We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop-over location”
Review of Novotel Rouen Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Rouen Sud
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great stop-over location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for a night on our way to Bordeaux, and found the hotel excellent, a Great location for a stop over en route to other locations. The hotel is tucked away on a business park but is conveniently placed close to the main autoroutes and very well signposted. Restuarant is basic but the food was good and the service was excellent, no complaints at all. Room was a little tired in places but the bathroom was excellent and looked like it had been recently refurbished. Great wifi in all areas, good selection of English speaking tv channels, and plenty of plugs/charging points. Very satisfied and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlooking pool are great and no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredDirecteur, Gérant at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you very much for this comment, very complete.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    263
    185
    49
    15
See reviews for
235
167
31
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia for our trip down to Spain.

Arrived to a nice reception with a friendly receptionist.

However on the way to room carpets were extremely filthy and the carpet in the room was covered in stains.

The toilet had a nasty aroma permeating from it also. Stale urine. Makes me feel ill just thinking about it.

We had a duvet but my children had to have those horrible brown disgusting itchy horse blankets. Had to argue with reception to get at least a duvet for the children to share, terrible service.

We were meant to be staying on the way back from Spain but could not face it, thus losing out on money but I preferred to stay somewhere more modern where at least my children could have proper bedding.

Never ate in the hotel restaurant, could not face it after the smell of the toilet and the yukky stains on the carpet.

Will stay elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredDirecteur, Gérant at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your comment.
Renovation work was realized at the ground floor and others are to come in floors.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

On arrival at this hotel everything seemed great and were wondering what all the bad reviews were about, but once we drove the car around the car park we noticed it was full of large pot holes and very uneven, but thought oh well surely the rooms might be ok as they are not spending any money on the surroundings ha ha.

Once we went in we were hit by the smell from the bathroom it looked clean but obviously never use anything other than just plain water to clean as it totally stunk of stale urine, the carpets are slightly worn throughout the hotel, then we noticed the beds on the double bed we had nice bedding but the kids beds had these horrible minging brown blankets which look like they have never been cleaned and I would not let my pet cat sleep on something so minging, so off I went to reception to ask about different bedding for the kids and at first they were not having it and said they have nothing else for the kids which I found disgusting and asked them for another duvet and they kept on refusing but after much arguing they relented and we had to push the two single beds together and the kids shared a duvet and the brown covers were thrown away.

Drinks within the hotel are very expensive there is a fridge in the room which is meant to include two free bottles of water, but for some reason our fridge only had once and on asking reception if we could have another bottle they refused and said you can buy one from the bar, so I thought surely it will be quite reasonable price if they are giving bottles away in the room so off I went to the bar with the expectation of it being reasonable and was asked for nearly 6euros for one bottle of water eek !!!!!

Only good thing about this hotel was its location being fairly close to all amenities in the town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredDirecteur, Gérant at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for answering our questionnaire. I appreciate the time you took to share the problems you encountered during your stay.
Firstly, please allow me to say how sorry I am that these issues affected your satisfaction during your stay in my hotel.
Please be assured, that I will do my utmost to provide an appropriate follow up to your comments.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

As a location for a stopover, the location is great. Even after battling Rouen's terrible road system. But the hotel itself is dated. Reception's had a refurb but the rooms are tired. Beware the bar prices and the restaurant, which is very bland, basic cafe food dressed up with high prices. Staff friendly though and there's a car park gate that shuts at 2130, which is good if you have a carload of stuff while en route.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank matts540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredDirecteur, Gérant at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for your comment.
Best regards
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have used this hotel every year for the past 8 years. It is ideally placed for us travelling from the North of England to the Poitou Charante area of France. It offers secure parking and a welcome rest to a long journey. The price for us was around £100 for the night and included breakfast for my family unit. Two adults and two kids. This price is good value and certainly comparable to uk budget price hotels. The staff are always helpful and help you along if your French is not quite up to standard.

This year I noticed the standards that we had been met with over previous years had begun to slip. The Hotel has started to look shabby, the decor is starting to look dated, I noticed the brass carpet holder in the hotel foyer was loose. This being sharp could quite easily have hurt someone. The bedroom was clean, but the bed was very uncomfortable. Paper cups in the room for tea and coffee!!! The worst aspect was the bar prices, 7 Euros 20 for 500mls of lager. All other drinks matched this over pricing. Be careful at the bar.

Overall I have given this an average, it is still reasonably priced and well placed for a weary traveller. But beware of the bar.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredDirecteur, Gérant at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your comment.
A new carpet for the entrance was commanded but this one delays arriving.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Only stayed one night. family room was dated and a dog barking in the room below and kept us all awake. Already booked a non-refundable stay for another night on the way home so hopefully it's a better experience. Breakfast and reception staff were nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jantelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredDirecteur, Gérant at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thank for your comment.
Sincerely sorry for the dog of another customer.
In the pleasure to receive you again.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
3.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
3.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Campanile Rouen Sud - Zenith - Parc Expo
Campanile Rouen Sud - Zenith - P...
#2 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Parc des Expos Zenith
Ibis Rouen Parc des Expos Zenith
#5 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rouen Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rouen Sud

Property: Novotel Rouen Sud
Address: Angle Avenue de l'Universite | Rue de la Mare Sansoure, 76800 Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rouen Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rouen Sud is a 3 star hotel located 500 m from the exhibition centre and the Zenith events centre, an ideal location for a business trip to Rouen 7 km from the city centre. The hotel offers 134 rooms, a terrace, outdoor pool and tennis courton leafy grounds on the edge of a forest. The hotel also features several meeting rooms for conferences for up to 150 people, not to mention tree climbing facilities. Discover modern dining in our Novotel Cafe restaurant. Free private secure car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rouen Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rouen Sud Hotel Saint-Etienne-Du-Rouvray
Novotel Hotel Rouen Sud
Novotel St-Etienne-Du-Rouvray
St-Etienne-Du-Rouvray Novotel
Accor Rouen Sud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing