We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, Filthy Hovel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stars Reims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stars Reims Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Tinqueux
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting, Filthy Hovel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel was booked for us by our travel agent. We were dubious about it, and for good reason. It was the most filthy place, it stank of urine, there were huge stains over the carpets, bedcovers were stained, curtains hanging off rail. No staff were at the hotel when we arrived, a key was left for us. We decided that there was no way we could spend another minute in the terrible place and we definitely would not sleep there, so we left. PLEASE PLEASE don't ever think of staying here!!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    6
    8
    29
See reviews for
7
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have stayed in cheap hotels before but put up with the basic facilities as parking is usually safe & reception staff usually make up for the standard plus we have always managed to get wi-fi and get some sleep in the Formula One.
This place stinks; I mean it really hits you when you get to the room and then you realise it's either flea spray or something else nasty which doesn't manage to hide the smell of stale smoke.
We felt that the car was unsafe in the open car park; the furniture was a plastic garden chair; the tv didn't have a remote control, the bedding was so full of holes & looked so dirty that we used spare clothes to cover the pillows cases, wi-fi was unavailable and the reception staff was okay in the evening but replaced by the most unwelcoming 'lady' by breakfast time, all in all not great at all!
We stupidly had agreed to stop for breakfast so couldn't leave at the crack of dawn after a very restless night; the room was full of mosquitoes and I am still scratching now when thinking back at how unclean the place was. Why this hotel is on Last Minute.com, goodness knows.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellygloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tinqueux hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Horrible looking hotel situated in the back of an industrial estate. The room was dirty and the facilities were of poor standard. Maybe the worst 2* hotel one could have stayed at! Wondering how it was rated 2* in the first place!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KT6UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset Softie
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Exactly the same comments as from Boris 'n Duke over three years ago re building, reception personnel ( nice tan though!) and the rooms, smell etc etc
This site has potential - see the money being spent on the Best Westen nextdoor.
This is position than that but the open-ness and lack of security woorying - partner never slept a wink but the good old sleeping tablet helped me !
4 rooms occupied on our visit - 2 UK, one Slovakian and one Italian ( from car plates)- perhaps this says something about local knowledge.
But it was quiet - and the donkey is still across the stream !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

The place wasn’t very good.
Curtain missing hook, so that it sagged. Cigarette burn in top cover.
No remote for TV and the TV so high up the wall that you had to stand on a chair to operate it.
Broken support slats under the mattress.
Room smelled as did the bathroom.
Shower leaked in every direction.
The shower gel container attached to the shower wall was empty. Only one towel for two of us. (Lady at reception got me an un-ironed one from the pile of unsorted but thankfully clean washing.)

Helpful?
Thank wmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

After reading the other reviews on this website, I was a little concerned about this hotel, but given time and budget constraints decided to give it a go. I must say I was pleasantly surprised.
I arrived in a convenient location which captured the essence of regional France. Water surrounds, convenient to the sights, even a donkey in the adjacent field (we nicknamed him Maurice).
The proprietor was attentive and freindly, happily she spoke god english, which isnt common in France. She was able to help us with sights and local restaurants.
The rooms, although a little cosy, were clean and tidy, with plenty of towels and good, thick pillows. Plus the maratime theme was fun.
All in all a great weekend, my only gripe was a few people making a bit of noise one night, but the hotel can hardly be blamed.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LeMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2006

This is quite simply the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to spend a night in! The Stars Experience begins when you arrive in the car park (not secure, as the website promised, but open to a main road on one side and the riverside footpath on the other!). It looked as welcoming as a Victorian HM prison. As with all grotty hotels, this one has the obligatory faulty / buzzing / flickering neon sign and boarded up front door glass. Upon entering the hotel reception, you are greeted with the foreboding sight of a grizzly looking Rottweiler and the reception staff with their respective babies round their ankles. On entering the room, you are greeted with the smell of leaking sewerage from the 'cabin' on the upper deck, stale cigarette smoke and stangely enough, mustard. The moth-eaten curtains did not have their full compliment of hooks, i.e. one at either end, the bed covers had 'suspect stains' which would suggest these rooms could be hired on an hourly (perhaps half-hourly?) basis, floors were filthy- don't think they had seen the business end of a vacuum cleaner in many a month. As for internet access and bar- Do me a favour!!

  • Liked — Leaving in a cloud of tyre smoke!
  • Disliked — Hmm, Everything??
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid like the Black Death!!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boris_n_Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinqueux
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Reims Thillois
0.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Reims -Tinqueux
1.8 mi away
Centre International de Sejour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reims Tinqueux
Ibis Reims Tinqueux
#3 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Reims - Tinqueux
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reims Tinqueux
Novotel Reims Tinqueux
#2 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stars Reims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Reims Hotel

Property: Stars Reims Hotel
Address: Zone Dactivite Mt St Pierre 7 rue Louis Breguet, 51430 Tinqueux, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Tinqueux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Tinqueux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stars Reims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Reims Tinqueux
Hotel Stars Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing