We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, great host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Souillac
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Fabienne really makes you feel welcome from start to finish and is very helpful with anything you need, including putting picnic stuff in the fridge, loaning a sharp knife, directions, etc. The room was lovely with lots of space and a large wardrobe. The view was gorgeous - over the pool and beyond to the mountains. It's on a fairly busy road but with the windows shut there's no noise and there are shutters as well. Very comfortable bed and lovely clean bathroom with shower. The breakfast was good with choice of cereal, croissants & baguette (of course), cheese, ham and lots of coffee in a really lovely breakfast room overlooking the pool. Free outside parking opposite the hotel was perfect too as it's walking distance to the centre of the town.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the back garden/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a good value, very French hotel. Fabienne is the one woman, she does everything, I never even met anyone else working there. She is very attentive and very pleasant to everyone; really looks after you, and speaks good English. The dog is a Burnese and also very friendly. Its a b & b basis - no other meals available. There is a lounge with drinks available, and an extension at the back as a breakfast room, that overlooks the garden, which has plenty of garden furniture to relax in. Together with a small pool. Very pleasant. WiFi is available.
It is situated out of town about 2k from the centre, next to the railway station. There is a taxi service 0565378840 / 0608613865. But it is downhill so walk there and taxi back.
Car parking is opposite the hotel, garages are available.
To get there, coming into Souillac from the autoroute, turn right at the roundabout signed Gare SNCF, go up the hill to the next roundabout and its on the left.
One to be recommended, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here for one night - a friendly welcome in terrible weather. We were in my precious 27 year old 2CV and were delighted that there are private garages (for just a few euros extra) as well as plenty of parking.
A lovely, really French hotel. Although there isn't a restaurant, it's only about a kilometer's walk into the centre of the town. Breakfast had plenty of fresh bread, croissants, cheese and dried fruit as well as yogurts etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professeurdefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. The patronne, Fabienne is a delightful lady. The hotel is ideally situated (near the station), the rooms are immaculate (we had the best one), we were made very welcome (as was my dog) and we were not charged for the dog.

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room on the top floor overlooking the immaculate garden and pool. No 11 is best other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Located a longish walk from the centre of Souillac, but convenient to drive anywhere locally, and not far from the A20 motorway. Parking is just over the road, and there is garaging that you can pay extra for, but why bother? Very friendly and helpful owner, and the kids loved her dog - a 10 year old Bernaise Mountain dog, I think. Room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and serviced every day. Had breakfast on just one morning, very nice, typically French, but a bit pricey at 21 EUR for me and two kids. Made do with stuff from the supermarket after that. There was an outside pool that looked nice, but in April it was empty - far too cold to use anyway! I've no hesitation recommending this hotel and it's ideally located for touring round the many brilliant sites of the Dordogne and Lot regions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We thoroughly recommend the Hotel du Puy d'Alon The host Fabienne was truly wonderful.
Our room was very comfortable and beautiful
Next time we are in France we will be staying there again Our best experience in France

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs , quiet and with a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverGoldsmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Had a 2 night stay in Sept 2012. The proprietors are very friendly and welcoming. There is a lovely little swimming pool and terrace which captures the afternoon sunshine. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Its about a 10min walk to the centre of town.

A great little hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoylakeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Souillac hotels
0.6 mi away
Auberge du Puits
Auberge du Puits
#3 of 9 in Souillac
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Promenade
Hotel de la Promenade
#9 of 9 in Souillac
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#2 of 9 in Souillac
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Pavillon Saint Martin
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Quercy
Hotel Le Quercy
#5 of 9 in Souillac
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Ambassadeurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Puy d'Alon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Puy d'Alon

Address: 1 rue de Presignac, 46200 Souillac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Souillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Souillac
Price Range: £58 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Puy d'Alon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and cozy hotel in Souillac. Living room with bar and fire place, terrace, garden, and outdoor swimming pool. Free and private car park, and possibility to book an individual garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Puy d'Alon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing