We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but could be better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perros-Guirec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yelloh ! Village Le Ranolien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

The Le Ranolien site is located on the cliff tops on the rose granite coast, the views and walks immediately outside the site are very pleasant.
The site itself is quite large belonging to the Yelloh! Group. The majority of mobile homes on the site belong to Yelloh! With 20 or so each belonging to canvas holidays and Eurocamp. We stayed with eurocamp. Our mobile home seemed quite old compared to the yelloh! And canvas ones, theirs seemed to have more of a cottage/lodge look whereas our eurocamp was basically a static caravan. It was ok inside though, large lounge area, double bedroom, twin room and a bunk with decking, and garden furniture outside. Everything was clean. The plot in which the "caravan" sat though left a little to be desired.... Most mobiles including the eurocamp ones seemed to have a good sized plot perpendicular to the track around site with a good distance and screening hedge between units. Our plot was stuck directly behind (less than 8ft) another unit and sandwiched between 2 units at either end (id say less than 10ft apart). It looked like they had squeezed 4 units in to the space for 2! Now initially this wasn't a problem as all the adjacent units were empty, but 4 nights in to our 10 night stay.... We had neighbours! 3 young French couples in one caravan. They were awake playing music and generally being loud until gone 4am on their first night, the next morning we notified yelloh! Of the problem. They must have spoken with the French couples as they came around to see us to apologize the next day and to say they would not make anymore noise, but to understand they are young and don't go to bed until very late, this was fine... We accepted the apology and they promised to keep it down. Over the next 5 days we had to go round to their unit 4 more times to ask them to reduce their volume as they were keeping us all awake at 3am...to be fair the music wasn't played after the 1st complaint, but the 12+ people party at 2am etc was bad enough. I think the problem of noise was made worse due to the fact the units were so close together, if there had been more distance between them and a hedge/trees between the noise may have been much less disturbing. I also think more could have been done in re locating the young couples to an area of the site with no neighbours (the site was quite empty). It spoilt what was a decent holiday! The facilities on site were good..... Nice pool with slides, the bar is ok, the on site restaurant is very good and the place is well maintained. It's just a shame that some of the units have been crammed in. I would honestly say where our pitch was.... At full capacity (all surrounding units occupied) that no one would have had a decent nights sleep if anyone nearby was even a little bit noisy or decided to have a late night, which is a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DKHE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Yelloh ! Village Le Ranolien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for 9 days over Easter with my wife and two year old son. We travelled via Roscoff which was only 48 miles away.We were happy with the 3 bed caravan with Eurocamp. Nice indoor pool , two bouncy castles on site along with mini golf and a nice park. Site in a good location by the coast and a good base to explore from. Three of our friends and their families also stayed and everyone enjoyed their stay They are building an outdoor pool which should be open by summer. The site and Brittany was very clean and the surrounding towns very nice. There is a nice Restaurant along the beach front in the next town of Perros guirrec . The beach there is lovely and you can walk the 20 minute walk from the camp site into town along the lovely cliffside walk.There is also a Super U Supermarket 5 min drive away with great choice of food and drink . There is a decent clubhouse on site with kids discos/bingo nights . Overall very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank herridge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Travelled @ Easter 2012 - arriving on the first day of the season. Ferry from Portsmouth to Caen followed by an easy 200 mile drive through France.
Canvas Holidays were very welcoming, walking us to our caravan and showing us around. Caravan was clean and tidy and was of the usual European style.
A new indoor swimming pool is open and they are currently working on a new outdoor pool (with slides etc) for the summer. A shop/games room/bar/spa/mini-golf/playpark/kids soft play area all onsite. There is entertainment in the bar most nights (Caberet/Quiz etc)
Outside the park, about 200 yards is the 'Rose Coast' - a stunning location where kids will enjoy rock pooling and climbing over the rocks. There are 2 beaches within a 15 minute walk along the coast with others a short drive away.
Overall, a great place to stay and explore in Brittany.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaymaker2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I have been to Le Ranolien a number of times now and each time is better than the last. Mainly, we book through Eurocamp but their are several other franchises offering similar accommodation and all enjoying the campsite facilities.
Caravan holidays can often be considered in a sterotypical way and often based on experiences of small caravans in field with sparce amenities - particularly in the personal hygiene area.
Eurocamp differs greatly in this respect because the 'caravans' are really mobile homes offering separate living and sleeping accommodation with domestic facilities to satisfy all sizes of familes or parties.
At Le Ranolien we enjoy a large living area and full sized bedrooms. Being connected to all the services, we do not have to fetch water, dispose of waste and the integral shower room and toilet offer personal use not communial involvement.
The swimming pools are as described, certainly, they are not 'footbath' sized dip tanks. The play areas for the young ones are safe and sufficient to allow childish fantasy.
The site is well thought out in terms of layout and there is hardly a feeling of claustraphobia or intrusion into personal spaces - if you see what I mean? We have been to campsites quite recently where you could touch the next caravan and see into four units in any direction. It was often difficult and uncomfortable to exagerate the 'I'm not looking at you' behaviour.
The Bar is well stocked and large offering various types of entertainment - even your own if you enjoy Karaoke. Local entertainers are encouraged and enjoyed - even if you don't speak the language. Incidentally, the staff do speak your language and even if they don't, because of their attention and kindness, it doesn't really matter because you get there comfortably in the end.
My wife and I are approaching retirement age but the way the camp and activities are planned we never feel 'inconvenienced or irritated' by anyone or anything.
The local area and coastline adjacent to the Campsite is exceptional and despite the number of times we visit, we have never dismissed a place we have visited before as there is always something new to discover.
We will be staying again in May this year and very likely in September. Despite the choice of beginning and end of Season, we have yet to be disappointed in the weather or places to visit.
In the present poor economic climate where money is tight, this kind of holiday may be the answer. A large family can stay comfortably and enjoy the amenities and entertainment without the fear of soaring travel cost and accommodation price hikes.
We travel from the North West and endure the driving distance from Home to coast, ferry/tunnel and the journey from Calais (we prefer the drive) to the Campsite - we stay/stop at any place we choose along the way as part of the holiday.
I will venture to say that should someone not enjoy their stay here then perhaps they should examine their expectations and compare it to value for money.

PS. I have no connection with the camp except as a holiday-maker.

Enjoy!

Frank & Colette

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank FDM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed for a week in the summer of 2007. We took the overnight Plymouth to Roscoff ferry and the camp site was very easy to get to once we were off the boat.

The camp site itself was gorgeous and very well kept. We had a spotlessly clean caravan in a nice little spot. There was a shop, a cinema, park, indoor and outdoor pools, a couple of eating places and plenty for the kids to do if they like outdoor activities. There was a Super-U supermarket about 5 minutes away from the site.

The area is just beautiful, the pink granite rocks along the coast are stunning and the small beaches were gorgeous. Plenty of coastal walks to take in the beauty of the place.

I would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MissToblerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

we booked this holiday as a cheap Mon - Friday get away with the sun newspaper paid £15 per person as we came in July 2011, we took the plymouth Roscoff overnight sailing the campsite is less than an hour from the port, altogether with the crossing our holiday cost less than £300 for 4 people, Our agent was Yelloh and they only had 3 bedrrom caravans so we had an extra room, it also had a kettle!! My Niece who is 14yrs old made loads of friends, and was out partying until the late hours, we loved the area, stunning, I love cornwall this area is simular but I found it so quiet the beaches really clean and the sea blue? we loved our evenings in the bar at night enjoyed the live band and quiz night. Met lots of people and had a really good time, we would definatly return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZakyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We booked with Yelloh and stayed for the last two weeks in August 2011. We drove from Calais to the campsite (long journey), once we arrived at Perros Guirec, the views of the granite coast and the small beaches were amazing. The weather was great. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The campsite is in a spectacular location. it is ideal for families with children and teenagers. Our accommodation was fine and in a quieter area of the campsite. It was reasonably clean, couple of cobwebs on light fittings, but I would not pay the 50 Euro cleaning fee, do it yourself. I would take the following utensils with you:- pizza cutter (the campsite pizzeria is really good), corkscrew, tin opener, and butter knife. Laundry facilities are excellent and very clean, you use Euro's for washing machines and tumble driers (we have stayed with other campsites where you have had to purchase tokens). The pool area is not as big as shown, but our two boys(13 and 11) loved the slides. Le Ranolien is refurbishing the indoor pool for 2012. Coastal walks are a must. Ploumanach is not far away. The beach at Tregasterel was vey clean. Lannion is a must, especially on a Thursday for the all day market. Supermarkets-Super U is a five minute drive away. Intermarche is about 20 minutes away(follow the road signs for Lannion). Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perros-Guirec hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Les Bains de Perros-Guirec Hotel et Spa
1.5 mi away
L'Agapa - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa NUXE
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castel Beau Site
Hotel Castel Beau Site
#2 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Rochers
Hotel des Rochers
#3 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Les Costans
Les Costans
#6 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
641 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Sternes
Hotel Les Sternes
#10 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelloh ! Village Le Ranolien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelloh ! Village Le Ranolien

Address: Chemin du Skevel | Ploumanac'h, 22700, Perros-Guirec, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Perros-Guirec
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Perros-Guirec
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelloh ! Village Le Ranolien 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Also Known As:
Camping Le Ranolien Hotel Perros-Guirec
Yelloh ! Village Le Ranolien Perros-Guirec, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing