We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fab fab!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle
Ranked #43 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed 20 April 2010

What a fantastic chalet and very welcoming, accommodating hosts. We were picked up promptly by Jono at the airport and quickly transported to the chalet where cakes and hot drinks awaited us. Doorstep Skis shortly followed kitting out our family (myself, husband and our 3 children (6, 8 and 14).

The food was second to none (the pork was amazing Jill). We did not have a bad meal and all was of a very high standard. Thank you for being so acommodating in feeding our younger 2 earlier and also, on occasions cooking them something different. The wine was very free flowing, definitely no skimpking there!

The location is excellent, a 5 minute drive (if that!) to the bottom of the Pleney in the morning (courtesy of Jono) and then a regular bus service with just a mere 10 min walk (with kids, prob less without!) back to the chalet.

The kids had such a great time, especially our teenage daughter, who came on leaps and bounds with her skiing this year (BASS are well worth it!)

I really, can recommend this chalet (oo, and the hoodies are great too!). The hot tub is in a perfect position and so are the table and chairs on the decking for a late afternoon sit in the sun.

Thanks guys, we had a great time. Lisa, Rob, Alex, Amy and Adam Lawrence x

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaj0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

My husband and I chose The Riders Refuge in Morzine at the last minute as our other travel plans had been cancelled. The reviews below are spot on, which makes a refreshing change. The service we received from Jill when I contacted her about late availablility was excellent. It is very easy to organise all aspects of the trip including transfers, lift passes and ski hire. Jill and Jono do everything for you. Jono normally picks up guests himself but when the flights do not coincide he organises a local company to come and get you. This is a free service and takes all the worry out of the final part of the travel. The flight and the transfers a really short which always helps.
When we arrived at the Chalet we were immediately made to feel welcome and had welcome drinks in our hand within 5 mins!!! Jill gave us our lift passes and Doorstep Ski's came and fitted our ski's. I had stupidly left my boots on the minibus and Jono went and fetched them. Doorstep Ski's then came back and fitted them later. I would highly recommend them and would love that kind of personal service on every ski holiday to never have to go through the process of being fitted in a busy hire shop. They also came and sorted out other equipment during the week within 10mins of contacting them.
The Chalet is fantastic. Home from home with every convenience you need plus lots of extras as other people have mentioned. The food is absolutely fantastic. It is clear Jill has had a good education in home economics! Jill is a wonderful cook serving high quality food and although it is breakfast and dinner, we felt it was full board with afternoon homemade cake, quiche and bread. Breakfast was typical with croissants and bread, but here is a hot option and Jill makes a fantastic omelette. However I think our favourite was eggy french stick!!! Dinner is a 3 course meal including meals such as slow roasted pork in dijon sauce, beef borguignon, panfried duck, tuna steak with noodles and roast lamb. I would highly recommend the banofee pie dessert!!! We had a family staying with us in the Chalet and Jill accomodated the needs of the younger children making spagetti and pizza. The wine flows all night as long as you can keep your eyes open. Jill and Jono are an excellent team and great company.
The chalet is kept very clean and tidy and the addition of the hot tub is a welcome treat after a day on the slopes. Jono in the morning takes you to whatever lifts you want to go to which makes things much easier. The chalet is up towards the Nyon lift which gives it easy access to the morzine slopes. The town itself is a 10 min walk down hill and well worth lots of visits and although the walk back up makes the lactic acid flow it isn't far. The benefit of the location is the peace and tranquility, with beautiful views and woodland around you.
The Portes du Soleil area is amazing with so much variety and amount in the ski terrain.
We have never stayed in a Chalet before and I hope that any future experiences are this good. However, i suspect that we may have been spoiled particularly at these bargain rates. We will be back to the Portes du Soleil and wouldn't deam of staying anyway else. I hope more people choose this chalet and have the same experience that we do. Jill and Jono are excellent hosts with a great attitude to life. They have built their business around what they would like on a ski holiday and with a decade of experience they have had plenty of time to refine this. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Had a great week in mid-March with Jill & Jono - writing this at the end of the month wishing I was still in Morzine.

The potted summary - What you get from this place per £ in terms of quality, comfort, food and service is great, especially if you compare it to the big operators. I won't comment much on the Morzine/Portes du Soleil ski area here, save to say that it's a place I'd happily ski again, and that the Nyon bit of Morzine's home slopes (closest to the chalet) is waaay nicer than Pleney. See the end of the review on this.

The room first - we booked late so had the downstairs bedroom. As this is a good modern chalet the walls are fairly thick so no problem with noise from the kichen and dining room, no direct access to a balcony like the other rooms, but there's a big terrace with chairs that easily made up for that. Comfy beds that can be set up as double and twin and a heap of big cushions if you need to escape the TV or bustle in the front room to read a book, which is a nice touch.

The chalet - Modern wood construction in a traditional style, big dining area with nice views from most sides, big balcony going all the way round, slightly small sitting area for the size of the chalet, but not a problem as the dining area was always free due to the big kitchen, so plenty of room to chill out. Ski and (warmed) boot room small but functional and well secured, plenty of benches about outside for the morning wrestle with boots. Didn't use the hot tob but it got glowing reports from those that did - nice view from it.

The food? So good I came back 4lbs heavier than I went out, despite skiing as much as I possibly could. That's 1lb heaver than any other trip to date and as good an endorsement of the quality (and quantity) of the food as I can think of. The Mojito Sorbet was a particular highlight. Not that it's unhealthy stuff at all, it's all just what you need when you're out in the mountains - variety, good quality, plenty of carbs, the odd tartiflette and some great sauces - it's just that J&J aren't stingy about offering seconds and it's so tasty it seems a shame not to. The chalet wine is at the better end of the spectrum as well.

The hosts - great. Always helpful and chatty but never in your face - happy to let you chill out and enjoy the holiday if tht's what you want to do. Jono also does a pretty good job of a ski service as well. A group of people we were sharing the chalet with had come back for the second year running and I can see why they get repeat custom.

I've put the location down as 4 which is sort of misleading as in the context of Morzine it's probaly a 5. It's out of central Morzine and not far from the Nyon lift which means peace and quiet, beautiful views, a bit of wildlife around, a short hop in the morning to get into the Les Gets sector bypassing the ski schools entirely and great evening sun. The downside is that you are reliant on the public navette (free shuttle bus) to get back in the evening. The stop is only 150m away, but at the end of a long day the wait for the bus in town, in ski boots etc can be a drag. In Morzine though, almost everywhere is similarly reliant on the bus and not always in such a pretty location, hence a 4 score actually seems a bit harsh. In the morning though there's no trouble at all as Jono drops the guests off at whichever lift base they want to start from.

Finally, just on the subject of the slopes and the transport - the nearest lift is the Nyon. This is 1 navette stop from the chalet and the nicest way in and out of the Morzine/Les Gets sector by far. Going out you miss the bulk of the ski schools and coming back you can ski or cablecar down-lift to within 5m of the navette stop, which is usually quiet. The slopes are nicer, prettier and quiter than Pleney's too.
Getting up to Avoriaz is a doddle, usually used the Super Morzine lift as it's got a couple of nice bars at the top. On the way back from the Super Morzine though, rather than getting on the little train link to the Main Navette stop at Pleney it's easier, nicer and way less of a scrum to simply walk to the main square and get the bus from opposite the tourist info office.

Yep, it was a good trip and yep, I'd go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Jill and Jono are the perfect hosts for catered chalets. They know there business extremely well and nothing is to much trouble. The chalet itself is beautifully finished in the traditional style and the rooms are more than ample size with most of them having en-suites. The food provided is varied each night and of a very high standard. Add in the hot tub and the in-house entertainment and you have the perfect location. This is all before you even get up the mountain with Jono dropping you off in the morning and picking you up each evening. You could not fault them on anything and I would certainly encourage everyone to check it out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I travelled as part of a group of 11 fellas and from the moment Jono picked us up from the airport we all had a great time. The location of the chalet allowed easy access to the various local lifts. The rooms were all spacious, clean and very comfortable - and the amenities in the chalet were excellent. Jill's menus were varied each night and everyone looked forward to getting home in the evenings to experience what was on offer. Jono and Jill both played a major part in providing a memorable trip for us all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarleyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Chalet Eterle was an ideal base for our group of 9. The bedrooms were all beautifully clean and spacious and the numerous bathrooms meant there was little squabbling about who showered when. The hot tub is a welcome addition at the end of the day and proved massively popular with certain members of our group!

Jill's cooking is absolutely first class and the roast lamb we had on the Saturday night was a particular favourite. We did have a vegetarian in our group who was excellently catered for. Although the chalet is a little way out of the main town, Jono is more than happy to ferry people to the ski lifts in the morning and pick them up at the end of the day. I do not think that any of us would hesitate in recommending Riders Refuge as a fantastic option when on a group ski holiday. Many thanks to both Jono and Jill for a great week in Morzine!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank mitk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Following a Summer holiday in Morzine two years ago I returned to the Portes du Soleil, this time in the Winter, to stay at Chalet Eterle.

I was totally blown away by the chalet its newly built but still retains all the charm and character of an alpine chalet. The en-suite bathrooms are really well finished and our room balcony offered really great views across the valley only matched by the views from the hot tub!

The living area really comes to life in the evening when the log fire is lit and dinner is served around the large dining table. The food served was exceptional and included local specialities such as Tartiflette.

Can't forget to mention our hosts Jill and Jonno. They made us feel really welcome and helped with everything from delivering our lift passes to recommending great piste routes to explore the whole of the Portes Du Soleil.

We had an amazing time in Morzine with Riders Refuge......already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riders Refuge Chalet Eterle

Address: 525 Chalet Eterle | Route de la Mernaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Riders Refuge's Morzine catered chalet you are perfectly placed for an invigorating dynamic ski, snowboard or Mountain bike holiday. Riders Refuge is based in the French Town of Morzine located in the heart of the Portes du Soleil ski area close to the Swiss border. Our Morzine chalet is just over an hour away from Geneva airport enabling you to make the most of your time on the hill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing