We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTALLY inflexible - don't stay here with children if you plan to ski in Avoriaz!”
Review of Hotel Neige et Roc

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Neige et Roc
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“TOTALLY inflexible - don't stay here with children if you plan to ski in Avoriaz!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a shame that the mother that runs this hotel is so totally inflexible.
Breakfast will ONLY ever start at 08.00am (trust me we asked for sandwiches to take with us), so if you need to get up the mountain into Avoriaz for the start of ski school (09.00am), it's impossible to get there on time with cablecar and lifts.
We spent every morning scrabbling sandwiches together in the breakfast room for our children in sufficient time, which could have been easily solved had they been prepared to either prepare breakfast earlier (as most hotels / B & Bs in resort) or simply give us a packed breakfast to eat en route we may have felt less aggrieved.
I will never stay here again as a result, with or without children - a great shame, as the evening meals are actually excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neigeroc, Manager at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear madam,
We thank you for reporting on Tripadvisor and we will be very glad to answer to your comment.
We own a small hotel and therefore have a tight relation with all our guests in order to meet all the possible requirements, we also take notes on the problems that we have to deal with and we did not register anything regarding the facts that you mentioned, we wonder why you come back to us with your complaint ONE YEAR after your stay at the Neige et Roc?
First of all shall we correct you on the point that breakfast is served from 7.30 to during school holidays ( and 8 non school holidays) the receptionist may not have given you this information, or you may not have read it in the information booklet displaid in our rooms.we apologise for that.
Secondly as we said we try to be very close to our guests in order to meet their requirements and the staff works hard and long hours to be at the disposal of our guests becaus the satisfaction of our guests is the most important. But it is true that in our hotel like in all hôtels over the world there is some timetables for meals, We are as much flexible as possible but you did not book an exclusiv individual service, did you?.
Shall we also remind you and all our future guests that the Neige et Roc has an ideal location at the bottom of Avoriaz cable car and it is only a few minutes trip; considering the fact that our guests have no concern for drinving to the lift, parking their cars and that the hotel is the closest one to the cable car, there is plenty of time to be on time for the 1st ski lesson of 9am. If by any chance this 1 hour and a half that you had for having a nice breakfast and for only 4 minutes cable car trip was not sufficient, why didn't you take the 2nd ski lesson at 11am. Or even better, your ski instructor would have been very glad to come to the hotel and take care of your children on a private lesson, this is very frequent and very convenient for parents and children also.
Finally we thank you also for giving us the opportunity by answering to your comment to remind you and to tell all our futur guests that The Neige et Roc has one of the best location for skiing in Avoriaz and will be from the 7th. of december this year even more convenient as the brand new 3S cable car will be ready to bring our guests on the slopes within 3 minutes only. Our parents' and children guests' will also have the pleasure to use the brand new Prodains skilift, facing our hotel.
We can also tell you madam, that we are very proud of beeing part of the "family plus" label which recognises our success in welcoming families with children. We are also very proud of beeing one of Avoriaz hotesl, Avoriaz beeing rewarded a few days ago in London, and for the second time, the award of the Best family ski resort for 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    53
    13
    8
    15
See reviews for
51
70
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melb australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have recieved two unpleasant and sarcastic emails to my personal address from the proprieter of this hotel. The most recent was today stating the French authorities would contact me for a stay I never had but paid for in full.?? All I did was ask for a partial refund as I did not stay. I have recieved an insulting email even suggesting that Australians cannot read. This was for a prepaid stay booked for August! As far as the hotel goes I cannot comment as I never went there. The rudeness I have experienced by the proprieter is second to none, not to mention intrusive and down right bizaare. I hope they dont contact me again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neigeroc, Propriétaire at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Leane Shine, this is the 3rd comments you made yourself in 2 months on our hotel even though you did not know our hotel as you never come and never stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zerkegem
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have stayed here for 7 nights in August 2013. The setting is beautiful. A beautiful garden with a heated pool in a quiet area. The food was fantastic. You can make beautiful walks in the area, but sometimes you have to take the car first. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

These people are cheats - masquerading as "Neige et Roc" who are actually in Somoens where we were supposed to be staying, instead of as “Neige-Roc” which is their actual name. We didn’t realise this hotel is 25km away from Samoens and we accidentally booked this place months before. On arrival in Somoens not only did we find out we had the wrong hotel, they wouldn’t give any refund - not even half - even though we didn’t stay there.
Bookings.com has now changed their name back to Neige-Roc to try and stop confusion ... The staff of Neige-Roc are inflexible and non negotiable people who should not be in business.. Avoid!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neigeroc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It appears that you accidentally made a reservation at the wrong hotel when trying to book accommodation for a wedding. As sympathetic as we are, we unfortunately cannot accept responsibility for this mistake, and as is standard practise in hotels, we do have a cancellation policy that we must adhere to. We also conduct weddings at the Neige et Roc in Morzine, and when our clients make a booking, they do usually check that they are booking the right hotel - Samoens is some distance from Morzine after all. In summary, we rely on our guests to know where they travelling to when they make their reservation.

'Neige et Roc' is a popular hotel / chalet / restaurant name across the Alps. We have not recently changed our name, as you'll see from the signage on the hotel which has been in place for a number of years.

We hope that you enjoyed your travels to the Alps and the wedding of your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Neige Roc as a large group, staff did everything possible to make our stay very comfortable and welcoming. We had a great time here and whole heatedly recommend this hotel. The dinner we had was also great and exactly what we needed after a long day in the saddle (we came here on a cycling holiday). Thanks all!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neigeroc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Morzine-Avoriaz and your stay at the Neige et Roc. Hopefully we'll welcome you back to the hotel again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for four nights in late March and absolutely loved it! The staff were very accommodating, especially when we arrived at 1am and even sorted out our lift passes and allowed us to have a late check out so we could keep skiing on our last day. The room itself was charming and warm, and the bathroom was very clean with an excellent shower. There is a wonderful restaurant attached to the hotel, as well as a lounge and outdoor bar area for apres ski. The location of the hotel in Prodains, right next to the cable car, is superb and you can ski practically to the door. As with all French hotels, the jacuzzi could have been a bit hotter but otherwise a lovely hotel with an excellent restaurant. All I can think of the negative reviews on here are that the reviewers loved the hotel so much they don't want to share it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neigeroc, Gérant at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Google Translation
Notre plus grand plaisir est votre satisfaction ...

Mille mercis d'avoir aimé notre "maison" !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhout
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very good hotel, warm welcome, excellent cook, covered swimming pool, sauna. Friendly atmosphere. At the foot ot the telepheric to Avoriaz. Wonderful skiing resort.
The owners are present every day. Good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neigeroc, Gérant at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Our greatest pleasure is your satisfaction ...

Thanks a lot for having appreciated your stay in our "home" !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Neige et Roc

Property: Hotel Neige et Roc
Address: 2953 route des Ardoisieres | Pied du telepherique d'Avoriaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neige et Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Neige et Roc is a charming and characterful chalet hotel located in Les Prodains, at the base of the Ardoisiere cliffs, half way between the ski resorts of Morzine and Avoriaz. The new Prodains Express ski lift is located just opposite the hotel, allowing our hotel guests to be on the pistes minutes after leaving their bedrooms. We offer dinner inclusive accommodation packages throughout the winter and summer seasons. Our bedrooms are a mixture of doubles, twins and family rooms, while our hotel restaurant is well regarded for it's use of locally sourced produce and delicious restaurant dishes. Many of our guests have been staying at the Hotel Neige et Roc for many years. They enjoy our high standards and our personal approach to guest care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Neige et Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing