We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted a double got a twin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel could have ticked all the boxes but never quite did.
We were told on arrival that we had entered through the wrong door, a warm welcome it was not.
Then we given a twin bedroom when we had specified a double. The receptionist checked the booking then stated that no double was now available and that was that. The room we had is quirky in that the toilet is in the turret and it was very clean, but on the garden side of the hotel, just two rooms don't have balconies and one of them was ours.
A stunning view from the room made that fact a little worse, added to the fact that the rooms below have a larger than normal balcony enabling the family below to walk out sufficiently to be able to see right into most of our room, giving a lack of privacy.
That said, the hotel is in a great place with the River Tech running below, creating a natural swimming pool. A little walk into Amelie and it's quaint bars and restaurants and almost next door a public pool or adventure park are your choices.
They didn't replace soaps/shampoo and the breakfast was very poor. We found a Petit Dejeuner for half the price in town. The tranquility of the place makes me want to return but I would avoid the turret bedrooms at all cost.

Room Tip: Avoid the turret rooms on second floor and check a double has been booked if requested. Definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

One night stop with family en route. We had the pair of rooms (no one room solution for four) with turrets and view/sound of the River Tech from balconies which we all liked. Rooms were well appointed for cost and buffet breakfast varied and plentiful. Good service conducted in French by all staff (despite our collective O level Franglais) with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for the turret rooms; corner one best as double window aspect and balcony helps let the breeze t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bass666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an overnight stop and found it a clean and friendly place to be with decent sized rooms. It is by the river, which you can walk down to and have a paddle, and a short walk from the town. The restaurant was not open but the manageress booked us a table at a good restaurant in Amelie. Good breakfast on the patio the next morning. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazpDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Rooms are pleasant and those at the back overlook (and overhear) the Tech river which was wonderful. Rooms had balcony and kitchenette which made up for the dismal restaurant scene in town as we did not want to drive. Common areas a bit drab, but we were there out of season.

Room Tip: Room at the back overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Comfortable room with kitchenette . Great view nice town. Many place to walk to and places to eat. There is a LeaderPrice supermarket close by. We took the bus from Perpignan, the nearest bus stop is Gare Routier.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Amazing room - one of the nicest I've stayed in for about a month. Spotlessly clean with a small kitchen area and refrigerator. Balcony. Pleasant terrace outside. Quiet location. Not far to walk to town. Good parking. Nice breakfast room. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We appreciated the receptionists work to help us with the air conditioning problems in our room. We were there for 3 nights and the first night our ac failed, so we moved to a new room on night 2. Our ac failed in that room too. We then moved for a third time & finally had a room that had functioning air conditioning. All of this during the hottest days of the summer, made this a very difficult situation.

The hotel itself is at the end of a road, providing a quiet location. It is one the banks of the Tech river and provides a few loungers to sit outside and enjoy the location. Very restful & scenic.

The rooms are good size, each one with a small kitchenette, nice porch area and good storage available. Each room is set up differently (at least the three that we stayed in) but were comfortable.

There is no food or drink available at the hotel - if you don't preorder the continental breakfast, there is none available.

The receptionists have specified hours and close & lock up at 8p; no services are available after that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie
Grand Hotel de la Reine Amelie
#6 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
194 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Le Centre
Hotel Le Centre
#3 of 4 in Le Boulou
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Hotel de la Pinede
L'Hotel de la Pinede
#2 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#3 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Roussillon
Le Roussillon
#4 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
53 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel des Arcades
Hotel des Arcades
#2 of 5 in Ceret
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude

Address: Route De La Corniche, 66110 Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude is located in a green park on the edge of the Tech river. You can enjoy the quiet places in the patio or on the terrace. All the rooms at Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude are classically decorated and feature a private bathroom with a bath or a shower. Some of them also include an equipped kitchen and a balcony or a terrace. The property provides free WiFi and free parking is also possible on site. The A9 Motorway is just 10 km away and the Spanish border is 25 km away. Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude has been welcoming guests since 30 May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing