We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel De Souillac
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Souillac
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed 5 nights with Treyn. Good public rooms but our bedroom was at back in roof and very dated. Violent green bathroom ware, squeaky wardrobe doors in bathroom , no shower screen or curtain because bath was under dormer window! Alright for small people. Food was set menu - including a cheese course and was good in the main. Situation ideal for town and river and as centre for surrounding area. No air con, but fans are provided. Nice outside eating terrace at front.

Room Tip: Front rooms might have traffic noise and back rooms look out onto other cafes but no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susielizzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel (was on a Treyn holiday). A centrally located hotel in a lovely old town run by a very pleasant young couple who, with their helpful and energetic team, make for a very enjoyable stay. The menu changed every night and showed imagination and the wine allowance was very generous. The bedroom was clean and well serviced and the rest of the hotel appeared to be in very good shape, probably looking better than its three stars would suggest.The hotel is located next door to the tourist information office and a few paces away from the old town which is full of interesting shops and streets and about a fifteen minute stroll away from the Dordogne river, where in August there was much to see - canoeing/kayaking, bird life, a river path and swimming area in the adjacent park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have just been to Souillac with a party of 38 from Treyn holidays and stayed in this well run hotel. The owners and staff cannot do enough for you and the service was excellent. my wife and I had a great corner room which was very clean and was always kept this way throughout our stay. The meals were good and acceptable and the wine which was topped up frequently was also good. For anyone travelling to this region this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack_stephenson294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Centrally located in a lovely old town, this is a good example of a professionally and well run small hotel. Being part of a group booking (Treyn Holidays-who did a good job), you run the risk of second class treatment. But not here. The set meals on the whole were very good and acceptable. Our twin room was very clean and beautifully/tastefully designed with a spacious bathroom.(bath with shower over). The staff were brisk and pleasant and made an an attempt to speak English when necessary. If I were a motorist on holiday here, parking nearby might be an issue. If you have mobility difficulties, be sure to explain this, as this is an older building (with one lift).The A la Carte menu options indicated a capable kitchen as did our planned set meals. It would be easy (and not necessarily helpful) to pick on decor ,wardrobe and lighting issues, but in the main I would recommend this 3 Star hotel.

Room Tip: We had fifth floor twin, at the front -lovely. Shutter, curtains and double glazing plus portable o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Major C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have just taken a party of 40 people to this hotel for a week. The food and service is first class and above a 3 star rating. Elodie & Raphael the young owners of this hotel cannot do enough to make you welcome and give you a great experience. They have gathered a fantastic team of people around them and the atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and vibrant. I can say this on behalf of all of my party..........the ALL loved it!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I went with a group so there was a set menu every night which was adequate without being sumptuous.
Our room was one of the better ones with a very large bathroom and a courtyard attached with a large table and six chairs - it was the envy of other guests.
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
We would be happy to go back there and stay again if the occasion arose.

Room Tip: Try to get the one on the fourth floor with a courtyard - 401, Not noisy as it it is on the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healeyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent 4 nights here recently not expecting a great deal, but was pleasantly surprised by the very good food and the staff were really friendly and service excellent. The room we had was clean, nicely decorated. Bathroom probably needed an update from rather bizarre green but again was clean and functional. Altogether a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishermanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Souillac hotels
0 mi away
Hotel de la Promenade
Hotel de la Promenade
#9 of 9 in Souillac
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
#4 of 9 in Souillac
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge du Puits
Auberge du Puits
#3 of 9 in Souillac
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Pavillon Saint Martin
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#7 of 9 in Souillac
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#2 of 9 in Souillac
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De Souillac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De Souillac

Address: 1 allee de Verninac, 46200 Souillac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Souillac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Souillac
Price Range: £44 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel De Souillac 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel De Souillac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing