We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive rooms, located opposite a park and beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
861 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 749 helpful votes
“Attractive rooms, located opposite a park and beach”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel decor is modern so, inside, the hotel has a nice feel to it. The outside of the hotel doesn't reflect this, however. Our large tour group stayed here while on a trip to visit the WWI and WWII sites. Our room was very attractive with hardwood floors, comfy beds, extra pillows, duvet, modern bathroom with just a shower, in-room safe, and complimentary water (just one!). The windows slid open for fresh air which I like for a good night's sleep. What appealed to me, too, was the splash of color (a pleasing violet) on the bed coverlet which was repeated on a wall and colorful chairs. My husband liked the free wifi in the room so we could check on weather, etc. An elevator is available for accessing the upper floors. Also, a small restaurant and a bar are located in the lobby. While the hotel advertised a pool, access is to a large public outdoor pool across the road in the park. The location of this hotel would be perfect for those who enjoy a beach holiday. The park across the way is long and narrow with grassy areas, some memorials, tourist souvenir shops, food carts, and promenade areas with parking lots for cars. It probably is a busy beach resort area come summer months when it would be more enjoyable to be in the water. The long beach has a wide stretch of rocks before the water is reached. No natural shade is available, though. The area is very picturesque with the high white cliffs on top of which sits the Dieppe Castle. Other hotels and a casino share the same location as this hotel, but the area was quiet during our stay there. This hotel is located at the end of "hotel row", very close to the cliffs and remains of the old city wall and tower. Many village restaurants are under a 10 minute walking distance away at the quay and you might consider eating there (we liked La Reserve) rather than at the hotel. Fellow travelers didn't give a favorable review of the hotel's restaurant. Our group had a breakfast included, but it was set up in one of the conference rooms, with cold cereals, breads, deli meats/cheese, drinks and whole fresh fruit...not a lavish spread.

Hotel visitors interested in the DIeppe Raid of 1942 might consider walking to the museum located in the old 19th century theater on Place Camille Saint-Saëns. WWII artifacts from the DIeppe Raid are on display (guns, bullets, helments, uniforms, many pic of the landing/dead soldiers/burials/fighting), and a 40 minute excellent video movie explains the planning, the actual raid, the German gun placements, and the aftermath....war dead, burials. Interviews of surviving soldiers of this raid add enlightenment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    411
    145
    45
    18
See reviews for
126
492
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Pricey hotel food quality poor chicken tougher than a boxer. Nice bar to left and through arch not to pricey only spent one night here but one night to many? Staff not at accomadating very noisy to many Squarking seagulls.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Tucked away at the base of the headland, facing the beach, the Mercure Dieppe is a fantastic location. We took a standard room and found it clean and comfortable.

The restaurant is wonderful.

Staff fluent in English.

Great location for the beach and the town. Onsite parking, additional fee, available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devious_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had not booked and turned up on a Sunday evening with our dog and we were travelling from the UK. Reception very helpful and we had a superb room with king size bed. The room was
spotless - ten out of ten to housekeeping. Outside was shabby but inside good. Their restaurant and bar was closed on a Sunday evening but that was not a problem as the hotel is in the middle of town. We stayed the Monday night as well. Did not move the car and just walked around the town on the Monday. Weather was perfect those days. I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel if we are in Dieppe again.

Room Tip: Ours was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

In a good position on sea front and below castle and easy walk into old town and harbour. On site (payable) car parking useful. Clean room and comfy bed, though only one chair in a double room. Showers good, but friend's was blocked so it backed up and it didn't get cleared despite being reported. A couple of times there was rubbish strewn on the front forecourt- probably seagulls getting in the waste bins, but it gave a bad impression. Communal indoor areas were clean and bright and modern though.

My room had a strange layout where you enter from the corridor straight into the shower room, and pass through it to get to the bed. The shower room area was dark and bizarrely contained a wallpaper-lined, illuminated glass-fronted wardrobe. I don't particularly need to see my travelling clothes displayed by spotlight, thanks, certainly not while I'm having a shower. Stay more than a couple of days and I am sure clothes would get very musty. Not surprised then when I saw silverfish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthcoastPampas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed in May with my daughter for a sports tournament. As others have said, the scrufy exterior does not match the interior which is nicely decorated. Underground secure parking (chargeable) was a bonus. Room was small but very clean ad a curious but quite clever use of space to separate the bathroom. Location is very convenient. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was very good with lots of of choice but overall having stayed at the Grand next door I think that their larger sea view rooms offer better value.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be best but I think that they cost more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungerfordbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dieppe hotels
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#8 of 15 in Dieppe
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 15 in Dieppe
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dieppe la Presidence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dieppe la Presidence

Property: Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
Address: 1 boulevard de Verdun, 76200, Dieppe, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dieppe la Presidence 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3-story Hotel facing the sea, 25 yards from casino & 250 yards from business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Dieppe la Presidence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing