We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie
tampere
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spend only one night there, but it was worth it. Comfortable room with big bathroom. Old fashioned furniture's. WiFi didn't worked in our room. We went to the lobby if we wanted use the WiFi. Town was only 300m walk away and there was nice river to cross. We spend evening in local casino and we also won some money =)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iideetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    52
    36
    16
See reviews for
32
113
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel has an old fashioned feel, and probably could do with an overhaul in some areas.
Its situation is lovely overlooking the river Tech and the main town beyond, withits orange roofs climbing up the opposite hilside until lost in the forest.
The dining room was pleasant , and the food good , and well cooked and presented,but of limited range . The buffet service ran out of certain items a few times.
The bedroom was spacious enough and storage space more than adequate, with a nice modern bathroom. It was clean though a bit worn , beds were very comfortable.
The Toilet was about the smallest I have ever encountered in any hotel I have ever stayed in.
Uncomfortably so .
The balcony overlooked the river, and the superb view, but sadly was in need of a good all round scrub.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
This visit was a bit of a mixed experience really

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatC2549600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Reine Amelie overlooks the turbulent River Teck and is sited on the opposite bank to the town centre so you have to walk about 300m downriver to the bridge to cross. The bridge takes you directly into the town centre where there are numerous bars,restaurants and a casino as well as the normal shops.
The hotel does not have air conditioning in all rooms and we found this a disadvantage in the hot weather. A fan was installed but of course did not actually cool the room we had. The only ventilation was by opening the doors to the balcony which was not very practical at night!
The food was excellent with a wide choice at every dinner although breakfast was traditional french style. The staff were extremely helpful with accomodating my allergy to cow's milk and even cooked fish specially for me when other dishes were unsuitable. After the first evening they were always able to tell me what was OK for me even to the point of identifying sheep and goats cheeses for me. The choice of drinks in the hotel bar was a bit limited. Most of the guests apart from our party were french and not all staff spoke English. A limited ability to speak French was useful.
The Hotel is an excellent base for visiting the foothills of the Pyrenees.

Room Tip: The south-facing rooms are those with air-con. Traffic is quite lowl so noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

As people are saying below, this hotel is is a bit faded and you could not really called it 'grand'. Pool did not look very attractive either. This hotel needs a total overhaul. However, it was allright to stay there for a few days. Rooms at the front have a nice balcony overlooking the river. Very old-fashioned furniture in the room and especially the bed was too small for large Dutch people, both in length and width. This happens a lot to us in France and Spain. The hotels are not really taking into account that there are larger people in Northern Europe who do not like that their feet stick out at the end of the bed!
Anyway, staff were very friendly. Dinner in the restaurant quite good. Nice waiters. All in all, it was nice to stay here.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanneke_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The hotel is for skiers in winter and tourers in the green seasons, so is therefore furnished with somewhat "distressed" furniture. In fact, it feels homely. The location is super and central and, my only criticisms would be a too low bed and separate bathroom/w.c.
The public rooms are relaxing and comfortable. The restaurant is good, offering very acceptable food and staffed by very friendly, efficient staff. Even at Reception, one felt an unusual warmth and friendliness, with no language problems. It felt a family run hotel.
Super location for touring, walking or spa visiting and, a nice village, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel for four nights as part of a Catalunia package. Lovely room with great views across the valley. food good and staff extremely friendly and helpful. The town itself is a little gem with a small assortment of local shops and some great cafe/bars

Room Tip: rooms facing the front of the hotel have great views across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anduze, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent 3 nights here. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The breakfast buffet was limited but adequate, but the evening meals were good value for money (buffet, menu or à la carte). I would gladly return if I found myself needing a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
0.5 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Roussillon
Le Roussillon
#5 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 1 in Arles-sur-Tech
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
#1 of 4 in Le Boulou
299 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Hotel de la Pinede
L'Hotel de la Pinede
#2 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie

Property: Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie
Address: 32 boulevard de la Petite Provence, 66110 Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing