We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to recommend!”
Review of Auberge du Puits

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Puits
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Souillac
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our room itself was acceptable -taking the price into account-, but e.g. the terrace was very very dirty.
In the little kitchen, which belonged to our room, the refrigerator was very dirty, we found 1 half rotten lemon (grey-yellow colour) on the little kitchen countertop, and the coffee-paths next to the coffee machine were far over their "best before date" - thus unusable ... - cleaning apparently not done very well.
The real horror we found during our breakfast: The tableware (forks, knives and spoons) were like only a just a little bit rinced, but not cleaned - for instance, I felt the grease on my knife of the former use ...! I really had to search for clean dishes and a tray which I found acceptable to eat from ...
And then the very poor "quality" of the food: The fruit was not fresh at all: it was mainly wrinkled and the bananas were more brown/black than yellow. Therefore a whole swarm of fruit flies surrounded this old fruit. Arround 7 Euro for this "petit dejeuner"!?; Even if it was for free this would be too expensive.
Second day we went to the competitor Hotel Saint Martin - also in Souillac - and asked if we could have our breakfast there. Cost 11,5 euro but really worth it. What a total difference from where we stayed. Very friendly, clean and hygienic with very good food quality.
If you want to stay your night in the auberge: it's acceptable. But don't use your meals here!!

And although we had to check-out at last at noon (12h00), the owners knocked on our door in the forenoon with the question if we were almost leaving, since they would like to prepare the room for the next visitor ...
I had to open the door -a bit annoyed- just wearing my underware to explain that we would leave surely before 12h00!!

I am really sorry to give this very bad comments. Although I went to several places arround the world, I never found such poor (and dirty) quality concerning the food. This was really the first time for me. Even in 3rd-world countries which I have visited, the quality and hygienic conditions were mostly better than here. I was really shocked that this is still possible in our modern West-Europe ...
What about the food inspection instances? Does this not exist in France?

This is also the first time that I write a review. If this wasn't that worse, I wouldn't take the effort to do this. But, I hope, by writing this review, to prevent other people for this unpleasant experience ...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AVG-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dupinket, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Puits, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

nous avons été surpris par votre avis puisqu'il n'y a ni cuisine, ni réfrégérateur dans nos chambres.
Donc si vous avez trouvé dans nos chambres cuisine, réfrégérateur, citrons verts et café périmé, c'est qu'il y a soit un gros problème (un client aurait construit une cuisine clandestine pendant la nuit, mais vu la taille des chambres, cela ne nous aurait pas échappé), soit vous n'avez pas séjourné chez nous.

Nous avons tout de même cherché à vérifier tout cela en pointant le cahier des réservations. Etant donné que 99% de nos clients passent par Booking, il est facile de savoir qui est qui.
Aucun client ne présente votre profil.

Vous êtes un bien mystérieux client qui a laissé un commentaire sur notre seul établissement et qui fait l'air de rien un peu de pub pour un concurrent.

Bizarre bizarre...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tartinec0mmentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: CHAMBRES à thème sympathiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marie-christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benga121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lili3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Souillac hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Promenade
Hotel de la Promenade
#9 of 9 in Souillac
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#7 of 9 in Souillac
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De Souillac
Grand Hotel De Souillac
#5 of 9 in Souillac
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#2 of 9 in Souillac
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
#4 of 9 in Souillac
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon Saint Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Puits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Puits

Address: 5 Place du Puits, 46200 Souillac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Souillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Souillac
Price Range: £43 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Puits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Puits Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing