We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect chalet in Morzine”
The Central Open Fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Central Open Fireplace
The Balcony The Open Plan Living Space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Central Open Fireplace
The Balcony
The Open Plan Living Space
The Fire!
The Dining Area
The Dining Area
The Kitchen
Stainless Steel!
Fabulous Huge Sofa!
The Onion / Spaceship / Pod!
Firewood
The Beautiful Staircase
Large TV & DVD player in The Carnotzet Bar
The Carnotzet Bar
The Gallery Bedroom
Luxurious Linens!
The Retreat!
The Garden - The Retreat & Mazot Barn
Rustic Charm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Morzine, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Drewk8367
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect chalet in Morzine”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We Stayed March 2012 in the Retreat. The chalet was perfect for a group of 18. The owners have done a wonderful job in making a luxurious home from home in the alps. Even with 18 people the place never felt clustered. The kids loved all the various dens and hiding holes to set up a comfy camp after a day skiing while the adults enjoyed the open plan living area. Port du Soleil is a much loved area for us and out of all the chalets we have stayed at ( 15+) The Retreat is every bodies favourite. Gerard did a wonderful job sorting out the finer details while we were staying there. Starting and finishing our day at Ardent was a joy, no queues and what a fantastic last run home from Avoriaz. It was like having a private piste during the week!
The only disappointment we had all week was leaving The Retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully laid out chalet.
Liked least: Go home at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neierke
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Couln't be better”
Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We are a group of friends travelling to France every year to cycle in the mountains. This year it was the Haute Savoie. The Retreat and out host Gerard Dekker made it an experience to never forget. What a luxury, atmosphere and great cooking by Gerard and his staff of Le Touriste. If you get the opportunity, take it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: The rain, but that's nature :-)
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Reviewed 17 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vikki J
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully spacious chalet perfect for family groups and friends”
Reviewed 2 November 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Looking to book next years ski trip at the retreat so I thought I would add my little bit on here as this chalet truley deserves its luxury status.
We stayed here earlier this year with three other families, 17 of us in total and I have to say that we all had a fabulous time as there was plenty of room for everyone and only a 5 minute drive from the best lifts too.
Highly recommended by us all *****

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room for all
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miwharris
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful accommodation five minutes' drive from the slopes.”
Reviewed 15 December 2010 for a stay in January 2010

I stayed at the Retreat with friends in January 2010 and highly recommend it. The accommodation is of a fantastic quality. All the rooms have en suite facilities. The standard is consistently high throughout, from the quality of the bed linen to the equipment in the kitchen, more than up to the job of catering for any large group. Beds are comfortable; rooms are warm. There is lots of hot water at all times of the day.

The quality of the conversion does make this property stand out. It really is a farmhouse "lovingly restored", worthy of a Grand Designs feature. The open plan kitchen and living area - with vaulted ceiling and open fireplace is a great place to come together while the carefully constructed bedrooms provide privacy and space to get away.

Access to the Portes du Soleil is five minutes' drive away, a very beautiful five minutes I should add. This is not a place to come if you want to ski down to the lifts. It is a place to come with a group of friends or family keen to stay somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of a major resort in accommodation of the highest standard.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Reviewed 10 December 2010 for a stay in December 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claire C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place- lovely accomodation and perfect position”
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We stayed in summer 2010, and it is one of my favourite ever holidays. The chalet is so stylish and comfortable, with every amenity you could wish for (eg 2 dishwashers for big groups!) The bedrooms and bathrooms are great, the top floor suite is really special. There is a big bar area / cinema, great for tired kids (and adults!) at the end of the day. Large open-plan kitchen, (with every possible utensil), next to a large lounging area. Anything you need (cots, high chairs etc are all available).
It is in a great position - 10 mins walk from the most beautiful lake - which has a swimming area, beach, stream, sandpit - just idyllic. If you go on the right week you will see a spectacular fireworks and light show by the lake. The Morzine area is brilliant for everyone - walkers, mountainbikers, layabouters...it's absolutely beautiful wherever you look. Lots of ski-lifts are open in the summer, you can even take bikes on them, so you can cover a huge area. The town centre is surprisingly buzzy in summer, without being overcrowded. Huge open air swimming pool near the centre, with great kids pool - slides, fountains etc. Lots of the mountain restaurants have playgrounds. The chalet is about 5 mins drive to the town, situated in the quietest site, looking onto a wooded mountain, with a river at the end of the garden. I love it, I would happily go back there every year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,762
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing