We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie
Pas de Calais, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We arrived at this hotel to a very warm welcome. Lovely room, west facing with nice balcony. There was a problem with the room initially (bulb blown in toilet), we were immediately changed to the room next door, within minutes, equally as good. Very spacious room with modern bathroom. Dinner in the evening was excellent 15 euros for the set menu and there was an a la carte menu if we had so wished. The young waiter was very polite and attentive.

I have got to say that all round this hotel has staff to be proud of.

There is secure, free, car parking.

The only downside I would say is the breakfast, which was a bit disappointing for 8 euros each.

We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    52
    37
    17
See reviews for
32
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here for one night while on a package trek through the Pyrenees. Although this can certainly no longer be called a grand hotel, the room had a nice view and was spacious and clean, the buffet dinner was generous and tasty, breakfast was minimal but adequate, front desk service was acceptable. If you don't expect modern luxury, it can offer you a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perirhinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyll
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I was part of alarge tour group who used this as a base for exploring other parts of this area. The hotel is situated opposite a river and most rooms have a balony. The rooms are clean and adequate. The food was a buffet and was ok. Staff were very friendly . The only minus points were that dogs were allowed in the restaurant and there were no English language programs on tv. There is a large free car park available. It is situated in a small quiet town.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Given the trip adviser reviews we read prior to our departure on holiday we were not looking forward to staying in this hotel as part of a "Preferred Travel" package holiday but were pleasantly surprised after our four day stay.

The hotel is a little bit "tired" and the room we had was not particularly pristine, but it was clean and spacious. It did lack a "room safe" and a fridge and had limited TV channels, but for a four day stay it was perfectly adequate.

It is in a quiet location and not too far to walk to the centre.

The food was OK and done on a buffet basis, but some things ran out very quickly and took a long time to be "topped up".

The bonus was that we received wine and water with our evening meal included in the package, which we were not aware of prior to our arrival!

The staff were very helpful and pleasant,

Tonythemonk Bonnyrigg

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We stayed on a half board basis for four nights. Having previously seen critical reviews here, we were apprehensive about what we might find. We need not have worried. The food was excellent, varied and completely hygenic (contrary to what you may read below, there are no flies on the cheeseboard, which was always properly covered, no yogurt left unrefrigerated overnight). Either the management have cleaned up their act after seeing some of the reviews here, or maybe it was never as bad as some people suggest. True, the hotel has a faded aura, and doubtless looked smarter in the days when Queen Amelie patronised it. But it is in a charming location, the staff are very attentive and friendly, and the rooms and public areas are clean and well cared for. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdBagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The Hotel Reine Amelie was a real disappointment. 60's concrete block in a dreary riverside setting and dull little town. Stained carpets in the communal areas, grubby swimming pool area, dripping taps in the bathrooms and Air Con that blasted warm air instead of cool, stained tiles in the bathroom and feeble shower that you have to hold above your head as they couldn't be bothered to put a hook on the wall. The food was OK but it was really off-putting to see flies crawling all over the cheeseboard which should have been covered in a dining room which was overly warm. Really nice, friendly management and staff but this in no way made up for the general grot. Needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to a reasonable standard.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank METWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

I stayed here on a twin centre holiday between France & Spain. The location is good, surrounded by lovely countryside overlooking a river. My room was large with a balcony but the decor was tired. The lighting in the room was poor which combined with heavy furniture made the room dark & dingy. The buffet was self service and while quantity was not a problem some of the food combinations were strange.

On the plus side the staff are friendly, especially in the restaurant, and Amelie is really pretty and a good base to explore the area.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Decor.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
0.5 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Roussillon
Le Roussillon
#4 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 1 in Arles-sur-Tech
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
#1 of 4 in Le Boulou
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Hotel de la Pinede
L'Hotel de la Pinede
#2 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie

Property: Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie
Address: 32 boulevard de la Petite Provence, 66110 Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing