We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem hidden deep in the trees!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel Domaine de la Paille Basse
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It takes a while to get to it as its deep in the forest up some windy roads . once there it was soooooo peacefull....you don't realise how high up you are!! all the pitches are shaded with huge pine trees and you can see right across the valley..... nothing but trees. the whole place is an old village so lots of very old buildings that were all renovated to a high standard. toilets are very clean, laundry room, great little shop although only 2 of each item on the shelf!! probably best to go into town to a supermarket to stock up.
the pool was lovely and big. a little one for babies and a toddler pool with a slide. then a great 4 chute slide for all ages.
the bar was nice and near the kids play area which was huge with lots for them to do and it was all white sand!! so you can enjoy a drink while they are safe playing.
had a reasturant in a converted wine room with an arch ceiling. great food.
kids clubs 2 hours a day. they did painting and visited a little petting farm on site. plus hikes thru the woods.
at night it was a little noisy till 1am as they have a small night club. and the owls!!! but after that it was absolute silence!! in the morning you are woken up by all the birds!! very peacefull nights rest.
only downside is I would say its a bit tight for caravans and large RV's. as there are so many trees to get around on the pitches.
we will definitely return!!! was excellent value for money!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

I don't understand why some of the negative reviews - it is indeed only few km from Souillac but you need to be aware that the site is up a winding lane at top of a mountain so yes, it will take a while to get anywhere else but if you fancy some quiet, wildlife and lovely views you will find this an advantage. Although a large site , it doesn't feel it - our tent was not overlooked, or overlooking anyone else - where else can you camp in France in August and find that ? Facilities are all good - animations etc are very much French focused but it is after all in France! Would highly recommend as one of the best sites we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Some pitches near the reception are quite small - you may have a bit of a walk to the toilets from s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screamingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I have just had my 4th holiday at Paille Basse.

We extended our visit to nearly 3 weeks. We go with many families from back home. Our children who are all adults now come back year after year as they love the holiday at this campsite.

Facilities are all very clean, toilets, showers and washing up areas.

Pool is great and always clean.
There are slides and pool activities throughout the day.

We enjoy the bar area and join in with the Quiz at 7 each evening before we enjoy an evening of cooking and enjoying the local wines.

I have always found the staff most helpful too.

All booked up for next years holiday. It can't come quick enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is our third time at this site. Beautiful. Large and shady pitches. Good pools. Evening entertainment not as good as previous years, but still OK. Toilets and showers clean, with hot water all day

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at paille basse campsite last week (4th-11th August)
I thought the facilities were clean and well looked after. Staff were really friendly. I had one meal at the restaurant where I had a lovely steak and creme brûlée. I would definitely recommend eating there! Great value. 2 courses for 16€!
The pool is of a good size and lots of sunbeds and very clean!
My family friends go to this campsite years after years. This is my first visit but I was very impressed and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharliMc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have been visiting this campsite for 4 years, and go to it with a large group of friends who have been returning year upon year for the last 9! The campsite is fantastic.. All the aminities are great. The staff a very friendly and couldn't be anymore helpful. The toilets, showers and wash sink area are always clean to a high standard. The washing up and hand washing for clothes area is also very clean.

The on site restaruant serves delicious food and promotes the regions speciality, which is duck/foie gras. Would highly reccommend to visit the on site restaurant. There is also a takeaway place which is open 6pm-9pm and serves yummy pizzas! The pool is of good size and is clean as is the surrounding areas. There are racing slides at the pool area which is also good fun! There is a pool snack bar selling drinks, panini's, crepes, ice creams etc. all very nice. On site shop which sells fresh french baguette/pain and croissants/pain au chocolat and pain au raisin every day. Sells other stuff too, most nesecities if you do not want to drive down to the local supermarket.

Lots to do on the campsite, weekly entertainment board put up at beginning of week with daily things happening - kids club, nightly quiz at the bar at 7pm, sports tournaments in the day (different sports such as football, swimming, boules etc). Tennis courts and football pitches on the campsite. table tennis tables and pool tables also available.

There is a night bar every night (11pm-2pm) and also a disco night (mon, weds, fri) that takes place. Once night bar/disco shut, there is also a campfire that happens. Mainly aimed at the older teenagers that attend the campsite.

Great local areas, worth going out a few days of your holiday and taking a look at surrounding areas. Sarlat and Souliac are very nice, as is Rocamador. Would definitely advise doing the canoeing down the Dordogne River - great day out!

Have always had a fantastic experience when being at Le Paille Basse and that is why I return year after year! Go check it out, its worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Arriving in June we thought we'd try the restaurant. Various home made items were flagged on the menu. My wife chose a salad I went for the salmon tartare, both homemade. The tomato slices on my wife's salad were putrefying smelling and tasting very bad. On request the slices of tomato were scraped off the plate but the smell etc remained. Complaining about this resulted in 1) us being told the salad would cost us less as a result and 2) small tomatoes being added to the still tainted plate. With a chef who couldn't smell and didn't taste the food I was never going to try the tartare of salmon. This would have been, I thought, risky. We abandoned the meal there and then.

The next morning, checking out early, the manageress was helpful apologising profusely for the known low levels of service in the restaurant. This sounds good but why did the management allow it in the first place?

We shall never return to this potentially good campsite. Others do be warned and take care especially if eating food at this campsite.

Room Tip: There are plenty of better places to go. Do consider trying somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Souillac
4.0 mi away
Hotel de la Promenade
Hotel de la Promenade
#9 of 9 in Souillac
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Auberge du Puits
Auberge du Puits
#3 of 9 in Souillac
46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
#4 of 9 in Souillac
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Pavillon Saint Martin
17.4 mi away
Camping La Sole
Camping La Sole
#1 of 1 in Puybrun
137 reviews
14.4 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Les Portes de Dordogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Domaine de la Paille Basse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Domaine de la Paille Basse

Address: Souillac sur Dordogne, Souillac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Souillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Souillac
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castel Domaine de la Paille Basse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing