We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chalet in Morzine”
Review of Chalet Eira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Eira
Ranked #12 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Chalet in Morzine”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed at Chalet Eira january 2011 for 3 nights with some friends. The Chalet itself was very clean and tidy. It is situated about 10 minute walk from the main town area of Morzine, it is a 2 minute walk to the ski bus stop which is takes you direct to the various ski lifts in resort.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating. The food was fantastic and definately better than your usual chalet food. The chef was outstanding and provided a varied menu and catered for all tastes.
The bedrooms were fairly large and tastefully decorated.
The top level of the Chalet contains lots of comfy sofa's, the bar area and games area. It was the perfect place to relax.
I would happily go back to Chalet Eira and definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHDarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
conwy
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My friends and I have stayed in a number of chalets in Morzine and chalet Eira is comfortably the best. The chalet itself is in a good spot just on the edge of town it is well looked after with nice size clean rooms that cater for most size groups.
Thanks to Ken the chef the food was outstanding it was well thought out with delicate flavours and always well presented , we looked forward to the evening meal every night which was accompanied by wine and a local cheese board to follow. There is a lounge area upstairs with Sky tv,comfy sofas ,free pool and a bar which just made it the perfect place to relax after a hard days skiing.(You must try the Guiness!) Hot drinks are available at any time and every day when we came in from skiing there was a fresh cake or snack waiting for us.
The Chalet is a five minute walk from the town centre which is pretty with plenty of shops resturants and bars. There is no ski in ski out but the bus stop is just opposite and we didnt wait more than five minutes and they take you to all the lift stations .
Absolutely massive ski area which caters for most levels we managed to have some serious fun on and off piste from Avoriaz to Les Gets and even into Switzerland.Well catered for on the slopes but can be expensive unless you check prices.
A group of us have been coming to Morzine for a number of years and as a combination of this resort and this Chalet you will not go wrong .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nipplegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I booked this holiday at the last minute and telephoned Emma as i needed some extras. our group consisted of my husband and myself, and two of our children aged 26 and 15. I booked an early flight out of heathrow to geneva and a late flight back as we could only manage 3 nights away. We were able to check into our rooms early and and kept two of the rooms until 5pm on the last day. We hired our skis etc from chalet eira and swapped snow board for skis after two days. We were only charged for three days even though we had them for almost four days. I felt cold on the first night, so was given an extra duvet. Breakfast was from 8 to 9.30 which suited us very well. tea, coffee hot chocolate was available all day, free of charge.

they have a great lounge on the second floor with small bar and pool table. they put a gate across the stairs to stop toddlers from falling down.

the ski bus stop is just across the road, and it runs very regularly. got on the wrong bus and ended up at avoriaz by mistake but had a great day's skiing there instead. ski ed over to les gets, fantastic, my kids did the black runs and my husband and i stuck to blues!

its easy to walk into town and many restaurants, cafes available.

used skiddygonzales for transport, nearly missed our flight back because the traffic was bad but when i called them in a panic they sent a special bus to collect us.

would definitely go back to morzine and chalet eira.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thel0nd0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed at Chalet Eira in Morzine for a 30th birthday celebration last year and was very pleased with the chalet and staff, they were very accommodating of our large group of 15 people. They let us play DVDs in the lounge, choose music, pick up and drop off to the ski lifts and even made a birthday cake for the party. Rooms were spacious and nicely presented. The location is ok for town but hotel is quite a way from Avoriaz where we had booked lessons and ski passes through Alpine Tracks (about 45mins)

This is where the problems started, not with the distance, but because Alpine Tracks had purchased on our behalf lift passes and booked our ski lessons. They issued us with our lift passes at the hotel when we got there but when we travelled to Avoriaz to go to our lesson the passes were incorrect. We rung the chalet who said that as long as we didn't use the passes we should buy the correct ones and they would refund the old ones, accepting they should have matched the passes up with the lessons.

After finishing the holiday the passes had still not been refunded and the staff advised us to pick up with Duncan at Alpine Tracks and he would sort it out, 'not a problem' they said.

After many months of communication and promises from Duncan we never got our money back. One day he even said the money would be in our bank accounts by midday which unsurprisingly didn't happen, since then he refuses to admit any responsibility even though he was apparently refunding the money. Took it to the small claims court but apparently the company has ceased trading so no money.

Alpine tracks and Duncan are untrustworthy and judging by the other reviews on here this is not the first time this type of thing has happened so be warned. Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbigteef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed for a week at the beginning of March 2010. This is one of the best chalets I have stayed in. Very comfortable, pleasant surroundings and a great atmosphere. The rooms are nicely done and the beds comfortable. Everything is clean and well presented. The cuisine is superb. Breakfast (continental - with an egg boiler, but no egg cups rather strangely) and dinner are served in the first floor dining room. Young children are catered for separately and have their own menu and earlier dinner time. The lounge area is on the top floor comes with great views of Morzine and the mountains. It also has comfy sofas, sky TV area, a pool table and serviced bar. On the ground floor is a small jaccuzzi area, ski store and well equipped ski /boot rental facility. It is located in the outskirts of the village near the fire station and about 50 metres from the ski bus stop (in Morzine the local buses around the town and to nearby ski lifts are free). Trips to the Pleney (leading to Les Gets), Nyon or Avoriaz ski lifts are all very easy because of this. Getting into the village is not far - about 5 minutes walk. The only downside was it was really quite cold in the lounge and dining room, especially, we noticed, in the evenings. However, it wouldn't put us off staying there again as all we did was stick an extra layer on.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stayed at the Chalet Eira January 2010, the chalet is really well maintained with clean large rooms with a variey of sleeping options to cater for families. The food is exceptional although not sure how they cater for Children as there where none whilst we stayed. There is a large bar area with TV and free Pool and has great views over the mountain, nice place to relax at the end of your day.

The Chalet is run by Simon a Brit who moved out there 10 years ago, great knowledge of the area and they have their own ski hire shop, which provided really high quality skis and boots, in fact in my 7 Ski trips the best rental equipment I,ve come across. They also will maintain your Ski's either waxing them for taking care of the edges (at a small cost)

The Chalet is about a 10 minute walk from the main Pleney ( There are no lockers for hire at the lift station so you do have to carry your Ski's!) However there is a free bus service that runs every 10-15 mins just outside the Chalet into town.

The town its self is really pretty, with plenty of Bars for all tastes.

The Skiing region is waste with plenty of Blue and Red to cover most peoples tastes, there are lots of restuarants on the slopes but can be expensive some charging 18euro for Spag Bol !! However if you look around there are cheaper and have to say better eating places off the main slopes so definately stop at each and check the prices as you ski down.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartmanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#7 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Soly
Hotel le Soly
#21 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eira

Property: Chalet Eira
Address: 205 route des Putheys, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Hotel Class:1 star — Chalet Eira 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Chalet Eira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Eira Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing