We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”

Chalet Hotel StarLight
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel StarLight
Ranked #43 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Just back from a quick 5 day pre-christmas ski trip with a mate.Service was excellent, from pick-up at Geneva, no waiting,throughout the stay, and delivery back to Geneva. Staff were friendly and very helpful, food was good, and nice to have a coffee and cake waiting for you when we got back from skiing. Room was basic, small but clean, TV did not work, but didn't need it. A little bit of trouble getting ski gear dried after a very wet day, but they put an extra heater in the room and one in the boot room. They recommended Caribou sports for our ski hire, and their service was excellent, we skied with brand new, top of the range skiis. Another big bonus was that they accommodated us from Wed until Monday, at a very competitive price. Highly recommend them and would love to ski Avoriaz again. Tom

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIBoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Based on the other reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay at Hotel Starlight (known as Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere) and were not disappointed! We booked via Star Ski chalets who run other chalets in the town and came recommended by friends who enjoyed a great stay in Chalet Roxy- one of the other chalets. It was also very hard to find somewhere to stay for a long weekend. We stayed Wednesday – Monday which included transfers which was great. Agree- a confused 2 star. It should be more. Don’t be put off. We had a great experience here.

Location: not quite bang in the centre of town. About 10-12 mins + in ski boots to the main square. You will get warm walking to either Pleny or Super Morzine bubbles. There is a bus stop about 100 yards from the door for the return journey. You can jump on the “U” bus back from nearby the Pleny bubble though.

Hotel: traditional, rustic charm. Boot room and secure storage on basement level, TV room, dining room (with Sky TV!) with bar on ground level. Garden with hot tub, comfy outdoor seating, BBQ and pool also. Large windows with mountain views. Hotel rooms on first floor and above.
Rooms: the corridors and rooms reminded me a little of university halls of residence but with lovely balconies with our own outdoor furniture, nice finishing touches like a flat screen TV with English channels, towels, hairdryer, WiFi, Aveda & Molton Brown toiletries, fresh linen, nice, modern curtains with matching cushions. Extra pillows and bedding in wardrobe. Separate electric heater if you get too cold. French style bathroom with separate WC. All this added to its charm.

We stayed half board and were very well fed. Food as good as ‘superior’ chalets I’ve stayed in elsewhere. Even chalet cake, fruit bowls with choice of hot drinks (inc hot chocolate) after 5pm following your day on the slopes. We were lucky enough to have a late check out so even managed a morning’s skiing and a freshen up before our shuttle back to Geneva. There was no extra cost for towels or linen or cleaning like some places charge. All inc half board. The staff were wonderful. A wonderful stay, Would definitely return & recommend staying here.

An excellent website. Has loads of photos on it which depict the hotel well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WeebersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We have just returned from 7 days at the Chalet Hotel Starlight (also known as Hotel-Chalet La Renardiere ).

It was a mission to find a chalet hotel that could take 28 people for a full week and then an additional 20 of our friends for the final weekend.... but bingo! we found it at this perfect chalet.

Elderon and Clarissa were the perfect hosts and the staff were just fab. The food was great all week - it is not gourmet, but it is homemade and just what you want after a day on the mountains. Breakfast is fresh bread and croissants and however you like an egg, they will cook it for you ! When you come back from the slopes there is very tasty cake left out for you.

There was a small bar, which was ok priced and all of the chalet staff just could not do enough to help us; from running us down in the minibus to town on the day that our legs were too tired to walk to the slopes, to late night drinks serving.

The chalet is a confused 2 star. I think it is on its way to 3 star... due to the brilliant hot tub, the smart dining room and quality of food. However some of the rooms are still not refurbished to the higher quality, I think they are working their way around the hotel gradually. There is nothing wrong with the more basic rooms, they just dont have that finishing touch of lovely curtains etc.

There is a lovely tv room, which we spent most of our time in. I don't know how this works when there is a mixed group, we had the entire chalet to ourselves!

One of the BEST things about the chalet is the fact that they have freeview tv ! On my seriously tired night I watched Corry in bed !

The location of the chalet is great. It is a 5 min walk into town and just under 10 mins in ski boots to the main Plenny bubble lift (all downhill). You can get the bus back up from the Plenny and it drops you outside the front door of the chalet.

You can ski back to the hotel from the Morzine/Le Gets side of the mountain. As long as the snow is good enough, and you are good enough, you can drop off the B blue run and you will slide back down to the chalet - nb it does take a bit of practice ;)

Overall this is a fantastic chalet for a big group - if I am ever crazy enough to organise a trip for 48 people again then I will bring them back here!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor rooms (they are quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Following a lovely trip last year we once again spent Christmas at the Starlight. We were given a warm welcome (which included cups of tea, coffee and hot chocolate for the children) upon arrival then shown to our clean, warm room. As before both the owners & staff couldn't do enough to help with any issues that occurred, such as ski rental problems & bus timetables (although the Plenney area is only 10mins walk away) & we were positively encouraged to treat the hotel as a home-from-home. The food was of an excellent standard, with the option for the children to eat early or with us, the portion sizes were good & as we decided not to eat out on the staff night off (Wednesday), we had lots of help ordering in take-away. If like us you're a family with fussy children, I can recommend the Hotel Starlight as a friendly, happy place to stay where help is always at hand.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had our first trip to Morzine and stayed at the Hotel Starlight. It is a lovely hotel and although having only a 2* rating, the friendly staff and relaxed 'chalet' atmosphere made you needing no more. The rooms were clean, the food was lovely and the location is good being just a short walk from the town center and the ski lifts. Chloe (one of the staff) greeted us when we arrived and helped us with everything we needed throughout our stay. Although the snow that week wasn't fantastic, we still had a great holiday and will be going back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonny_a579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We were a mixed group ranging from teens to 50s, The rooms were small but clean and comfortable, unfortunately due to a mix up in our booking we only had two rooms between 5 of us for the first couple of nights instead of 3.. and we did not get a pre booked room that was specifically asked for and promised. However this was down to poor admin, we still enjoyed our stay here. The Hotel is in a good position a few minutes walk from the lifts and shops. The bar and dining room are lovely, the food was varied and we liked all the meals provided, the wine is very reasonably priced the breakfast was plentiful and we had a good choice of eggs cereals fruit and juice, plus a basket of fresh bread and croissants.. The staff were all very nice and attentive.

We also used the hotels transfer service from Geneva which we found to be good priced and very efficient, the driver was waiting for us when we arrived. On the whole we had a great holiday here and i would not hesitate to recommend it for a relaxing ski holiday, at a very reasonable price. Great value for money.

Room Tip: check your bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakkalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This hotel was very good value for money and provided an excellent service all round. The location is good, near to Morzine centre, the facilities are good for a 2 star hotel, the food was excellent and the hotel staff were extremely friendly and attentive. It was more like a chalet than a hotel experience. The pre arrival arrangements for ski hire and lift passes worked well, everything was there for us and there was no problem if we needed to change anything. We all had a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burley072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
80 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Sapins
3.7 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel StarLight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel StarLight

Address: Route de la Combe a Zore, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing