We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine heaven”
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chilly Powder
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alpine heaven”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I thought I'd wait a few days after returning from our family holiday in Morzine before writing this review - I didn't want to commit to print whilst still basking in post-holiday bliss.

Ten days on and, if anything, my feelings for this place have only intensified. Imagine your best friends are lucky enough to own a fantastic house in one of the Haute-Savoie's most picturesque towns. They kindly invite you to stay with them for a few days in mid-summer. They cook you great food and serve you wine that tastes like it should be £30 a bottle in Waitrose. You enjoy warm evening chats whilst your children play with their friends in a wondrous garden, and you sample a life-affirming conviviality that very few are lucky enough to experience. Imagine all of that and you've got just a taste of what it's like to holiday at Chilly Powder.

The staff are simply wonderful. Ritchie in the bar, Nick on the front desk and Seb and Carrie at meal times. There's a genuine warmth, a sincerity that characterises everything they do for you. Whether it's Ritchie unloading your car on arrival and taking your bags up to your room, Carrie or Seb taking time to give you recommendations for your days out, or Nick booking your excursions. Each must have done these things a thousand times over yet it feels like you're the first to experience their attentiveness. I travel a lot with my work and I've stayed in many places, good and bad, but the staff at Chilly Powder have no betters. I mean none.

Francesca and Paul, the owners, are open and approachable and take time out to mix with their guests, Francesca regularly joining residents for dinner, their own kids playing with the holidaying children in the garden. As I say, this is more like a break at your mates' than a stay in a hotel. (And if Elouise doesn't end up playing football for England then I'm a monkey's uncle.) And If there are any Hollywood producers out there, Francesca's life story is a nailed-on, Oscar-winning screenplay just waiting to be written.

Morzine itself is delightful in the summer. Plenty going on without the town feeling like it is overrun. There's a breath-taking vista around every corner and you'd need a month there to get through half of everything there is to do. Just speak to Ritchie/Nick/Seb/Carrie and they'll ensure your days are filled with holiday memories that will last a lifetime.

We have a daughter in Australia and plan to go there next summer, but from 2015 until I'm no longer fit enough to climb the steps to an easyJet plane, I don't see me spending my summers anywhere other than Chilly Powder. For a family holiday, it has no equal.

Book now, or at least add it to your bucket-list. The only possible way you won't enjoy your visit is if you're already dead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are so glad you had such a good stay with us and thank you for writing such an amazing review- We love our chalet and it is always so lovely when everyone enjoys their time here as much as we all do. So a million thanks for making the time to tell everyone about Chilly Powder and we really look forward to seeing you again in 2015 for more tales and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
169
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent a week at Chilly Powder in July, staying in the Chalet le Plan de Rochers. This chalet was perfect for a large family group and the rooms were very comfortable. The owners and staff of Chilly Powder have created a lovely relaxed and informal atmosphere, which along with the two playrooms and large garden makes it perfect for kids. A special thanks to Nick and Richie who looked after us during our stay.

The area is beautiful in the summer and offers a wide variety of activities for adults and children - the ages of our party ranged from 5 to 70+ and everyone found plenty of things to do. Chilly Powder organised our Multipasses, and these were superb value, giving unlimited use of local buses, swimming pools, cable cars, etc.

Favourite activities for the kids were the luge in Morzine and the fantastic water park in Avoriaz. Favourite activities for the adults (booked for us by Chilly Powder) were the white water rafting and the Fantasticable (a zip wire through the mountains).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about Le Plan de Rochers and Chilly Powder. Maybe we will get to see you this winter but hopefully we will see you all very soon again.
Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After staying at Chilly Powder’s Chalet Hotel Au Coin this winter (which I would highly recommend!) I came back for a family holiday at the end of July & stayed at the Chalet Le Plan des Rochers. The chalet is spacious, well equipped and very cosy, set in beautiful surroundings. After the winter, it was fantastic to see everything transformed this summer. We were amazed at the activities on offer in and around Morzine – there’s so much to do and lots of activities were free using the ‘multipass pass’ which is fantastic value. The children loved it and also loved popping along to the Chilly Powder garden.

Chilly Powder provide a relaxed and friendly environment. Thanks to Francesca, Paul & Nick who made us all very welcome. Would also highly recommend barman Richie’s cocktails!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie6272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about Le Plan de Rochers and Chilly Powder. Maybe we will get to see you again this winter on the slopes but hopefully we will see you all very soon. Ritchie is a cocktail demon since his training with Bacardi!
Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We absolutely loved this place- the staff are wonderful and the owners have done everything possible to ensure your family will have a great holiday and that it will be as easy and relaxing for the parents as it can be. Morzine has masses to do, and I can't think of a better place for a family summer holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londoneater68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder. The kids have such fun here and it is great to see them making full use of the garden and the hot tub, they do all love it so much. Hopefully we will see you again soon

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Third vist, third review - something must be very right with Chilly Powder!

We visited in the summer for the first time after two New Year ski holidays. Biggest mistake: we only booked for one week (as we weren't sure what it was going to be like in the summer) - we needed at least two weeks to enjoy everything we wanted to take part in.

The weather worked well, the location was as stunning sans-snow as it is in the winter, and the staff at Chilly Powder worked as hard as ever to ensure that we all had a great time.

Lots of children around for our 10yr old son to have lots of mates to play badminton, cricket and generally spend time with. Really good food and Paul & Richie pulled out the stops on the wine for dinner every night.

Top tips:
1. use Nick to help sort out bookings - great set of companies for white water rafting, canyoning, etc.
2. if the weather not to your liking in Morzine, try Evians-les-bains on the other side of the mountains - seems to be sunny there if grey in Morzine. Great lido!

Room Tip: The bar is always a good room for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulNotts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder. Paul, it was great to share the summer with you and not only the winter. The Alps are such a brilliant place! See you this winter and in the meantime have a great autumn - Love to you all.

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just returned from Morzine and our holiday was even better than before. All the staff were so lovely and couldn't do enough to ensure everyone had a good time. My suitcase was badly damaged during our flight and the hotel manager spent a great deal of time and effort contacting the airline's representatives in an attempt to bring the trauma to a satisfactory conclusion. Baggage problems apart, we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, comfortable room and superb food. Thanks and best wishes to all involved.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent, but individually designed, so meet different requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder. I am so glad that you had such a lovely break with us. Thank goodness for Nick and his patience in solving suitcase problems! He is a star.

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Absolutely lovely holiday, my family and I really enjoyed our time in Avoriaz staying at Chilly Powder. This team are focussed on making sure you want to come back again and again. The food was excellent, the communal areas are really well done, and the kids loved the hot tub out the back, where there was a regular posse of twenty 5-9 year old children "relaxing" after skiing. Although it does cost a lot, circa £6k all in for a family of 5, at least its amazing and expensive rather than just expensive.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder, I am so sorry it has taken so long to send a management response to thank you for writing a review about us. It is scary that the summer has already flown by and there is only just over 100 days until the winter season starts again. We are so glad you had such a good stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Chilly Powder

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#8 of 50 in Morzine
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Property: Chilly Powder
Address: 2740 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilly Powder 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 3 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house childcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing