We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but too hot not to have air-con”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Royan
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good but too hot not to have air-con”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a duplex family room which was spacious and comfortable. But there was no air conditioning, only one small fan in the upstairs part of the duplex. This meant that we were uncomfortable in the heat and found it hard to sleep at night. The breakfast was generous. We liked being able to park outside for free, even in such a central location, and the free WiFi provided (UK town councils please take note).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scm428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    41
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Arrived in Royan on the ferry. Had lunch and decided to take a walk and explore the town. On impulse, having seen a sign pointing to this hotel, we went in and enquired about a room and when one was available decided to stay the night. Very pleasant lady at the desk. The room was compact but was ccomfortable and had everything we needed including wifi. The shower was one of the best I've ever used. We could park free on the street outside. The lift was old and very small but it worked. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. Breakfast in hotel not great. Royan is a very pleasant seaside town and we really enjoyed the day we spent there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pride&prejudice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We spent 2 nights in this comfortable hotel. The position was excellent and we chose to have a room with a sea view and balcony. Very good restaurants were in easy walking distance of the hotel and in June it was not too busy.The bedroom and bathroom were quite small but adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I noticed that dogs were allowed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I have just returned from trip staying in 7 different hotels and this was, by far, the worst. The receptionist was very helpful on arrival, the location great and the breakfast very good. However, the bedrooms and en suites were shabby and the decor and carpets in the communal areas dirty and in need of redecoration. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomefromhomeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

One of the hotels you'd want to book for the next summer: great location - you see the ocean and the beach right from your balcony, some local jazz bands were playing every evening in the street, many restaurants and shops near the hotel.

Our room was very large, clean and sweetly decorated - we booked a duplex for 4 persons (duplex is fine for 6, in fact - I think it's specially good for a family with kids). The balcony is large and spacious, though the jalousie was quite ancient and it was hard to lift it up with a steel handle, we even thought it was broken at first. The bathroom in the duplex is small, but OK.

Everyone of the hotel staff was very friendly, although some of them didn't speak English, but we had no problems with this. Catherine Ribiere was very helpful and friendly!

Comments on Royan: nice town, the ocean was a bit cold in June (high season starts in mid-July here), wide sandy beaches, many interesting little shops and restaurants (I would especially recommend Les Filets Bleus restaurant near Cathedrale Notre Dame - don't forget to book the table, the place is always full), many sightseeing nearby - you can take a bus or a train to the place you want to see (the timetable is for free at the tourist office). We went to Meschers (Troglodyte caves) and Cognac (visited several cognac houses).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_Moray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reve de Sable
Hotel Reve de Sable
#3 of 42 in Royan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Foncillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#13 of 42 in Royan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Villa Ouest
La Villa Ouest
#2 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cordouan
Hotel Cordouan
#4 of 42 in Royan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage

Property: Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage
Address: 56 le Front de Mer, 17200, Royan, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Royan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Royan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant L'Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing