We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and Poorly Maintained”
Review of Egg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Egg Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Although the staff at the hotel were wonderful in all regards, the rest of the hotel left a lot to be desired. Staircase lights that didn't work. Very smelly room. Faulty wall heater. Dirty and smelly duvet cover. I realise that Dieppe is a bit of a throwback in itself, but having hotels that are like something out of the seventies is no help! The sooner ETAP does this worn out and tired hotel up and stops relying on unrealistic photos on its website to garner business the better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here until it is flagged by ETAP as having been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

After a bad experience with a similar hotel, I was pleased to see that this one worked as described. The very basic room was clean, fresh, everything worked properly. Really a 'machine for living'. The locationis only a hundred metres away from Dieppe's high street and a short walk to the train station.

The check-in staff were exceptionally pleasant.

The only minor complaint I had was that the lights in the stairway were never turned on. Possibly I am the only person who choses the stairway over the elevator.

It's hard to write a review when there are no problems. I would like to have paid somewhat less for this basic accommodation, but I discovered that had I stayed three nights I would have got a big discount, which would have done the trick, had I known.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiminedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Brighton, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 26 February 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reowulf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nicely located on the main road into town. It was easy to park (Street meters) and a car park nearby.
The receptionists are especially pleasant and offered help with restaurants and directions.
The rooms are typically ETAP but getting a little worn out in places.
We couldn't get the TV to work in our room but that could have simply been the batteries in the remote and we didn't bother to report it.
Breakfast is Etap's speciality and it’s hard to find better at €5 in France. A buffet selection of cereals, cheese, croissants, bread and jam washed down with juice, beverages and yogurt.
I would definitely recommend and stay again and suggest ETAP virgins to give it a try and leave out ‘Quaintness’ and ‘Charm' as expensive fripperies

Room Tip: high up and to the rear to avoid all traffic disturbance if you're an especially light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed here a few times during visits to Dieppe. The hotel is good for what you get and it is walking distance to the town centre. There was a TV and bunk beds in the room (a double bed at the bottom and single at the top) and the room was cosy and clean.

It is a bargain for what you get!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

friendley staff, very clean & good value for the money,will stay again,also very good position for the shops and market. room good size but bathroom small.beds a little hard .but sheets very white & clean,on a busy road but not too noisey,didnt have breakfast as we had too grt a early boat,had a early morning call & receptionist was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dieppe hotels
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Dieppe
B&B Hotel Dieppe
#3 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kyriad Dieppe
Kyriad Dieppe
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel balladins Dieppe
Hotel balladins Dieppe
#2 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egg Hotel

Address: 6 rue Claude Groulard, 76200, Dieppe, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range: £40 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Egg Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Egg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing