We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food ... interesting 'foam'options”
Review of Hotel Baeren Suhr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baeren Suhr
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Aarau
Reviewed 5 May 2014

went here tonight following recommendations from collegues who live locally.

English menu available and much refering to 'Foam'. There was plenty to choose on the menu and all who ate finished what was deilvered happily.

the restaurant was pretty quite on a monday, but this gave us a couple of 'complementary dishes' as part of the meal.

Nice garden for drinks in early evening too and suitably happy with the service ... i would certainly recommend to others

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Baeren Suhr, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you very much for this great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards
Your Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Have spent 2 nights in this hotel. The room I had was a suite room, understanding that it is a 3 star hotel, I would still expect at least a minibar in the room. The furniture and the overall feeling is like at grandma's place. No elevator in the hotel and very limited parking place. The only upside is the restaurant. Really delicious food, quite pricy though.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank SJBK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Baeren Suhr, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your helpful comment. We are very pleased that you liked our kitchen. We are currently reviewing to put Minibar's in our rooms. We are very sorry that you didn't have a parkingplace. Normaly our 40 parking places are enough for our 30 rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We arrived in the evening and we had to ask the restaurant staff to check us in and the lady who did it was not extremely fluent in English. I guess this not a touristy area so we should be forgiving about that.
The room we rented was extremely spacious. We were coming from Paris so the difference was striking. Unfortunately for us, the space was quickly forgotten when we were awakened by a leaf blower just down our window, blowing for more than two hours, starting at 7 am. A parking lot surrounds the hotel and the leaves had to be removed. I suppose 7 am is a great time to do it. We live in DC and we know a lot about leaves, I can say the guy using the tool was enjoying himself considering the size of the piles (very small for two hours of work). Another detail that I found strange: we are a couple, travel as a couple. I made the reservation and I am sure that I did not signed up for 2 beds. Well we ended up with 2 beds, side by side, but two bed. It was late when we arrived and clearly there was no manager in the hotel, I decided to let it be. For the price I will certainly not return to this place for the lack of consideration they have for their guests' sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This small hotel in the town of Suhr is an unlikely rendezvous for business travellers and locals, but the night I spent there demonstrated that it is the centre of a small universe.

All meeting and dining rooms seemed to be full with happy and laughing people (you can rent the meeting rooms for private parties) and it seems that the Hotel Bären has a good reputation in the local region. Certainly, 15 GM points seem to point to a first-class kitchen, though we only tried the brasserie style small rustic restaurant. We had to wait 30 minutes for our food, but passed the time pleasantly. Apparently, the establishment is not always this full, but the staff remained friendly and seemed fairly unstressed.

Rooms are fairly simple, but clean and contain everything the business traveller might need. There´s free internet which is provided without having to ask, and the staff try to help in case of any problems.

One issue: The hotel is almost at the centre of a series of busy roads, so noise from around 5.30am can be an issue, and I had a room facing away from the main road. What it´s like on the other side you can guess, but I didn´t have personal experience.

Room Tip: Facing the car park away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: nie das Standard-Einzelzimmer buchen!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brain801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Baeren Suhr, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Baeren Suhr, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WERB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Baeren Suhr, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aarau
2.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sternen
1.9 mi away
Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof
2.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Schutzen
Gasthof Zum Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Aarau
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kettenbruecke
Hotel Kettenbruecke
#1 of 7 in Aarau
47 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Arte Kongresszentrum
2.2 mi away
Aarau-West Swiss Quality Hotel
Aarau-West Swiss Quality Hotel
#1 of 2 in Oberentfelden
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren Suhr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren Suhr

Address: Bernstrasse West 56 | Suhr, Aarau 5034, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Aarau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Aarau
Price Range: £96 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren Suhr 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baeren Suhr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing