We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the 'Rainbow'”
Review of Arc En Ciel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arc En Ciel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Royan
Certificate of Excellence
Auzances, Limousin, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return to the 'Rainbow'”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Second time here and even better than the first!! But it was June (as against Feb!) and for a week rather than a long weekend. Although only has a 1* rating. the hotel is clean and comfortable and run by a really friendly couple. Great location, right on the sea front , and also within a 5 minute walk of all the main restaurants along the front and marina. No problems for us going a third time sometime soon!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a bit more expensive, but well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    66
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
75
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived in Royan whilst cycling north and didn't fancy a night under canvas and saw this 1 star hotel on the sea front looked clean fresh wnd bright which it was. The owner took my bike to the nice courtyard and covered it in a tarpaulin then his partner wanted to carry my bags upsgairsnfor me. Nice bright room, comfortable bed. Hotel is small but better than staying in a big informal place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunjinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, S.wales
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Made reservation based on location some months before but the reality was Far better.Stunning view from balcony practically on the beach.
The welcome was charm itself from a couple obviously not used to welcoming Brits to this very French resort.They really conveyed a warm welcome despite any language difficulty. With its name its coincidentally, obviously gay friendly but thankfully,these days, who isn't?
The hotel is spotless and bright within. And there's an obvious nautical theme to the decor that suits its location perfectly.
Breakfast was typically French resort (in a good way) with plenty of pastries and hot coffees.
Rooms are dominated by that view in my photos but otherwise adequately equipped for a short stay. Each having a compact en-suite shower, basin & wc.
Both couples in our party were thrilled with this hotel and will return someday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I needed two rooms for me and my family as we were touring for properties around All Saints week end. We had two adjacent rooms at the back. This is one-star bordering two-star so a real bargain. One of the rooms was larger than the other, with a small balcony. Comfort and amenities all right. The owners are very welcoming and nice. Breakfast room is opposite the seafront promenade.
All in all an excellent experience. Only drawback already mentioned is the noise, not so much between rooms but of the plumbing. We talked to the innkeeper about this and he told us he had no real solution for this. But given the price this is but a small hindrance if all guests are considerate of each other.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the beach for not much more. Ask for a back room with balcony to get the larges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Would you believe to have a room in first line in front of the beach with a wonderful sunset for less than 60 € ? It is possible in Royan at the Hotel Arc en ciel. This only 9 rooms hotel is simple and this is exactly what we asked for. Bed is ok even if its not the high quality you could find in a 4 stars hotel. The rooms are large enough to feel comfortable. The decoration wants to bring you in a sea atmosphere but the palm trees on the wall is a little bit too much for me. Never mind, it is behind your head when you're sitting on the bed. This hotel is very clean and the owners are adorable. They serve a nice breakfast in the lunch room or on the terrace during summer. Ask for the sea side view when possible. Any you're going to be 20m away from the beach to see it in real if ever you get a room on the garden side.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Materio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It really is all about the location - but there's more. You will get a very warm welcome and an excellent breakfast in this hotel.
The downside? Well it is only a one star so expect the quirky. The walls are thin, the shower room, while perfectly clean, functional and adequate is behind a sliding door (looks more like a wardrobe conversion); but that view and that location, the owners make it all extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view if you can. You can lie in bed and watch the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of town and across the road from the. The rooms are a small/compact but for a couple of nights it is great.
We were able to park outside wven though it was a busy time if the year in August. You must book in advance for this time of the year. The positition is ideal as you can walk into the town and find some great places to eat. The mussels here are done in the most imaginative ways I have seen!
It was not noisy and try to get a room at the front as the view is fabulous

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royan hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Atlantes
Hotel Les Atlantes
#1 of 1 in Medis
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Croisette
Hotel la Croisette
#15 of 43 in Royan
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reve de Sable
Hotel Reve de Sable
#4 of 43 in Royan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de la Plage - Royan
0.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Foncillon
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc En Ciel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc En Ciel Hotel

Property: Arc En Ciel Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Marechal Foch, 17200, Royan, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Royan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Royan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arc En Ciel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arc En Ciel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing