We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price. Ski back to hotel entrance.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Our party of 7 stayed 4 nights half board for a ski holiday. It was the cheapest hotel by quite a gap that I could find for the location.
It's location was great - ski rental right next door, 3 minute walk to gondolar or the town centre, and you can ski right to the back door of the hotel. Perfect.
For half board you don't get a choice of food, which we found very refreshing, as it was a surprise and the food was consistently good, with a waitress we had fun with.
Rooms are basic and on the small side but were ensuite with balconies, but this didn't bother us for the other plus points.
Staff were friendly and it was clean.
We would recommend it for a ski trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLawrence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Please note that I did not stay at the hotel, and this review solely reflects our experience at the hotel restaurant.

We had two excellent meals here while on a family ski trip. Although we were unable to get in to many nearby hotel restaurants, which only catered to guests, the hotel graciously accepted us on short notice here. The dining room is sparse but has a nice open kitchen with a good view of the two chefs practicing their craft. Most in our group had moderate French fluency, and the waitress was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful in communicating with us.

The food was well-priced and fantastic. The specials on each night, chicken and roast beef, were both fresh, well prepared, and of good portion sides. Each night, fondue was ordered at the table and it was really quite excellent - one of the best we had during our stay. Everyone enjoyed their salads and appetizers. Additionally, the creme brulee for dessert was pretty unreal.

The menu is a bit limited and not too fancy; that being said if you are interesting in a well-priced, casual, but very solid meal, this place is a good bet. The food and the service is what brought us back for a second visit, and we were not disappointed with out choice to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank gokolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a ski holiday with a group of friends staying at the Hotel Aubergade. We booked it for the half term week. The main reasons for choice were location, price and availability over this week. This hotel is French and unashamedly so. It is run by a French family who all seem to work in the business. The location is excellent, a short distance from ski lifts, next door to ESF, ski in the back door in evening and a short walk to the town centre in Morzine. For the cost, accommodation is adequate with en suite bathrooms, clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast basic but evening food substantial varied and local. Accommodation a little dated but part of the charm. Plumbing could do with some work! Wouldn't want to see this place change greatly and we very much enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3 and 4 have nice balconies overlooking ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDoe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We had a four night stay in the hotel on a half board basis. The rooms were basic but clean, the first night there was not enough hot water for a shower which was annoying for a ski holiday, but a short wait saw the position rectified. The breakfasts were a little too simple, but the dinners were wonderful. Very tasty home cooked food. The location was brilliant - a short walk to the Pleney lift and the more trendy bars in an evening and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

really good location at the bottom of the slopes of Morzine.
It is a very traditional french hotel, I am sure it's family run and great not to be part of a chain. Room was fairly basic but just what you needed, very functional.
We had half board and the evening meal was really good local, freshly produced food. No lengthy choices just proper hearty food - lovely.
Breakie great too all served by the same staff, one lady didn't seem to speak English only French - great time to practice my little french! Really felt we were staying in France rather than being in another very similar chain hotel where you could be anywhere. Would go again all very welcoming, thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redandwhitefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

www.laubergade.net/
Good value hotel if you're considering a trip to Morzine/Avoriaz. Unspectacular rooms/decor - but perfectly clean and acceptable for the price. Great (ski-in) location too at the bottom of the Pleney slopes in Morzine. I would also recommend staying half board as the evening meals were fantastic. We stayed for 5 nights and were served good food and wine every night. Simple but tasty regional dishes and something different each evening.
The hotel is run by a nice couple and has a welcoming family atmosphere. Our only gripe related to the slightly overzealous woman taking care of breakfast and cleaning at the hotel. She gruffly chastised us thoughout the week for such crimes as asking for extra milk or not wiping our ski boots on the way in. A little discourteous considering we were paying customers.
But a minor point. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Melbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainMavericks, Manager at Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#24 of 50 in Morzine
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#42 of 50 in Morzine
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#14 of 50 in Morzine
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade

Address: 567 avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel L'Aubergade)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £65 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Aubergade hotel, at the heart of Morzine, at the bottom of the Pleney slope is the ideal location for your ski and summer holidays. A small family run hotel providing tailored, personal and honest accommodation in an incredible setting. Open for lunch, apres-ski and in the evening, our bar offers a great place to relax between your days activities and to enjoy the sun on our slope side terrace. We stock some great real ales and our cocktails are becoming legendary. Our restaurant is also open all day, with a menu that has been chosen with great care and passion by our chefs. Offering quick and tasty lunches and fine dining in the evenings we also organise regular gastronomic events from hog roasts to traditional savoyard evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing