We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super restaurant - really good”

Bistrot du Grand Louis
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Bistrot du Grand Louis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 153 Restaurants in Merignac
Price range: US$11 - US$47
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Gourmet restaurant of meat and grills, fish and seafood in Merignac, close to Bordeaux, in theGironde. This restaurant proposes traditional and authentic food based on fresh produces. Come to taste specialities of the Southwest of France within a sophisticated and smart surroundings. Ideal for the business lunches as for romantic dinners. Reception of groups and reservation online possible. Discover the dishes, the menus and the wine list on the website
Reviewed 5 June 2014

the restaurant is very nice , good services and excellent French food, I saw some sea food that looks really good but I choose some standard French entrecote, it was a dream so good, really with that an excellent French wine Pessac Leognan and my evening was the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JpegG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Gérant at Bistrot du Grand Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comment. It's always a pleasure to share our traditional food culture !

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We eat at this restaurant about once a month and are never dissapointed; excellent friendly staff; service just right and consistently good food.Well worth a visit!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ynotllig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Propriétaire at Bistrot du Grand Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your comment. Hope that you are still loving our cuisine and we wish to see you soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

An old style Bistro of a style which is fast disappearing in France. Over 200,000 30 years ago, and now only about 40,000.
Current economic conditions (and government attitude to small business) will mean these numbers will decline even further over the next 3-4 years.
Elegant interior (if tables are a bit close) but large traditional menu and good wine selection.
My stuffed piquillos entree and veal liver were good and my colleague said his oysters and duck were fine, so menu is not challenging from a "haut cuisine" perspective, but everything was fresh and cooked the way it should be.
Service started off well but faltered a bit as it got busier over the lunch period.
Parking is on the street around a busy corner, so not very convenient.
Worthwhile considering a visit if you are in the area (not too far from the airport) but not different enough to warrant a special visit, and there are better Bistro/Brasserie examples in and around Bordeaux city.

1  Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Propriétaire at Bistrot du Grand Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Good morning,

Thanks for your comment. We appreciate your attention. Hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Restaurant looks nice but the staff is just very very rude, it spoiled our lunch completely. Walking in on the right hand-side you can see the kitchen and the grill, it looked interesting but in the end overall experience was very average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jerrybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Propriétaire at Bistrot du Grand Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks for your comment and we would like to say you that we take your feedback with a particular attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Superb restaurant, great food, great atmosphere.
Went there for lunch: PARFAIT !!!
they have every day specials where the Chef suggest some nice meat, fish.
Good wine list and good value

2  Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Propriétaire at Bistrot du Grand Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thank you so much for your comment. Hope to see you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot du Grand Louis also viewed

 

Been to Bistrot du Grand Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing