We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Chalet D'amo”
Review of Chalet d'Amo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet d'Amo
Ranked #21 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Thanks for another great stay at Chalet D'amo. The view from our room was so pretty with all the snow in the trees when we arrived ......pity there was none on the slopes! Your warm hospitality made up for it though! A very relaxing pre-Christmas escape and the best ever roast potatoes from Nigel ! I see your huge dump of snow has finally arrived, have a great season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EmmaJ5214PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Morzine, staying at Chalet. D'amo! Nigel and Linda couldn't have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful. The Food was home cooked and very tasty, my only complaint is that I put on half a stone!!!! Rooms are simply decorated, clean and comfortable, tonnes of hot water and great showers! There was no TV in the room but not quite sure why you'd want one! We were there to ski and socialise! Lets face it, you don't go to france to sit in your room and watch TV!! Our hosts ferried us about and looked after us so well...... we wanted for nothing! Both have a detailed knowledge of the area, helping you to miss the queues!! Can't sing their praises enough! We will be back!!
Potatoes, potatoes!
Thank you, Nigel, Linda and Archie.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherinesfenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thanks to Nigel & Linda for a great 5 day break away in my best trip to Morzine yet. I travelled with my son and daughter and step son and step daughter and we had a room for three for the boys and a room for two for the girls. Food was great and so much better than hotel buffets ! The personal touch was superb with Nigel spending time with us pointing out the best places to ski and giving a few pointers to the kids and taxiing us to and from the slopes. Value for money was important as there were 5 of us and I don't think you could find somewhere offering the service quality at this price and offerings such flexibility in terms of check in check out. And to top it all the best snow and sun I have had in 6 visits to this area. Love to Archie ! Grahame and the gang !!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Grahame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is an outstanding place to stay with friendly and accommodating people running the chalet - Nigel and Linda were such welcoming hosts who could not do enough to ensure our stay was a memorable one.

What a great break, excellent service, could not fault a thing, wonderful hospitality, and a man who can cook ....

Nigel is an experienced skier and an instructor who's patience was tested greatly.

The Clark Family

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Chalet D'amo is located about a 6 minute drive away from the town of Morzine and the ski lifts to Les Gets / Morzine. The chalet is very old fashioned and is run and managed by Linda and Nigel who are two middle aged English expats. They are very nice people and also very welcoming. The bedrooms are extremely basic with no TV, just beds and a bathroom - which is all you really need. The floor boards are very creaky and sometimes it is very difficult to sleep when people are above (you can hear every foot step). However, that didn't bother me and my girlfriend that much as we are only 20/23 years old and not pensioners. The breakfast is very simple with cereal, fresh bread and croissants on offer every day with tea/coffee and juice. This gets a bit boring after a while, but it does the trick. Linda and Nigel offer a taxi service (free of charge) to the town in the morning and in the afternoon after skiing which is handy. Nigel is very opinionated and will try to get you to go out skiing with him regularly, which we did once. He is a 'practising' ski instructor so he knows the area well, but if you want to go fast and do crazy stuff then he isn't your man! He is however good for beginners and will teach you some very basic stuff.

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Morzine, which offers really limited living space and just a bed room then this is your place. If you want a bit of luxury, space and a place to really relax after a long day skiing then don't book here. I would return if there was nothing better on offer.

PS. Don't be scared of the dog (Archie), he is a big softy and doesn't bite!

Room Tip: Top floor, so you don't get woken up by the people above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Arranged to take the Trinidad and Tobago Ski Team www.TTITS.biz to this chalet, for a weekend training camp, mid April, Fri 13th to Sun 15th. A single sex team of 16 gents with little or limited experience of snow or the skiing environment.

We arranged, after getting some indicative quotes from local providers, our transfers and Skis and Boot Hire with the Chalet Owners, Linda and Nigel, which worked perfectly.

Nigel guided us throughout our stay, and Linda with assistance from Rach provided the point of contact and prepared the good food that we received each evening, included within the half boad price, in addition to the offer of wine with dinner.

The location of the chalet is at the far edge of the village of morzine, and I estimate to walk to a lift could take 20/25 mins, however during the day and until 1 am at night we were never left without a lift from the responsive team.

They have a massive huge beautiful and utterly gentle dog, which if you didn't want him to be a bother then he would not be, however I think that most people will end up searching him out as he is such a big cutie!

Morzine if you have never been before is a great place for skiing learners and intermediate skiers, which combines wide tree lined slopes with great nightlife.It is not Ischgl or St Anton, but it is a great option if would would prefer to avoid the advanced pistes of those Apres Ski focussed Austrian resorts. Although I would not recommend going to Morzine in mid april if you are looking for a mad atmosphere, unless you are with 16 members of the TTITS!

Overall, the Chalet was incredible value. You should be expecting a 2/3 Star Chalet, I would say it was more 3 Star than 2 Star, but the way that you are looked after is better than a 5 star hotel, absolutely the best hospitality that you could get really.

We had a short discussion with Linda at 2 am on saturday night, after a little misunderstanding, but in the morning apologies were exchanged and we were treated as wonderfully as we had come to expect. Just goes to show that even in a crisis it is a good place to be!

Ok so rooms were clean, beds clean, the chalet was spotless. Some rooms better than others in their decor, but most ensuites were well located and functional.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will_30something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at Chalet D'Amo with a group of friends and had an amazing time. Chalet spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm but not as warm as the reception you get from your hosts Nigel and Linda for whom nothing is too much trouble. Chalet situated just outside Morzine but as they are happy to run you in and out of the town you get to enjoy tranquil surroundings with the benefit of not worrying about getting around. We were already planning our next trip before we had even left. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morzine
2.5 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#14 of 19 in Les Gets
74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Aiguille Blanche
2.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 19 in Les Gets
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chalet Le Nantegue
Chalet Le Nantegue
#20 of 49 in Morzine
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Chalet Chanterelle
Le Chalet Chanterelle
#2 of 6 in La Cote-d'Arbroz
33 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chalet Sous le Jora
Chalet Sous le Jora
#1 of 4 in Taninges
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet d'Amo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet d'Amo

Address: 1082 Route de Morzine | La Cote D'Arbroz, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range: £68 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from owners Linda and Nigel at Chalet D'Amo, a large traditional chalet/chambre d'hote set over 3 floors. On the first floor there are three twin ensuite bedrooms and on the top floor a large family/group suite of two adjoining rooms sleeping 4-5 people and separate standard twin room. There is a spacious shower room/wc and separate wc on this floor for these two rooms. The ground floor has a large open plan dining room and cosy TV lounge with comfortable sofa and cheery wood burner. Breakfast is included in our room prices. visit our website for further information and book direct for our best rates and special offers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet d`Amo Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing