We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Papy
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Morzine
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonne Valette(Morzine)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
4
10
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
10
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget chaletsecurity risktop floorafternoon teasuper morzine liftbefore dinnercakesupermarketsaunapleneyslopes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Chalet Papy. Its in a decent location about 10 mins to the lifts and centre of Morzine. The Chalet its self is a bit dated and quite basic. Our room was spacious but had no view and was very dark even with the lights on! Nothing a small table lamp would;d not have fixed. The other rather annoying thing was that to get to the ski store you have to pass through the narrow galley kitchen which would be OK apart from the open dishwasher, the maintenance man on the floor or the chalet maid always seeming to be in the way. The food was plentiful and pretty good. If all you want is a bed and a hot meal its fine but is your looking for cosy nights around the fire and a few luxuries i would go else where.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I have just got back form a 3 night ski break in Morzine. I was 1 of 10 blokes age's ranging from early 30's to mid 40's. We stayed at Chalet Papy Morzine organised through Alpine Elements. The trip cost £350 which included flights, Airport transfers and catered accomadation at Chalet Papy.Before we left we checked reviews on Trip Advisor and i must say was a little apprehensive of what to expect! On arival at the Chalet Papy we were met by our Chalet host Katy a very plesent 19 year old English girl who had home made cake and refreshments waiting for us. As we were rushing to hit the slopes for the afternoon Katy quickly ran through some house rules and showed us around the Chalet, she also pointed out a local shop to use. Yes the Chalet is pretty basic but clean and tidy. It could do with some more toilet facilities, apart from that i would find it hard to complain for the price we paid! All our meals were very good with as much to drink as you wanted, beds were made every day and the rest of the Chalet was spotless. Located in a great spot with a short walk to the main ski lifts and bars. I would like to thank Katy for putting up with 10 blokes on a jolly!! Which could'nt have been easy and making our stay a good one!! As for Alpine Elements our experience with them was very good right from booking to being dropped back at the airport. Our resort rep Karen was very helpful and plesent. So back to "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" I imagine the people responsible for the mostly negative coments about Chalet Papy and Alpine Elements on thie web site should think before they book next time! You will never get 5 Star when you only want to pay 2 star prices!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fireman6634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Morzine skiing = great
Chalet Papy = grotty, 70's decor, uncomfortable, v bad value for money. We were a group of 15, yet the dining table could only seat 12????? The lounge area seats about 6.
Chalet Papy maids = very nice, hard to be angry with and do a good job with the very poor quality and limited food/ingredients they are given to cook with.
Chalet Papy owners/operators = should be ashamed of themselves, they clearly beleive it is ok to rip people off - the food is poor, the wine is undrinkable, facilities are dreadful.
My Advice = please please keep looking, Morzine skiing is great for all abilities, there are far better places to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skindaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igogroup, Manager at Chalet Papy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

The Chalet Papy is coming under some fire on Trip Advisor and so we have reacted by informing the owner that he will need to do some major cosmetic works before the start of the 2010 ski season.

The chalet is indeed a basic ski property, which has a sauna and a good location in Morzine. It is very competitively priced and makes many of our guests very happy who are looking for a value ski chalet.

We are concerned that people may not be aware of our advertising literature when booking - which claims it to be a basic property. Therefore we are taking the initiative to step in and overhaul much of the chalet for this season. Do ask us for any updated photos and we will happily send them to you.

James Hardiman
Alpine Elements Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

This trip was a disaster from start to finish. Alpine Elements were useless from booking to returning home, fortunately for us the resort was great and we only went for a short break. The chalet was awful, you could stay in a better hostel for a lot less money. It was dirty, sorry filthy!! The food was on a couple of occasions, palatable. That was when we got it. Staff were jolly but useless, when they were actually there. Other guests, snow and the town made it a heck of a lot more bearable. There is no way I would ever book with this company again and have written a formal letter of complaint, although I'm not holding my breath that I will even get a response, knowing how useless the company has been so far.
DEEPLY DISAPPOINTED IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I know not how to express/articulate how bad this hotel was. The hotel is an old shop converted, not very well. The food and wine unpalatable. General hygiene, there wasn't any. Service: on arrival most of the staff were sitting in the shop front, otherwise known as the lounge, with hangovers. When we asked how we could get our ski equipment they told us to walk in to town and we'd work it out. When we complained about the general hygiene of the place one particular chalet host got quiet testy. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT Travel using this company, unless you want a backpacking skiing holiday.

However Morzine is highly recommended, plenty to do, skiing area small but this is compared to skiing in the 3 valleys for so many years.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews