We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday in Morzine / Avoriaz”
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilly Powder
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Chilly Powder was a fantastic experience. Perfectly setup for families - our 14 month old daughter had a brilliant time there. Having a creche on-site does really make a world of difference. The team of Paul, Francesca and Nick go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Francesca's love of food and wine definitely shows thru in the outstanding cuisine - the dinners each night were absolutely top notch and the selection of red wines were outstanding. They definitely work hard to make guests feel as if they are part of their friends and family. Whether its recommendations of things to do in Morzine to the right snowboard / ski school to the right place to rent equipment, they really go above and beyond to make sure you are all set. I must also give a special mention to Richie, the barman, as he was fantastic. He was incredibly friendly, super attentive and always made sure people were well served. Even when other staff may have been busy, he would always be willing to help out in any way he could (even if it had nothing to do with his role).

The location couldn't be more convenient. The lifts are literally across the street for Avoriaz and you can snowboard or ski all the way down to the back door of the chalet. You also have the option of catching the bus across the street and taking the short journey to Morzine to snowboard/ski there or just walk around the town.

The communal dining for breakfast and dinner is really nice as you do get to meet some interesting people during your stay and generally everyone is really friendly. Its also a nice touch that they have with their phone system which can work as a baby monitor so you can enjoy your dinner while being able to make sure your little one is sleeping soundly.

For Christmas, I thought it was a nice touch that they organised to have Santa at the chalet to hand out presents to all of the children. Its little things like that which make a huge difference.

We had a great time and we will definitely be back. That is the one brilliant thing we noticed during our stay is how many of the families were repeat customers. That definitely tells you that Paul, Francesca, Nick and the rest of the team have got the right recipe to ensure you have a great holiday.

Room Tip: Check out their website when you book as all of the rooms are outlined in detail (with floorplans).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so glad you had such a good holiday with us. I am glad you enjoyed Father Christmas - His first time as father Christmas and even his kids didn't recognize him! Take care and see you in Morzine again

Best wishes

Francesca and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

What an amazing place! With three children, including a one year old, we didn't think skiing would be possible for a few years. Then we found Chilly Powder. Wonderful chalet. Fantastic chalet team. We were promised the best ESF instructors for our children (a beginner and a 5 week+ skier) and they really were fab.Skiing a red with our 5 year old on the last day was such a highlight! The crèche is great and I felt really relaxed that our little one was in good hands. Super company in the evenings and friendly, hospitable team. All in all it couldn't have been better. We've already booked again for next year. The Sherry Family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyAug73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and I am so glad you had such a good break with all of the children. Hopefully see you next year.

With best wishes

Francesca, Paul and the Chilly Powder team
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Been coming here for 10 years.
In a nutshell the formula works.
Lift 2 mins walk away. Ski to back door of chalet. Food - excellent. Staying at Au Coin du Feu is like staying at a friend's house. Interesting people to meet.Efficient ans friendly staff.
All round first class and great value.
Simon - Farnham

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us again Simon - Does that mean we are now all 10 years older! That's the down side of having guests coming back they can see all my wrinkles appearing! It was lovely seeing you again and seeing Robyn after all this time. Take care and keep in touch.

Best wishes

Francesca and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We enjoyed a superb week at Chilly Powder and will certainly return as soon as this can be arranged. The staff were all so friendly and helpful that we immediately felt at home. Nick, in particular, really put himself out to ensure our comfort. The food at the communal breakfasts was excellent and guests socialised together, conversing in a mixture of languages.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed as a group of 6 mountain bikers in July 2012. The chalet was beautiful and would have been very comfortable with twice as many people. The downstairs boiler room was brilliant as we were unlucky enough to ride in the rain a few times but all of our kit was dry by the following day and it provided a secure area for the bikes. Open plan lounge/dining room and kitchen were huge and really gave plenty of opportunity for relaxation. Excellent wifi internet throughout the chalet. The hot tub got used everyday and was big enough to get everybody in- there is also a sauna on the ground floor. All of the rooms have ensuites.
The chalet is very close to the cable car up to Avoriaz but this was closed during our stay because of damage from building a new one. Morzine is a drive down the mountain- less than 10 minutes to the centre.
Only one problem when we were there- the burglar alarm went off a few times during the first night but this was fixed the following day and a bottle of champagne brought round for the inconvenience- a lovely touch.
In summary I would thoroughly recommend this as a base for a mountain bike/ walking holiday. Owners are friendly, chalet is huge and in a beautiful very quiet location

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstermite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review about your holiday in Plan de Rocher. I am so glad that you had such a lovely break with us. See you again soon hopefully
Francesca and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights with a great value Groupon deal. The location is stunning, however when visiting in the summer season Morzine can be a little quite but charming non the less. The room was really cosy and comforting with a balcony offering stunning views over the mountains and the couples array of horses,geese and chickens! All the staff at the hotel were very welcoming and friendly offering comprehensive advice and tips regarding the surrounding area. Breakfast is served around a communal table which at first was a bit awkward to get used to but offers a great opportunity to get talking to people and share experiences. Breakfast was also lovely, with a good selection of freshly baked baguettes, croissants, pancakes and a hot option which altered every day. We didn't eat evening meals at the hotel as we wanted to explore the area but the menu sounded great. Restaurants in Morzine are very well priced offering great food and wine. Overall this is a beautiful place and the owners have something very special to be proud of.

Room Tip: Try get a room facing the front of the hotel, which offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenj224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

With a description of being by the ski lift, first impressions were that this could be a noisy place. How wrong can you be? Chilly Powder is a warm, friendly and very welcoming Chalet that for us was a haven of tranquility. From the moment we arrived when we were greeted at the door by Nick, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Having been given the "Wedding Room" with jacuzzi bath and wonderful bath robes, shown the sauna (which we didn't try), the hot tub (again not used) in the delightful garden, the whole environment is best described as luxurious. Although booked in for B&B we saw the evening menu and readily booked in for dinner. We were not disappointed with the set meal which was excellent and the BBQ the following evening was equally good. Breakfast was a veritable feast (making lunch optional) and after stays in hotels enroute to Morzine that had no facilities for tea-making, we really appreciated tea being "on tap" in the lounge area and the cakes which appeared at tea-time (the chocolate brownies were sublime). ... The whole environment was conducive to striking up conversation with our fellow guests and feeling at ease as we shared, our day's experiences, over the meal table, in the bar, garden or lounge. .... oh and incidentally, the location of Chilly Powder is wonderful - ideal for all sorts of summer walking / hiking / cycling activities or just chilling out and enjoying the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffy149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
1.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Address: 2740 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range: £206 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilly Powder 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 3 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house childcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing