We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel In A Very Inconvenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Pontet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The facility is truly superb. The grounds are lovely and soothing. Our room was first rate with great beds, plenty of storage, and a wonderful bathroom. We had a terrific front porch where we spent several evenings sipping wine unwinding after a day of sight seeing. The real problem here is the location. Le Pontet is an uninteresting town with no nice dining. We didn't have a car and even the walk to Le Pontet was dauntingly long. We were forced to take a taxi to Avignon for dinner and experienced taxi costs that ranged from 15 to 28 euros (each way!) for this relatively short trip. Dinner at the hotel was excellent but very pricey. Breakfast was something like 30 euros per person. So - the niceness of the hotel was significantly offset by it's inaccessible, poor location. If they had some sort of on-call shuttle service to Avignon - I would rate the hotel much higher. Unless you have a car or you plan to spend all your time at the hotel - I cannot recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a deluxe room and I'd recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Sir,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere during your stay and we thank you for the time you spent to write your comments.
We propose 2 breakfast formulas:
- A very large breakfast buffet or room service : 25 €
- French breakfast : 16 € in the dining room (hot drink, croissants and fruit juice)
Our restaurant service starts at 37.60 € with our lunch menu composed of a small starter, a main dish you can choose à la carte and a dessert you choose à la carte. We also have a menu with simple dishes for lunch or dinner from 13 €
About our location, it is in quiet place but close to Avignon. The TGV station, the A7 motorway exit, the easy access to visit the Provence area and a large and secured free parking are our strong points. It is easiest and most convenient if you have a car, but we also have a direct public bus (bus stop at less than 200 meters) to Avignon from Monday to Saturday. On Sunday we propose a free shuttle to the center of Le Pontet to take the bus to Avignon. It is also possible to book half a day or for full day excursions with pickup directly from the Auberge.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for another stay and please do not hesitate to contact Madame BOUCHER if you need help to organize visits.
Best Regards
André TRESTOUR – Sylvie et Philippe BOUCHER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

My first sense on arriving at the hotel was of a disappointment. I had formed in my mind that that this hotel had extensive grounds. So on arrival by car it was with a slight sinking feeling I noted it was located right next to a school (albeit empty for the summer). The outside doesn't look anything special. Reception was cordial and we were offered a drink. Shown to our room (we were upgraded) which had a terrace. Internally the hotel accomadation is set as appartments outlying a small central oasis of shrubs and trees, which is pleasant. But you won't burn many calories walking the 'estate'. It has a small outside swimming pool, and an indoor spa & swimming pool. I am afraid we didn't use any of these,

The room was very pleasant and spacious, with a separate sitting area, and a tiled terrace. Large bed, and coffee/tea machine.

The staff were all very nice, and I would single out a German lady on reception who was delightful and helpful. The food was very good but as has been mentioned in other reviews expensive. We only eat in the evening twice in our four night stay. It is 'gourmand 'style and you get a bit tired of the formality of presentation albeit it is done very well by well trained young people with plenty of charm.

The surrounding area of le pontet is a bit of a non-event suburb, as it is a modern 'estate' and I am sure it was my idiocy but finding any centre to it was bamboozling despite several sorties in the car. Its relative non-descriptiveness was disorientating.

The costs. For a four night stay we paid 1900 euros, excl dinner and breakfast. This was in July. Dinner options were various. for two having a three course meal with a couple of soft drinks and one glass of wine, I was charged just over 100 euros. I only had a hotel breakfast once as it was 25 euros per head for a fairly standard contintentental breakfast, and I felt a staggering 50 euros each for a fairly average buffet style breakfast, albeit eating outside is very pleasant.

So I was paying a fairly hefty near 480 euros per night for a room (the euro was high agst the pound). To get to avignon by taxi it is around 25 euros each way from the hotel. So you can see the hotel food cost is primed to reflect the cost of a trip to the local town and eating out etc.

Maybe I have made the stay sound bad but it wasn't, it was pleasant, but I started by being disappointed, it was expensive, and set in a not too special an area, which is what I anticipate paying top rates for personally. However, I have nothing to compare against in that area of France.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Sir,
We thank you for the time you spent to write your comments.
About our location, it is in quiet place but close to Avignon, the TGV station, the A7 motorway exit, the easy access to visit the Provence area, a large and free secure car park and a beautiful garden are our strong points. It is easiest and most convenient if you have a car, but we also have a direct public bus (bus stop at less than 200 meters) to Avignon from Monday to Saturday. On Sunday we propose a free shuttle to the center of Le Pontet to take the bus to Avignon. It is also possible to book a tour for half a day or for a day with pickup directly from the Auberge.
We propose 2 breakfast formulas:
-A very large breakfast buffet or room service : 25 €
-French breakfast : 16 € in the dining room (hot drink, croissants and fruit juice)
Our restaurant service starts at 37.60 € with our lunch menu composed of a small starter, a main dish you can choose à la carte and a dessert you choose à la carte. We also have a menu with simple dishes for lunch or dinner from 13 €
If we have the pleasure of welcoming you again for another stay , please do not hesitate to contact Madame BOUCHER for your booking.
Best Regards
André TRESTOUR – Sylvie et Philippe BOUCHER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have been coming to this place for years- It is always the same: perfect service, lovely rooms, amazing restaurant- The staff cannot do enough to help you out. Rooms are spacious and up-to-date. The hotel is perfect for relaxation and close to all tourist sites. The restaurant serves tasty, upscale dishes and it is reasonably priced for a five star.
We will be back without hesitation- The few negative remarks are unfounded and dishonest!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a wonderful vacation in Provence.We stayed eight nights at this beautiful hotel which is also a great base for touring the surrounding area. When we arrived, we were met by the Front of House staff( who were professional, welcoming ,friendly and warm)and were told that we had been upgraded to a Deluxe room-which was gorgeous !. Our bedroom was on the ground floor, with a terrace. The room was very tastefully decorated, the bed was huge and comfortable. We enjoyed the bathroom facitities too,well equiped, a bath with massage jets and a spacious separate shower. !!! It felt like beeing in a charming little house of your own!

:Although the hotel was very busy,we were impressed by the way the staff took care of the needs of each and every guest with smiles and efficiency.

The superb gastronomic restaurant and the evening meal presentation were outstanding . The attention to detail was obvious, both from the service point of view and from the formidable gourment experience which followed. Every dish was a delight- colourful, imaginative- simply outstanding !.
After dinner(,as my husband and I are both heavy smokers),a table was set up for us on the terrace, where we enjoyed our wine and excellent dessert!
The garden is absolutely beautiful and at night it is almost magical due to lighting,

We liked the idea of "The Auberge newsletter" to inform us of 'what's on' in the region.

There was no outside noise to disturb our sleep except the singing of the birds ....

The breakfast was served both in the dining room,and terrace and the buffet was plentiful, well presented and restocked permanently.
Auberge de Cassagne"-Bienvenue dans votre maison" as it says on the sign, That is exactly how we felt- At Home!
Special thanks to Mrs Sylvie Boucher,Sandrine and Jean- Luc, for their exceptionaly warm and
friendly attitude-ladies and gentleman, you did a fantastic job.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Taso282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing time at this oasis near Avignon. All of the staff were excellent and our rooms were comfortable and quiet. You have to have a car to get there - it is a couple of miles from the centre of the town. But if you are touring through southern Europe this is a lovely place from which to explore Avignon and the surrounding area. The food was also excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The immediate surrounding area is not very appealing but it is not far from Avignon by car. Once inside the gardens are delightful and the rooms are beautifully furnished and chic. Very comfortable with everything you need. Staff are helpful and welcoming. Food at dinner is first class and imaginative. Our only negative was the high price for breakfast at 25 euros per person -we did not take it and breakfasted out.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussexmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was an excellent stay, the decor and detail in every corner of this hotel is the first thing that jumps to your eyes, this gorgeous 1800s home provides all the charm of Provençal style taking you back to the France of the time without taking away any of the comfort at all, instead it takes you to a world of romance and beauty all together with the smells of lavender and amazing Provençal cuisine. The very charming terrace is surrounded by roof tiles and vines....The staff is simply one of the best I have dealt with in France, they made our very short stay a very comfortable one, not easy to do in such a short time. My only regret... not having the time to stay long enough to take advantage of the amazing looking spa. Will be back...

Room Tip: The parking in this hotel is perfect, your car is safe and in the shade. Easy access and lots of par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josey1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Pontet
3.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
797 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
3.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
821 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 68 in Avignon
425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Cassagne & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Cassagne & Spa

Address: 450 Allee DE Cassagne, 84130 Le Pontet, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon > Le Pontet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Pontet
Price Range: £144 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge de Cassagne & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes from Avignon city center and the motorway A7 (exit n°23), a charming provencal home set in magnificent and peaceful garden. Internationally renowned gastronomic restaurant (chef Philippe Boucher, ex. Bocuse, Georges Blanc). Provencal restaurant and terrace overlooking on the garden. Extremely comfortable, recently renovated apartments and rooms with free wifi, coffee and tea maker, I phone station . Spa, Outdoor-swimming-pool, Indoor-swimming-pool, Sauna, Work-out room, Steam bath, Hormeta Treatments and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge de Cassagne & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Cassagne Hotel Le Pontet
Auberge De Cassagne And Spa
Auberge De Cassagne Le Pontet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing