We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!”

Flowmtb, Mountain Bike Chalet
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flowmtb, Mountain Bike Chalet
Ranked #39 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We drove as a group from the UK and booked shared rooms. We ride XC on 5 inch travel bikes but only really ride routes which point downward when we are in Morzine. This was our second visit to Flowmtb and we are already planning next year's trip which probably tells you all you need to know.

The bikes are stored securely in an attached garage and is fully tooled up with everything you are likely to need.
The rooms are nice and clean, well kept and comfortable.
The food ranges from good to excellent.
Free wine with evening meal and an honesty bar for beer at 1 euro a bottle to settle at the end of the week. A nice touch is a beer fridge in the garage for when you return from a hard days riding.

Our lift passes were waiting for us so on the first morning so we could get off straight away.
On both our visits the guests have been a fair mixture of younger and older riders and everybody got on well.

Both lifts out of Morzine are within a stones throw and connect to all the trails in the region. You can read about the trails elsewhere but we found them amazing.

To be honest I can't really fault the place in any way.
I would fully recommend staying at flowmtb no matter what kind of riding you prefer.
Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtb-food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Been there for a few years now and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else in morzine, the friendly service you get is worth the money alone let alone the food and advice on where to go riding and drinking, also done the megavalanche with flow and guys advice was more than helpful.... I WILL BE BACK again

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stonehavenleesummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Looking at the last comment, I agree the rooms were a bit small but in the chalet we had (chalet Simon) all the bike stuff was stored downstairs so it wasn't a problem.

The food was a deciding factor in going with Flow, the web site info was sooo tempting. Whilst I didn't think the menu served was quite up to the web site, the food was delicious, well cooked, with a varied menu. I wouldn't complain about it by any means, but it wasn't quite as advertised.

But the reason for going, the biking, was outstanding. We were a bit daunted being the only x country riders in the chalet, and with our 50th birthdays coming next year, we were a bit apprehensive faced with all the downhillers and the body armour but no worries. Our chalet hosts Sian and Carl really looked after us. Sian has an encyclopedic brain, took in the type of riding we did, our bikes, and over the course of the wek, introduced us to new trails, pushed our skills, sussed what we didnt like and tweaked the routes accordingly - the woman is AMAZING!!!! We loved every single second of the biking and I for one, did some stuff I wouldn't have dreamt about the week before.

My only complaint, it was unclear from the correspondence we had, where we were actually staying. I'd emailed asking for directions to the chalet but had no reply so went with the info off the website and ended up at the wrong place with no idea where we were meant to go. All the Flow guys were out riding so it was a bit awkward sussing where we should be, and when we finally arrived, there was no one to greet us so the other chalet guests looked after us. That might sound a bit wingey, but after having driven across from the UK and arriving at bang on the time we said we would, and a little travel weary, it was a bit annoying and I wasn't convincved the holiday was going to go smoothly - lucklily, from there, everything else was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrolls523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowmtb, Owner at Flowmtb, Mountain Bike Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Hi,
Great to hear that you loved the riding and had a good stay.

I am very sorry about your arrival. We always email directions to guests that are driving out about a week before the stay along with a request for a text or call when you are a couple of hours away so we can be sure to be in. I am not sure what has happened here and why you did not receive the mail or a reply to yours. I am really sorry about this as that is not the kind of welcome we like to offer.

Please feel free to get in touch with me (Sara) direct by mail or phone and I'll try to find out what went wrong here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

While we had a great time at the chalet due to the company of our fellow guests, we were disappointed with a lot of elements. Rooms were really quite small (based on the amount of kit you will have if you're biking - what you see in the photo was all the space we had) and, having asked for a double, we ended up with 2 single beds we had to push together.

The food was the biggest disappointment. The concept of everyone sitting round the same table was great and we got to know everyone quickly, but the food was nothing like it was advertised to be. The cooked option for breakfast was meagre (at least for hungry cyclists), one boiled egg one morning, HALF a slice of French toast another. The most popular cereal (a lovely hearty muesli) ran out a couple of days in so we ended up with bland stuff from a paper bag that resembled rabbit food. Dinner was mediocre - the sample menus on the website got us really excited (and were a big factor in our choice of company) but the reality was often poorly cooked standard fare: lasagne, steak pie, fish pie...

The service was less than expected - Steve was very helpful to suggest some good trails but he was so busy we felt we were slowing him down. Sara and Guy were rarely seen, didn't introduce themselves and provided no biking advice whatsoever.

On a positive note, the bike wash area, storage area and tools were a useful addition and necessary after a full day on the hill.

All in all not quite the chalet experience we were expecting or have had elsewhere and we sadly wouldn't be likely to recommend Flowmtb to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the chalet away from the road - it's steep and lorries get loud as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Si_and_Linds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowmtb, Owner at Flowmtb, Mountain Bike Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

We are saddened to read this review and sorry to hear that your holiday was not as it should have been.

It is true the rooms are not enormous; however that is why there are both shelves and hooks in the garage for biking kit, plus shoe racks and a kit room downstairs. We do ask guests to keep biking kit out of bedrooms to both leave more space and limit the mud spreading upstairs! We have also created more space in the rooms by making the TVs flat screen wall mounted ones with integrated DVD players. All our rooms have twin beds, however they are joinable to make doubles. If you had requested this that should have been done, I am sorry it had not, if you had mentioned this to us we could have done this for you, and made it up as a double.

I am sorry you didn’t feel the breakfasts were adequate: boiled egg is an option one day, but there should also be bacon and egg, sausage and scrambled egg, pancakes etc on different days, as well as the fresh bread, croissants, cereals, fruit and yoghurts every day. It should not also have been only half a slice of French toast one day. The muesli was the same throughout, it is an organic muesli (that does come in a paper sack) that we source from a local organic supplier. And it has been a firm favourite of our guests for years! Unfortunately one bag must have been sub standard. If you had said at the time we would have replaced it – again apologies for this, we were unaware. I am sorry you did not like the dinners, to us food is a very important part of your stay, and there is normally a mix of hearty biker fare (which usually proves very popular) such as steak pie and currys, along with ‘fancier’ dishes such as salmon or duck. Obviously it was not up to the usual standard that week as thankfully guests since have been in touch to say it was great. Again, for this we are very sorry.

And the same for the service – I am sorry you should not have felt like that. The route advice and marked maps we offer is very important to us, and a reason we have so many repeat guests. We (Sara and Guy) did come over to the chalet a number of times during the week you were staying and stayed a while chatting to guests. We normally eat over at least once a week, but were not able to that week due to the sheer numbers with both the larger rooms being at capacity. We always offer route advice when asked (that and dinners/time at the chalet are the most enjoyable parts of doing what we do!), I am sorry you did not feel it was offered.

It was the first big week of the season and obviously ourselves and our team did not offer the service we should have. We were acutely aware at the time of being stretched further than we should, and have been working to improve this. Thankfully I feel your issues on food and service have been repaired for subsequent guests, but we are also be downsizing back from the 4 chalets we ran on the week you were out to allow us to concentrate better on fewer places.

I am truly sorry you have had this experience, it is the first bad review we have received and has really hit home. We are taking into account all your points to make sure no one else has the same experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Highly recommend these guys, great local knowledge, very friendly, food was restaurant quality (thanks Jess), facilities were excellent with storage and bike wash, and location was prime. 5 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DudeFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We enjoyed our 1 week stay in Morzine, our first time doing a biking trip of this sort. Sara can sort out the transfers, lift passes and you can also use their bike shop for rentals if you need. As a beginner, we would have preferred a bit more guidance on the bike selection, but for those hard core riders you should have no dramas. Found Phil excellent with his tips on where to ride. Jess, always with a smile and cooking up hearty meals!! The afternoon treats were also something to look forward to after a hard day of riding.

We stayed in La Musardiere and although the rooms were basic, it was sufficient for our needs. Walls between rooms are quite thin, so it could lead to some embarrassing moments if you don't respect your neighbouring guests...

There are loads of trails you can try even as beginners. And for those that want to take a break from the riding, there are also heaps of other activities to try like rafting, hydrospeeding, hiking and paragliding!! We absolutely recommend paragliding as they take you the top of the mountain and you glide with the best view of Morzine/Avoriatz.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_t0_h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

First time in Morzine and used Flow's self catering chalet but organised Half Board with them. Sarah, Guy and the staff were superb from start to finish. Sorted transfers, lift passes, MTB Bike set up after unpacking, guides and general riding and travel advice.
The Chalet is superbly located at the top of the town and a 5 minute ride from PLeney or SuperMorzine lifts. Rooms were bunk bed style which was all we wanted, Chalet was great with all the facilities and well decorated and food was really excellent. Above all they managed to create a really relaxed atmosphere but still provided a professional and was really good value. I wouldn't hesitate to stay with FLOWMTB again. My only niggle was that my nephew hired a SUMMUM from them, and on my 6" travel bike down the PLENEY I just couldn't keep up.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#34 of 50 in Morzine
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flowmtb, Mountain Bike Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flowmtb, Mountain Bike Chalet

Address: Chalet la Musardiere | Taille de mas des Frenes, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range: £89 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Biker run mountain bike chalet. Sara and Guy the owners are on hand to help with all your questions. You'll be well fed and looked after, and given lots of great trails to ride. Bedrooms are en-suite with TVs and kettles. There's plenty of space indoors and out to relax in. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing