We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
46
28
21
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
28
21
15
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I had a lovely few days at Les Frenes. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the service was outstanding.

The building is a slightly older chateau and furnished very much in that style. The room we had was lovely with a view of the front of the hotel. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and a very good shower. There was lots of hot water and everything was kept clean. The room also had a really good hairdryer.

The swimming pool was very good and everything was kept clean. It's quite a cold pool but that was a good thing given how hot Avignon was. The beauty therapy suite is small but delivers excellent massages.

We had some wonderful meals outside under the stars. The food was exquisite. The menu is quite short but everything is fresh and delicious. The service is outstanding, Christophe and Marie-Jo were lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfast as well which had some lovely fresh bread.

We would definitely recommend to anyone seeking a luxury relaxing break.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArgentineTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This hotel is in a suburb of Avignon, and a short drive from the TGV station, so the location is good. Pluses: swimming pool, quiet back garden, secure and onsite free parking, outdoor dining in good weather, very friendly and accommodating staff. Uneven: worn carpeting, woodwork, furniture. despite what appeared to be relatively low occupancy, we were assigned to a small room that was challenging in terms of getting both our suitcases open at the same time! Meanwhile, Our friend who was single received a much bigger room on a lower floor with a terrace. While we both had trays with coffee pots, the cords were cut too short to reach the outlet, necessitating placing the tray on the floor in order to plug in the coffee maker, or placing it over the bathroom sink! Breakfast on the first morning was quite extensive, with baskets of fresh fruit and a nice array of baked goods and other items. Breakfast on day two was skimpy, with no fruit and a limited choice of bakery items. Dinner in the garden on the first night was very nice, the outdoor ambience s helpful. Dinner indoors on the second night suffered from too few staff for the number of diners, and food quality was not as good as first night, although the menu was precisely the same. Our second night was spent in a bungalow near the pool, with was much roomier, but we got only one drinking glass, the floors were very worn and the screens had big holes in them, forcing us to use the AC although it was a cool breezy night (we tried to open the windows and the mosquitos immediately descended upon us); tie backs were missing from the drapes, although the hooks were there. Hauling luggage over the lawn to the bungalows or hauling it up the stairs was no fun. Our first afternoon, enjoyment of the pool was somewhat spoiled by a gardener who drove his riding mower around for what seemed like way too many noisy hours. The downside of this location is that there really is not much in Montfavet, just residential. Again, though, the staff could not have been nicer.

Room tip: Corner rooms with terrace or the bungalows are best, all are quiet
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed in this lovely, peaceful hotel for one week, and used it as our jumping off spot for touring Provence. After a day full of sightseeing and driving, it was a pleasure to return to the tranquility of the beautiful garden and swimming pool. Although our room could have used a little renovation , it was very comfortable having a large bathroom , good shower and balcony overlooking the garden.
The staff was totally accommodating and very responsive to every request.
The restaurant, especially sitting on the terrace, has a wonderful atmosphere and the food is excellent. Since we took half pension, the chef cooked a special meal for us each evening, and we were never disappointed. The food was always very fresh based on seasonal availability and using a wide variety of herbs and spices. The dishes were creative and as lovely to look at as they were delicious to eat. Can't praise it enough.

Room tip: Room 19 has a large bathroom and nice balcony.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SheBen810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

The room was big. I loved the old style and the bathroom was amazing. The food was great.
The backyard was huge and very pretty.
The people were very helpful and very nice. Even knew English. Which helps when visiting another country.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 174caitlinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Our room was a junior suite and was fabulously furnished and super clean. The shower wasn't very hot, but you know what, i'd go to a boring Hilton for that kind of thing. This place served great food, with very attentive friendly staff, and really gorgeous grounds, where you felt like you could be yourself.

The pool was gorgeous. Quite cold... but Avignon is pushing 40 degrees in the summer - I wanted the pool to be cold!

I will book the whole place for a week for all my friends to stay when I get rich...

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank orteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews