We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -- not thrilled with location or prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Pontet
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel -- not thrilled with location or prices”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is a bit isolated and next to a school with loud playing children at times. The restaurant is very nice with excellent food but they know they have a captive audience and they charge a premium. 24 Euro just for dessert, assuming you don't do the 55, 65 or 95 Euro tasting menu. They do offer a child menu for 20 Euro as well. The rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and attentive and we were upgraded upon arrival. Pools and Spa were small, basic but nice. Not a bad place to stay but you should know what you are getting.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMRLondon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    222
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
132
671
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Excellent rooms and service with easy access to Avignon and surrounding areas by car (essential I think). The hotel is in an odd location - a mix of public housing, medical facilities and schools - not somewhere you would wander about at night. Restaurant is superb which is of course reflected in the price e.g. gin and tonic 18 euros. Meal excellent but we found that the menu did not change on a daily basis so if you are a non-meat eater you may not want to dine in too often.

Room Tip: Rooms are mostly shady which is a boon in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandahar
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Beautiful place, part of the SLH group, which has always exceeded expectations over multiple stays around the world. Service is first rate. We got a big upgrade (off season), which makes the stay especially nice. Nice pool and spa. Restaurant is excellent. Need a car for sure, as location is a little outside of Avignon. Still, central to all the major destinations in Provence. When you have done the tourist thing, a great place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BladeKandahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Avignon was the third stop of our honeymoon through France and Italy. When we arrived we were pretty tired after a busy week and a half exploring Paris and Lyon.

The hotel has a gorgeous sunny pool and indoor pool and spa plus a beautiful garden restaurant. Though we had planned to spend our time exploring the areas nearby we instead spent our visit swimming, getting massages and eating the beautiful food. We did visit Avignon one morning which was lovely (though a longish drive away).

I would give the hotel 5 points but do feel the experience wasn't as good as at some of our other hotels of a lower price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very nice place but pretty far removed from Avignon as others have mentioned. The hotel staff were very helpful and room was HUGE - we couldn't believe how big it was. Pontet is not a great suburb of Avignon with much going on and is in a bit of a suspect neighborhood. You can't walk to anything so you are pretty much stuck having to eat at the hotel which is very expensive (but good as others have said) or drive into the city which in small French cities can be very tricky. My husband and I are in our early 30s and we felt like we were the youngest guests by about 20 years!

Room Tip: Breakfast is not included (common in other French hotels) and is very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and a great base for touring the surrounding area. When we arrived, we were informed we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was fabulous. The staff are very friendly and helpful (other than one quite rude waiter/host in the restaurant). We ate in the restaurant on one night and the meal itself was flawless. The only negative comments I would have are as follows: (i) the location is absolutely fine if you have a car but if you do not, it would be very inconvenient; and (ii) it is VERY expensive - a bottle of beer in the bar approx 9 euro, a glass of wine 11 euro.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentford
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

What a surprise! We arrived in a rather dull concrete village near Avignon and tucked away down a small road was the entrance to the Auberge. Once inside (easy parking) we were met by four people at Reception, who were friendly and helpful, particularly as my Husband is disabled. In fact they could not have done more to look after us and check we were happy. We were taken to a room set in the garden (there are lots of these) with a peaceful terrace. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was superb with a jacuzzi bath and separate luxury shower. Top quality towels and bathroom items. Plus an espresso machine, which was topped up daily - a bit of an art form to learn its ways, but lovely coffee/tea (no milk supplied unless you ask). There is an outdoor pool and lovely terrace, a good walk from the accommodation. But there are loads of rooms near the pool, if you like. Plus there is a spa with fantastic indoor pool, with 2 jacuzzis and current, together with a sauna and hammam. The treatments available were extremely expensive and very few people seemed to book them. Our room was just near the restaurant and we noticed that lots of people had room service, if they had a terrace. The hotel and restaurant are expensive, this is 5-star so the costs are to be expected, However, the quality is all around you, the food was very interesting and generous, particularly if you have half board, dinner was 5 courses, plus lots of extras. If the weather is fine, you eat on the restaurant terrace and are surrounded by masses of beautiful trees, shrubs and gardens. The service was immaculate, very relaxed and friendly, but informative too - we were very impressed generally.

Room Tip: In the day the only sound to disturb is a nearby school, so rooms in the hotel and the west side are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiskerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Pontet
3.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
767 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
3.5 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
1,514 reviews
3.7 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
789 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Cassagne & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Cassagne & Spa

Property: Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Address: 450 Allee DE Cassagne, 84130 Le Pontet, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon > Le Pontet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Pontet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge de Cassagne & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes from Avignon city center and the motorway A7 (exit n°23), a charming provencal home set in magnificent and peaceful garden. Internationally renowned gastronomic restaurant (chef Philippe Boucher, ex. Bocuse, Georges Blanc). Provencal restaurant and terrace overlooking on the garden. Extremely comfortable, recently renovated apartments and rooms with free wifi, coffee and tea maker, I phone station . Spa, Outdoor-swimming-pool, Indoor-swimming-pool, Sauna, Work-out room, Steam bath, Hormeta Treatments and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge de Cassagne & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Cassagne Hotel Le Pontet
Auberge De Cassagne And Spa
Auberge De Cassagne Le Pontet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing