We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dieppe in Summer a warning”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dieppe in Summer a warning”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

While the l'Europe was an average seaside hotel with great sea-views, and large rooms, the problem with Dieppe from mid July to the end of August, is the Funfair which is open to 1am and finishes with a firework display. This interrupts sleep and makes it impossible to park almost anywhere in Dieppe. There were cars on central reservations, roundabouts, pedestrian crossings, the pavement...I drove round for 2 hours and ended up on the pavement outside the Hotel (their suggestion). If you like Funfairs, fine, but I was getting up at 4a.m. to get the Ferry to England. Dieppe is a nice resort, but take heed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    86
    40
    13
    11
See reviews for
55
82
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romney Marsh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and found it very satisfactory. We have also stayed at several others along boulevard de Verdun. We prefer this one as the rooms are larger and the decor more restful. It lacks any character but the beds are comfortable, the plumbing efficient and the hair dryer good. Breakfast is fine as long as everything hasn't run out. It's not always easy to catch someone's attention to replenish when this happens. When we stayed this time various items were missing - orange juice, pain au chocolat etc. The reception staff we spoke with were all helpful and pleasant. We had booked a bedroom with a sea view which really makes the room. It is conveniently situated for the shopping centre, the seafront and all the restaurants round the harbour. We have also visited the Château/ musée from here. I think we were probably fortunate that the funfair which had been on the green outside the window had moved on - if not it would not have been as peaceful.

Room Tip: We prefer a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

June 2013 On arrival told we had to pay as they did not accept AMEX which we understood had already been paid! We were not notified by travel agent or hotel even though booked in Feb 2013. Receptionist finally admitted that they should have informed us. Great room but no bar as advertised, unable to get a hot drink at any time other than breakfast. Receptionist very limited local knowledge of transport and quite arrogant.
ADVICE take your own travel kettle and ask other people for tourist information

Room Tip: ask for a front one , view to the water..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Spacious hotel with large rooms overlooking the sea. Family room was 2 double beds. Very clean and easy check in/out.

Fun fair was in town when we stayed (mid August) which made parking very difficult and what would have been a beautiful view was marred by the funfair. Be aware of this if staying in high season. Fair also very noisy and ran until 01:30hrs on a Saturday when we stayed. Good soundproofing when the windows were closed but no aircon.

Breakfast only adequate and a bit institutional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooseman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night at the end of June 2013, when the hotel I was staying had a problem with the hotel water. I asked to be moved and they put me in the Hotel de l'Europe.

The room was very big, with two double beds and a nice bathroom. It was spotlessly clean. I was fortunate in that the room faced the sea, so I had good views of the beach and harbour. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, the breakfast was good and the room comfortable.

I can't ask much more of a hotel, hence the five stars. I cannot comment on value for money as because of the unusual circumstance of my stay, I did not pay the going rate - and I have no idea what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The main feature of L'Europe is the size of the rooms which are large. My room had two queen size beds, a good size bathroom and a separate wc. My room overlooked the front of the hotel with a nice view of the channel and the nearby ferry terminal. I slept very well with the window open and did not have any disturbance from noise outside the hotel.

Breakfast is good with a fair choice of breads and pastries. There are also cold meats and boiled eggs. Certainly enough to set you up for the day. All of the reception staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and advice.

The hotel is located towards one end of the seafront and this helped with finding parking spaces for our group (six cars) as most day trippers like to park more towards the centre.

I would happily stay at L'Europe again and am very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timelord1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Booked room in a rush and was pleasantly surprised.
room size very good,comfort bed okay,clean.
receptionist was very helpfull for indicating excellent restaurant on the harbor side.
Breakfast was more then enough.
We (3 people) had a very good stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dieppe hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#10 of 15 in Dieppe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 63 boulevard de Verdun, 76200, Dieppe, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landing in total peace!Welcome aboard. Hotel de l’Europe and its ‘crew’(equipage, mais ‘staff’ ok aussi) are happy to welcome you 24 hours a day, all year long. Here, the sea is the star. Approaching it, reaching it, there is nothing like the marine atmosphere of our hotel, one of the most recent additions along the Alabaster Coast. It was built on the layout of a cruise ship facing the sea, anchored in the heart of the marina. It is home to bright, warm, vast open spaces. You get a cruise-like feeling in the lounge or the bar and when you walk on any floor! It is a few steps from the beach and the Cité de la mer, and only a couple of minutes on foot from the historic city center with numerous restaurants. Free public parking is adjacent to the hotel.The Rooms “The sea, we see dancing…” Its shimmering silver, its shimmering changes put on a perpetual performance. The sea for horizon, what a dream! The rooms have a rattan theme, for comfort! Spacious, luminous, a relaxing way of live, they have everything to charm you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing