We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't lift a finger”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farmhouse la Desmeuniere
Ranked #89 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent a fantastic week in this chalet at the end of March this year. The chalet itself is picture postcard standard, and has great facilities with hot-tub, sauna, and really large communal dining and lounge area. The food was fantastic (and plentiful!) starting with a hearty breakfast, then tea and cake for those that skip apres, and a three course meal in the evening. There's a bus stop immediately outside, but the ever friendly hosts are usually more than happy to drop you off at whichever lift takes your fancy that morning. The hosts have great local knowledge and can recommend (and book) restaurants and trips out. They'll even arrange to have ski gear delivered and fitted at the chalet.

Highly recommended. We usually don't visit the same resort twice, but we're booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_J_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a great place to get to stay in for a week. the communal areas of this chalet are the nicest out of all the ones I've ever stayed in, not to mention the outside hot tub in the snow! We had a lovely relaxing week, complete with lifts to the slopes and service with a massive smile from the great hosts. The food was excellent and it was great to sit down afterwards chatting with everyone by the fire. Lovely resort in general and this was a great find.

I would definitely recommend and go again.

Room Tip: There's a few rooms up on a mezzanine area which would give you a more private area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I felt compelled to write this after making such an embarassing hash of signing the guestbook (hangover + powder-slashing exhaustion). This was a truly memorable skiing experience. I've been organising annual ski trips for a large group of assorted friends for several years and this was comfortably the most enjoyable, largely thanks to the service and facilities laid on by the "greatescape" team.

Firstly the chalet was phenomenal. Yes it's slightly out of town but better placed for skiing than anywhere in Morzine centre due to its proximity to the Prodains lift (Avoriaz higher and bigger ski area). The huge and comfortable central living areas were perfect for a group of our size and the mezanine TV room was a nice spot for a bit of secluded R&R. The rooms are all ensuite (a rare ski-resort luxury) and easily large enough for 2 to share (3 a bit more of a squeeze).

Secondly our hosting team, Rex & Bex alongside Matt, were unrelentingly focused on ensuring that we had the best time possible. They are properly experienced Alpine hosts, not just the usual gap-year chancers, and they will absolutely go the extra mile for their guests. Whether it's last minute restaurant bookings (which they skid to themselves to manage) or late night lifts to the local ice hockey stadium (worth doing) they will have done it before you've even asked. The food is hearty, flavoursome and plentiful and the free house wines surprisingly tasty. Chalet hosts can make or break a ski holiday and this bunch certainly made ours. We did our best to upset them with late night hot-tub madness but they never cracked. Every morning we just got the same warm greetings and steaming plates of bacon and eggs.

Any complaints? Thermostat's in the house can be a bit sketchy. Buses in Morzine are pretty irregular (helps to have a couple of cab numbers which aren't too spenny). Picking at straws here really....

Just a great chalet experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A very beautiful chalet located right next to the bus stop for easy access but the staff were always available to drop us off at the slopes after our hearty breakfast. I booked this chalet for 22 of us and was provided an excellent service and the chalet staff were always happy to help or change the routine to accommodate our needs. The owners also went out of their way to help us and organize a meal out on the chalet staff's night off. The chalet facilities were excellent and most importantly the wine kept flowing at night. We also used the transfer service which was on time and straight to the door.
The resort was beautiful with plenty of snow and surprisingly not busy during our stay in January.
I would definitely stay with The Great Escape again and hopefully will very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very beautiful chalet ideal for a big group of people! Comfortable and spacious living rooms and bedrooms all with ensuite bathrooms. All sound ideal but there were some small but important, for me, details that were missing... First of all the fact that we stayed there for a week and we didnt have our bed sheets or towels changed not even once! Also the luck of shampoo or shower gel in the bathrooms. They only offered hand wash and cream.
There was a washing machine in the chalet but you had to pay extra to use it!
On their website they were talking about free wi-fi. That was only possible if you could ever connect and when you finally could it was really slow.
Regarding the food breakfast was ok but with dinner i wasnt that impressed like other reviewers! Some times i couldnt even eat the things that they served either because they were not cooked well or even smelling bad. I think a change on the menu or the recipes and maybe the use of more fresh products would be ideal.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful of course but unfortunately that wasnt enough!
It's a shame because it really is a very beautiful farmhouse that could have been perfect without all these flaws.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melisoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great location for the slopes with a regular bus service to take you to the new cable lift at Plenney. However, the fab chalet staff will give you a lift in the mornings! Our ski equipment was pre-ordered and brought to the chalet so no time was wasted in the ski hire shop. Our room was cosy and very comfortable, with underfloor heating in the en-suite. The main living area is very spacious and has a lovely modern wood burning fire, TV and DVD player with a selection of films to watch. But best of all was the wonderful Rex and Becks who looked after us in the Chalet. Both lovely friendly people who took great care of us and to top it all Rex is a fantastic chef and served up some wonderful meals each evening. We had a truly relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this chalet to anyone planning a visit to Morzine. We booked it through Darren & Sam at The Great Escape who are very friendly and helpful people. Will definitely stay there again on our next ski trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, but the bedrooms on the 2nd floor have restricted head room as they are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very enjoyable pre Christmas break, my first time in a catered chalet, a real treat, freshly prepared tasty & beautifully presented evening meals, relaxing cosy chalet and great company.

The transfer service to Prodains in the morning saves time & the new lift is quick & efficient, we were skiing in Avoriaz half an hour after leaving the chalet.

Thank you to Darren, Sam Rex Bex & Mathew we had a great trip & will see you again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse la Desmeuniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse la Desmeuniere

Address: Route des Ardoissieres, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Price Range: £45 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing