We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable short stay skiing trip”
Review of Chalet Papy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Papy
Ranked #127 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We booked a 3 night stay through Igoski travelling with Easyjet early Sunday morning to give us a taste of skiing. Alpine Elements could not have been more helpful. We got the first plane out of Gatwick at 5.50am, whilst on the coach from Geneva they organised skis, boots, lift passes, lessons etc, we checked into Chalet Papy where we were greeted with homemade cake then we collected our kit from Skiset just a 10 min walk from the chalet and we were on the mountain ready for our first lesson at 2.30pm. The chalet maid was great, providing us with a 3 course meal and wine in the evenings except for Tuesday night which was her day off.
The chalet is very basic and there is only 1 toilet on each floor.Not something I would normally consider acceptable but bearing in mind everyone wanted to get on the slopes early there really isnt very much time spent in the chalet. The beds were basic and we did say on our feedback form that there was insufficient pillows, towels and no hairdryer. The ceiling in the rooms on the second floor are very low too so not particularly suitable for tall people but otherwise the chalet is quite acceptable and the rooms on the first floor with ensuite showers are probably a better option. The location is very close to the centre of Morzine and is ideal for getting on the slopes, if you hire your equipment from Skiset you can use their cellar for storage overnight. Then you can catch the petite train from outside Skiset to the Pleney lift or walk to the Super Morzine lift. All very convenient.
Overall this was a very enjoyable trip, the chalet was clean and acceptable. Alpine Elements do seem to have a high turn over of staff and whilst everything got done it did seem a little hectic and sometimes staff lacked local knowledge.




but you are really are not in the chalet that oten.
.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the first floor or opt to share rooms on the same floor as friends if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeluxuryBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

I traveled to Chatel Papy for a 3 day break, which its self was brilliant as my first boarding holiday. On arrival the Chalet girl Katie was extremely welcoming and was brilliant throughout our stay, she cooked a great array of food which was all good quality with lots of wine. I could not fault Katie one bit.

The Chalet its self was basic, but what I expected. I was happy with the room as we were lucky enough to have a key to lock it, unlike others. The downfall for me was having to share showers and toilets, on our floor there was one toilet and two shower rooms which were clean and user friendly. There was a bit of a lack of space for our boards and boots.

It was great to walk to the Super Morzine, if you are hiring gear I would suggest you use a company near to this as its a rather long walk to the company IGOSKI use which is right at the bottom of thre Pleny. If you are intending to head up that way then they were very friendly and helpful.

If you are happy with having somewhere to rest your head and have a bite to eat then I would say that Chalet Papy was just what the doctor ordered. Just remember that it is basic and doesnt pretend to be anything else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is the worst place i have ever stayed. It's damp,smells and the food is just awful.You don't get a choice for breakfast, it's beans on toast or nothing one day.One little pancake another. This sort of breakfast will not give you the energy levels you need for a good day ski. One evening there was no wine with dinner and they would not walk over the road to get some. I did get a response from Alpine elements but it was full of excuses. Previous reviews rave on about katie,what smiles and how helpful she was??? er! Alpine elements must have wrote the nice reviews as there is nothing nice about this chalet or company i can say! Katie has now left, so beware. If you stay here....you will regret it so good luck.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike201065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Chalet Papy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

We are very sorry that you had a bad stay at the Papy.
The chalet has had a complete overhaul in 2011 to a high standard by the owner. Since the refurbishments the reviews are a lot more positive and we hope that maybe you would consider returning to the Papy to see the improvements that have been made. Our Catering and Service programme is an extremely high consideration of ours and we put a lot of effort into our menus and staff training. We do get isolated cases of staff not performing to our standards and for this we are usually very reactive. I am only sorry that it seemed to affect your week, and can assure you that standards are now very high for the Papy.

With kind regards
Clare Smith
Head of Operations UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at Chalet Papy for a three night break. Katie was an excellent Chalet host, always friendly and cooked some good food, however the Chalet itself leaves a lot to be desired.
We had no key to lock our room during the day, which for us is the most basic of needs. The bathroom was off limits the whole stay due to a power outage, however we did have a shower in our room. There was only one toilet on our floor between 3 rooms of guests, the curtain pole had been snapped off in our room, although we did have working(ish) shutters. The walk to the lifts was too far for us(about 15mins) - every day in ski boots took its toll. Finally we phoend alpine elements before arriving to let them know of a food allergy, and this had not been passed onto Katie, thankfully she checked as this could have been dangerous. I would not recommend the Chalet itself to stay at - go elsewhere!

Big thanks to Katie who was far too good for this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boozeedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed at Chalet Papy with nine of my friends in February 2011, and whilst our stay in Morzine was pleasant enough, getting there and back was less so.

The chalet itself is quaint and slightly peculiar. It appears to have been converted from a shop of some kind and the main window into the ground floor living room is very much a shop window, with no curtains and so affords no privacy during the evening. The communal living space, whilst clean and well maintained, is fairly cramped, with most of the living room being taken up by the dining table. The "Lounge" area can only comfortably accommodate 8 people, which doesn't quite work when there is sleeping space in the chalet for 12. By contrast, the kitchen is absolutely huge, which is great for the chalet host, but not quite so great for the guests.

The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, but basic. The bathroom facilities are adequate. The ski store is not very conveniently located as it can only be accessed via the kitchen, which can create log-jam in the narrow hallway inside the back door of the chalet, with everyone having to stop there to remove their boots before being able to put their skis away. Given that the walk from the nearest piste was considerably longer than the 400m quoted in the brochure, our patience was generally quite stretched by the time we reached this point.

Without a doubt, the best thing about Chalet Papy was our Host whose self assured good humour and considerable culinary skills make her an absolute asset to Alpine Elements, who operate the chalet. The same can be said of the resort reps, who kept us well informed of events throughout Morzine and Les Gets and took us on two extremely entertaining bar crawls.

Less can be said about the ability of Alpine Elements to organise transportation. Their chosen charter airline (Monarch) are prone to changing flight times at short notice and did exactly that with our flights, meaning that I in turn had to change my connecting flights to and from Dubai. They then delayed our return flight to Gatwick by 4.5 hours, with no explanation which put me in danger of missing my (already re-scheduled) flight back to Dubai. They then took so long to unload the baggage from the Geneva-Gatwick flight, I had to travel back to Dubai without my suitcase, which I only got back last week. Rather than taking responsibility for the resulting slew of complaints, Alpine Elements have washed their hands of he issue and passed the buck to Monarch. I have yet to hear from either company with regard to the complaints that I have made.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobester76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

When I came to read last seasons reviews i felt sick to the stomach thinking i had booked into the chalet from hell.
HOWEVER. I wanted to add my review to say that I had a great holiday in this chalet. I stayed with 6 other friends, so we occupied the top floor of the chalet. we had two Rooms 4 and 5 were really big. much more space that any other ski chalet i have stayed in before which was brilliant. and we got 2 showers on our floor which wasnt on the floor plan so a nice surprise. 1 negative is the bathroom is way too hot cos the radiator wont turn off but it stops people staying in for too long!
Our chalet host katie did a great job serving really nice food every night and fantastic cakes. ok its not 5* but its clean and warm and in a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Walking into the chalet for the first time after getting off the bus was a little strange as we appeared to have walked straight into a shop window but this just added to the charm of the place. Basic, yes, that's what you get for this kind of budget. The rooms were generally of a good size, the beds comfortable and every where was kept clean and tidy, not an easy job when there are 12 guests staying. The resort staff and reps were approachable, friendly and very helpful, in fact they pop in each day to check everyone was ok. The airport transfers were amongst one of the easiest I have experienced. Now to the our Chalet host... Katy. I only had one problem, we were not allowed to her bring home!! She was excellent, great food, friendly, attentive, always had time to chat with us and our 7 year old son. Nothing was ever a problem , she had a good knowledge of the resort and was keen to make sure that we had the information we needed.
The resort was quite large with a small village feel to it, everything you could need was there from boutiques to small supermarkets. The equipment hire shops we used (3 between the group) all were very helpful and the equipment was of a good standard. At night the bars and restaurants were varied and plentiful, those that we visited offered a relaxed, enjoyable time. Chalet Papy was just far enough from the centre of the village to be away from the night life, yet close enough to the lifts during the day (Pleney approx 10 minutes walk, Super Morzine approx 5 minutes). The free bus stops just outside the chalet door across the road.
All in all a very enjoyable, active, yet relaxing holiday, thanks to all at Alpine Elements.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh_d_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Dents Blanches
Hotel Les Dents Blanches
#28 of 50 in Morzine
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#23 of 50 in Morzine
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chalet Flo
Chalet Flo
#77 of 146 in Morzine
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Papy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Papy

Address: Morzine, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Papy is a centrally located 12 bed chalet with the benefit of a sauna, en suite bedrooms and fantastic views of the mountains and Pleney ski slopes in the distance.The chalet is arranged over three floors and has been recently renovated for 2012 to offer a high quality of ski accommodation with a lovely aged wooden interior and modern, sleek fittingsThe Papy is about 350 metres (5 mins walk) from the main Super Morzine cable car, which accesses the Avoriaz and Swiss sectors and so affords skiers the ultimate in convenience, ski variety and choice for all levels. The chalet is only 100 metres from the excellent Brit-run “Sherpa” bar which will always assure you of some lively après ski. Alternative bars and cafés, and the supermarket are very close to the chalet (3-5 mins walk). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Papy Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing