all our loo roll with me having to wipe up the daily spillages of the 3 boys. Much as I loved the authenticity of the tent (very Little House on the Prairie!) please give me a loo seat!
Having said that nothing could take away from our fantastic weekend. We turned off our phones and lived by candle and oil lights in a beautiful setting with faultless hosts. This is "quality family time" at its best and now that we have returned to central heating, hot running water, toilet seats and "Minecraft" I'm missing it already.
Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: The tents are on a sloping field. If you have mobility issues ask for one near the pizza oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We came here for 3 nights over a weekend at the beginning of September with 3 other friends' families and occupied 4 of the 6 tents. All of us had young kids aged 1-4 and it was perfect for them. The tents are arranged so you can see all the other tents and keep an eye on the kids as the field itself is totally enclosed and safe to let them run around.

The tents themselves are amazing. Real wood burning stoves to keep you toasty and separated bedrooms, along with a kitchen table, sink with running water and a functioning loo.

Joby and Martin (who's farm it is on) are both welcoming and chatty. They made sure we had everything we needed and gave us a guided tour and let the kids sit in the tractor.

The setting is brilliant, in the middle of rolling countryside, a few miles from Chesil beach and the Swannery at Abbottsbury - which has an awesome kids farm and play area.
Glamping I think could be for everyone, although make sure you arrive with some food as the honesty shop doesn't stock everything you may want on that first night. The farm even has a B&B if elderly relatives want to come and join the fun but not sleep under the stars.

Best bit, sitting outside on pub benches and enjoying a glass or two of wine under the stars with our friends – once the kids had fallen asleep. Will definitely do this again as it’s perfect for young families.

Room Tip: Don't trust a sat nav to get you here - it really is in the middle of nowhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheepskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Just back from a four-night stay here with our 2yr old and 5yr old. First time on a 'Featherdown Farm' for us, and we loved it.

I think two things made it; the beautiful countryside plus Martin & Joby's very warm hospitality; they always found time to chat to us when we saw them during the day!
The place is also supremely organised; the shower block is excellent (nice hot water)and the 'honesty shop' is stocked with local produce.

The farm tour was great; the kids bottle-fed the lambs and calves, collected eggs from the chickens; and climbed into the (rather large!) tractor. There's also loads to see and do nearby - swans at Abbotsbury, Chesil beach of course, Portland Bill (great view from the top) and we even drove to Studland one day, for a sandy beach.

Apart from that the tent was v spacious and had everything we needed. It was also very dark at night (most tents aren't!) so the little ones went to bed on time and slept through - even during the summer solstice! Must have been all that fresh air...

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank RichiePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Feather Down Farms at East Shilvinghampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at East Shilvinghampton

Property: Feather Down Farms at East Shilvinghampton
Address: Portesham DT3 4HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Portesham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portesham
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weymouth and Chesil Beach are close at hand to this dream of a Dorset Feather Down Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At East Shilvinghampton Portesham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing