We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were pleasant and flexible all weekend”
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilly Powder
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been visiting Morzine for nearly 30 years and this is up there at the top in terms of experience.
There were 3 couples and while this is very much a family chalet the way it is run means there is no problem between adults only and families (no kids at dinner).
Rooms were a little tight but comfy beds, very clean, good food and friendly helpful staff.
Prodain base is great for quick morning access to Avoriaz and ski back. Use the bus right outside the door for Apres or skiing in Morzine - no problem (Avoriaz still lacking on the Apres front!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a three day long weekend - for snowboarding in Avoriaz.

My checkin was swift and staff were very helpful showing me around. I arrived just in time to join the others for dinner, once again staff made me feel very very welcome. Food was of good quality and variety over the evenings. Wine is of a ok standard, and the barman is always close by topping it up for you.

I stayed in the Oriental room, the room was comfortable with everything you might need although the toiletries are only there day one (no tops ups); which was kind of a surprise considering the price.

The chalet is mainly focused on customers that are family with children, so if you are travelling alone and/or no children this is probably not the place for you. Also if you snowboard, they had an excellent session on tips for skiiers, but nothing for snowboarders.

They do have an adult only lounge area - which is set out lovely with big comfy leather couches. It is a nice area, but very noisy if kids are downstairs.

If you do stay, and do not have children - avoid breakfast time because you will not be able to locate a clean seat, then when you do get there at around 8.30 you will struggle to find utensils, coffee or much left of anything.

Location is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice welcome and treated like a family, great staff who knows you by name, very relaxed atmosphere. Great skiing, lots of runs, not to busy which helps when skiing with young children. Will look at coming back in the future! Thank you

Room Tip: look at the room size and layout on the chalet website to get the idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a fantastic week at Chilly Powder. Staying in their three bedroom chalet next to the main hotel.
8 month old niece and two year old nephew were very well looked after in the creche, while the big kids skied.
Easy access to the lifts to maximise ski time, sleds for the kids in the back yard and a great hot tub to ease the aches and pains from the day.
Food at dinner was excellent - thanks Curtis!
Chat, hospitality and breakfasts kept everyone happy - thanks Quill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

There is so much to say so i will just jump in. From the moment we arrived until the early morning check out the service, facilities and most importantly the people involved with the chalet are just amazing. the parents are pampered with five star service but not in a pretentious way more like part of the family. I cant describe it really but with other companies the kids are taken to lessons etc etc but you feel its like clock work with less of a human touch, interaction and care. If you do not have kids you dont feel that more than 14 children are residing with you in the same place. and if you have kids you will enjoy the skiing and not feel guilty for leaving them behind. most of the previous comments talked about daily routine and fun so i wont go into it i just want to thank the team running the place Paul & Francesca for having such a place and for still being involved. Nick thank you for you care and sorting every request and Ben for helping along. Richi not just for the drinks but for telling us about the ins and outs of the villages and ski runs. the ladies at the crech for caring and running a tight ship especially Laura for taking care of our little monster Bader! rooms 10-10 service 10-10 the only issue which many commented on in previous reviews was the food but this is mainly due to the legacy Francesca left when she was doing the cooking! looking forward to going back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJunkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you re looking for ski holiday with the below requirements, then don't hesitate to go with Chilly Powder! We just spent the best ski holiday ever in Chalet des Amis with our friends, and already booked next year!
1) your kids are taken care of (either in the ski school or in the own creche of Chilly powder)
2) you are served a 5 meal course dinner every night in your own chalet (meaning your kids are sleeping upstairs and you don't have to go out just enjoy your meal)
3) your breakfast is also served in your own chalet
4) you can jump into your own hot tub whenever you want
5) the ski cabin lift is just a 5 mins walk from your house
6) you will have the nicest and most flexible staff ever helping you out with whatever request you have

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viktoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Loved staying with Chilly Powder. All the staff were friendly, kind and incredibly professional.
The food in the evening was delicious and breakfasts were ideal. We stayed in Plans des Rochers, a perfect chalet for our family of 11 - bathrooms, beds, living area all spotless and very comfortable. Our host, Callum, couldn't have been better. Sophie's treatments were wonderful. Francesca and Paul worked incredibly hard all week - it was busy and there were one or two technical problems in the chalet - but they sorted these out as soon as they could. And they were very generous in giving us a couple of bottles of champagne which was unnecessary but hugely appreciated.
Skiiing was great, children loved the small ski school classes and learnt a great deal, mostly about going off piste and getting air.
Thanks to Chilly Powder for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Address: 2740 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range: £188 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilly Powder 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 3 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house childcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing