We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big group, big welcome”

Chalet Hotel StarLight
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel StarLight
Ranked #42 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2011

In the second week of January, a group of about 50 of us descended on Morzine and the guys behind starski couldn't have been more helpful, multiple transfers across the day meant no one was waiting around in the airport and folks could begin relaxing as soon as possible.

On arrival there was help with our bags and our rooms were toasty warm and well presented. Tea and cakes were also waiting for our attention or fruit should you need to add to your five a day, I opted for an orange, which was swiftly sliced for me, I mean, who wants to be peeling oranges on holiday!

Throughout our week we were fed heartily, with cake everyday and very generous portions at dinner to make sure we had the energy for riding. With a bar on site, you can unwind with a pint in the TV room, hot tub or take a stroll into town for a few at one of the local bars.

A great place to stay if you're going away with a large group, or just a couple of mates. Having never stayed half board before I can say I'll definitely be doing it again, and with Starski when in Morzine.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pocket_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Excellent value for money. Our 2nd visit to Chalet Hotel Starlight where improvements have been made to the bar and dining area and some of the bedrooms. Nothing is too much trouble for Clarissa and Elderon and their charming staff. Our rooms have been clean, comfortable and spacious with ensuite bathroom and plenty of hot water. Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the Pleney lift and if the conditions are good, you can ski off piste back to the door. Food is plentiful with beautiful home made cakes for tea! Wine and beer are very reasonably priced in the hotel.
Unfortunately my partner sustained a serious injury on day 2 but was taken immediately to the medical centre by one of the Starski Chalet's staff - they couldn't do enough to help and made our stay as comfortable as possible for us. I have been ski-ing for over 30 years and have never met such charming, warm and friendly hosts. Whether you travel in a small or large group, you are assured of a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This hotel does exactly what is says on the tin...and some. Clarissa and Elderon offer very good value-for-money accommodation here and their hugely friendly service goes beyond this.

The rooms are basic which you expect in ski resorts, but essentially they are clean and comfortable and steadily being improved. New mattresses this year meant great nights sleep although being an old building it can occasionally be a little noisy with people coming in late at night. The food is quite basic, although welcome and really plentiful.

Clarissa & Elderon and the staff are so friendly, helpful and keen to make your stay as nice as possible. The hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the slopes and town or there's a [free] bus stop outside the front door. I would definitely recommend this to groups of friends travelling together.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyGrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Have stayed here twuce now for ski holiday. Elderon, Clarissa and staff are brilliant. They are always ready to help and offer advise. Will definately be staying again. Rooms are good size and are clean and bright. Both stays (in different rooms) we had a balcony and slept really well.
If you want a relaxing and peacefull break this palce is worth a visit.
Food for our December stay was not the best we have had but a new chef was about to start and judging by the reviews this has now been resolved and will ot stop us going again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d5frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Warm and Friendly atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Food is good, as are the homemade cakes in the afternoon.
Nice large lounge area with supply of films, TV channels and Wii.
Free WIFI is good too.

Swimming Pool (Summer Only) and Hot Tub all year round is just what you need after a day on the slopes.

Hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ko_racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I run Snowboard Club UK and stayed in the Hotel on the Saturday night before moving on to Chalet StarSki up the road. The Hotel is warm and welcoming with everything we needed for a great trip away for 50 here and 35 elsewhere. The main room hosted our Welcome Meal and Pub Quiz and Elderon and Clarissa couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. The separate TV room was a comfy escape. If only the snow could have been a touch better the rear of the property would have allowed you to ski right off the mountain too. All good stuff.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunx_scuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We have stayed at Chalet Hotel Starlight in winter and summer. The hotel is situated in Morzine, outside is a free bus service to the town and slopes, ( the town and slopes are actually within easy walking distance.
The hotel is a great addition to the Chalets run by Elderon and Clarissa where their high standards are maintained.
The hotel itself is a rustic building with some lovely features.A comforable dining area where good food is served, a lounge with tv, including sky and a smaller quiet lounge to relax with a glass of wine or two.
Meals are served by friendly staff where nothing is too much trouble. There is a small bar area, nicely furnished for that pre and post dinner drink.
The rooms are simply furnished with the most comfortable of beds and lovely linen. All are ensuite with either a bath or shower. A great bonus is the Avida or molten brown accessories.
The hotel offers a fabulous alternative to the well known expensive ski trip. Skis and boots can be pre ordered and fitted on arrival at the hotel, a real time saver.
Morzine is a lively town with night life aplenty for the energetic. During the summer months there is great walking or mountain biking. There is a bbq and swimming pool in the garden for summer visitors.
Over all the hotel is a wonderful place to stay and I am looking forward to a planned visit in February this year. wonderful value for money for all the family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry63033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#34 of 50 in Morzine
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel StarLight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel StarLight

Address: Route de la Combe a Zore, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing