We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLE BUT EFFECTIVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Gradignan
Certificate of Excellence
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“SIMPLE BUT EFFECTIVE”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Basic, simple, but it has everything you need for an overnight stop. Despite being so close to the main road it was quiet. It's 100m from a little wood which is great for dog walking or jogging. Surprisingly large bathroom for a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    109
    25
    2
    4
See reviews for
52
76
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ecuador
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night with our two kids (8 and 10) on our way back to Paris from Spain.

It's very difficult to find hotel rooms in Europe to fit a family of 4, but this concept was perfect. A real family room with a double bed and single bunk beds. Our room, 519, was perfect. The room and the bathroom were tidy clean! Towels are small and low quality, but clean. We didn't ear a noise and had a very good night sleep. Since our room was facing a dead-end, I don't know how annoying the sound from the highway can be.

Even if the breakfast was relatively cheap at 6 euros compared to the usual 10-15 euros price tag, we opted for one of the several bakeries nearby.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are the best, since they do not face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YULRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We chose this hotel because we'd overstepped the budget on our previous two nights and stayed in very good hotels in Biarritz with pools and all sorts of amenities. To be honest I was dreading coming here - no pool, no restaurant (only breakfast served), but we crossed fingers and hoped for the best, and I have to say it completely excelled our expectations. The room was spotless, in fact it was like a new hotel. No frills, but the bed was huge, comfy and spotless, as was the bathroom, with a very powerful shower. There was no traffic noise at all despite being right next to the motorway - and although there being no restaurant for the evening, there are a whole bunch to choose from just 5 minutes drive away. Breakfast is served in a functional cafeteria by the Reception area and there was plenty to choose from and it was quickly being restocked by staff behind the scenes. Breakfast was 6 euro's 50 per person and well worth it. Definitely worth staying here if you are budget conscious and need somewhere close to Bordeaux and/or the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We booked here as we were travelling with our two kids 6 & 2 and touring around Bordeaux area, we could get a family room with a good size double and bunk beds and it was a really good price 70 euros plus breakfast.

The room was really clean and tidy and cleaned and towels changed, floors washed and toiletries replaced daily.

The location was great on the Rocade around Bordeaux but with amazing double glazing you could hardly hear any traffic noise and the quietest and most effective air conditioning meant you didn't need to have the windows open anyway.

You could drive or get a tram nearby into the centre of Bordeaux in 15 minutes or be at the coast in 30-40 minutes tops.

The breakfast had lots of the usual choices, not the greatest breakfast buttery convenient when travelling with two children, however if we had been travelling as a couple I would have gone out for a local breakfast as the croissants were a bit dry, so was the bread but the choice of compotes, yoghurts, cheeses, jams, spreads etc was great.

Really friendly helpful staff, car park and just generally a really pleasant experience.

I would recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haribo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

From the moment that you arrive, it is obvious that the Arena hotel is designed for people to stay overnight on a journey to somewhere else. It is not a place that you would normally stay too long at. Reception is only manned (or womanned) until 9pm. After that, there is an automatic checkin machine by reception. There are no keys for the rooms all access to the rooms is by a 6 digit pin number.

The hotel is located just off of the motorway in Gradignan which is about 15 minutes drive - 45 minutes by bus/tram - from Bordeaux centre. There is not too much in the local area but there are a couple of restaurants nearby if you want to eat. If you are really desperate, there is a vending machine in the reception area.

We had a family room for just two of us which was great as we had a reasonable amount of space. It would have been a bit crowded for a family of 4 though. The rooms are very basic with just the essentials but that was Ok for us. The room had a desk, and a TV but no minibar. There was a minimalist wardrobe with enough room to hang a couple of suits on but that is all - again demonstrating that it is designed for an overnight stop.

Parking is free and there are plenty of parking spaces.

WIFI access in the room was OK - a good signal by the door but it drops off in the room. We found that internet access was very slow in the evening - presumably because everyone else in the hotel was using it - but pretty good in the morning.

Breakfast is available for 5 EUR. Again, it was pretty basic but for 5 EUR, who can complain.

In summary, this is a good place for an overnight stop but would not really be suitable for a longer stay - eg. it is not really suitable as a base for exploring Bordeaux as you will spend a lot of time/money travelling to the city. For the price we paid, we think we got a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is new B&B of motel type, located just facing the highway. Good for overnight during the trip but nothing more. All was clean and new, which is great. Breakfast standard continental buffet as in any other 2* motel. Negatives: location, too modernist design, small (bad layout) bathroom, at our arrival air-con was on at minimum level, no possibility to get any reasonable temperature during night. There is Campanile hotel beside with the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFM_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gradignan
5.3 mi away
P'tit Dej-Hotel
P'tit Dej-Hotel
#7 of 23 in Merignac
163 reviews
6.8 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Bordeaux Lac
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#12 of 173 in Bordeaux
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
#74 of 173 in Bordeaux
428 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inter Hotel Du Phare
Inter Hotel Du Phare
#6 of 23 in Merignac
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
#21 of 173 in Bordeaux
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: 7 allee des Demoiselles, 33170 Gradignan, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Gradignan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Gradignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Gradignan, Bordeaux, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing