We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chain for budget travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel balladins Lyon/Dardilly
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dardilly
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Even though this chain has its own site, it is funny to mention that sometimes booking is chapter with BOOKING.COM and others. I guess, they have better agreements. So, this was a nice trip, arriving in Paris and renting a car, going to Switzerland. On my way I decided to stay in Lyon and this was my choice. Hotel was clean, nice, meeting all basic needs. I liked breakfast since I had to meet someone in the morning. If you travel alone and even in company, this is a good budget choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhailruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was very positively suprised by this hotel. We stayed one night coming back to Paris from Italy. The hotel was recently renovated and our room was very clean and cosy. The bed was very comfortable too. The staff was very friendly. You can eat at the hotel though not every night but you have several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnBee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pretty close to the main autoroute although tricky to find, motel style basic accommodation. We had a large family room which was okay for a stopover. The breakfast was a typical continental affair and whilst there wasn't much choice it was good. There are a couple of restaurants close by.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I booked this hotel for an official visit so the main aim was to book something near the workplace and in budget. I would have prefered to book IBIS budget but booked this as my colleague was also staying there. From the tripadvisor reviews I was aware of what I was getting into. Now to the cons:
1. Very far from Lyon airport. If you are availing a taxi, do tell them to go through Lyon instead of taking the highway (30eu difference in fare!)
2. The restaurant has limited choice for Indian palette but that is applicable to the all the neighbouring restaurants.
3. Room is super small..has a double bed but it would be amazing how 2 people would fit into that room. FYI, we took the least expensive room
4. No closets - open cupboard with a few hangers. No drawers either
5. Bathroom - don't know where to begin. Smallest bathroom in the world, The hand shower is fitted in the middle so u'll get hit by the shower pipe all the time. Your feet will be inside the shower area when you are using the WC. Only a body wash/shampoo is given. No toilet paper!!
Now to the pros
1. Reasonable English speaking staff
2. Good cold breakfast (though chargeable @ 6eu) - I liked it inspite of the lack of variety
3. Wonderful coffee machine at breakfast - loved it so much that I am mentioning it separately.
4. 24 hr checkin
5. Room was being cleaned everyday
6. Free wifi
7. There was a very good Chinese restaurant nearby
8. Taxi was made available on time (if booked a day earlier). If you wait till the last moment, its difficult to get a cab but thats not the hotel's fault
9. Auchan nearby (esp. helpful if u don't want to spend 6eu everyday for b'fast)
10. Bus to city center from just outside the hotel

Good to stay if you are in a very tight budget though I will probably stay in Ibis budget next time I go there

Room Tip: Take a room on 1st floor. The ground floor rooms can be very noisy due to 24 hour checkins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aninm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A large complex of chalets based around a central reception, bar, & restaurant.
This chain hotel is not very near the city for sight seeing, but good as a stopping place en-route.
Though finding it could be a problem
The rooms are very clean and equipped with basic essentials. French TV only. The beds are comfortable, providing a good nights sleep. The staff are professional and helpful
Set in a suburban area it is quiet and peaceful. There are eateries nearby including Chinese food.
Overall, well worth considering, as it has been refurbished and represents good value.

Room Tip: State your requirements when booking, as some rooms are equipped to accommodate some disabilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wulfrun1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Noisy compressor behind kitchen disturbed many rooms during night.

Due for reurbishment . Antiquated showes. Carpets need replacing.

Staff helpfull

Restaurant shut weekend

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank greenish_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank LanaIgnatovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dardilly
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Dardilly
0.1 mi away
Novotel Lyon Nord Porte de Lyon
0.2 mi away
Campanile Lyon Nord - Dardilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lyon Nord
Ibis Lyon Nord
#2 of 7 in Dardilly
397 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Lyon Ouest - Tassin
Premiere Classe Lyon Ouest - Tas...
#4 of 5 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
233 reviews
3.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Lyon Ouest Tassin
B&B Hotel Lyon Ouest Tassin
#3 of 5 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Lyon/Dardilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Lyon/Dardilly

Address: 15 Chemin de Gargantua, 69570 Dardilly, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Dardilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dardilly
Price Range: £36 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel balladins Lyon/Dardilly 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a restaurant and bar, free parking and free Wi-Fi in every room. The Lyon Nord Dardilly balladins hotel offers 100 rooms with terrace and satellite and cable TV. You can choose from a selection of traditional and regional dishes that are served in the hotel restaurant. The hotel is close to the museums and theaters in Lyon. You can also visit the nearby Alps and enjoy the ski slopes and hiking trails. The hotel is open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel balladins Lyon/Dardilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing