We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the reviews are spot on- a perfect place to stay”
Review of Chalet Aux Joux

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Aux Joux
Ranked #2 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We are just back from 8 wonderful nights in this chalet, where we ate and drank like kings! First time we have used a catered chalet and the bar has been set pretty high, don't think we'll want to go back to self catering. The menus surpassed our expectations as did the comfort in the chalet- we were in room 6 (triple) with a lovely new bathroom . Plenty of room, even with a teenage son! Hot tub and sauna were great too. We were so lucky that all chalet mates were great, and we have all gone home with new tricks, new jokes and great memories. Oh yeh, and the skiing wasn't bad either, helped by the use of the boot room in Francois Baud Sport shop, just at the bottom of the main lift. Thank you, R4TAlpes

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank SarahGlenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Fabulous week spent at Chalet Aux Joux over New Year. This was my second stay in the chalet and nothing is ever too much trouble - the food was fabulous as usual, the desserts were works of art, the canapes were out of this world and we couldn't have felt more comfortable. Really didn't want to go home at the end of the week. Thank you, Jo and Mark for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you Jo and Mark for hosting a fabulous stay at Chalet Aux Joux for our family Christmas! From daily hot breakfasts, lifts to the bubble, afternoon tea, bubbly, canapes, sumptuous entrees and sweet desserts, our hosts were both gracious and fun! Holiday decorations and a suspended fireplace created a festive atmosphere for evening games of charades and monopoly in the renovated living room space. Roomy and comfortable chalet for a family of 13 including 2 children, 1 teen and many 20-50 somethings' with boots, skis and all the gear! Truly a holiday to remember. How could we ever forget the gorgeous Eton Mess?

Room Tip: Upper floor bedrooms offer best privacy, warmth and quiet with brand new en suites, plush carpet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deneen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for the first week of ski-ing from 14 Dec - and really liked the way in which Jo and Mark managed the chalet and looked after us all. They were very friendly and helpful and prepared to go the extra mile with a smile, if necessary. The food was excellent each evening - starting with very tasty canapés and sparkling wine followed by a three course meal. There was a different cooked breakfast each morning and plenty of hot water for showers all week. We also enjoyed the hot tub. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We booked aux joux to have a short stress buster break for a few days before the christmas holidays. We were not disappointed! This is maybe the fifth time I have stayed in Aux Joux and for my son it was the third time. For my son it was the best ski holiday ever, he declared, on account of everything being so good as well as the geniality of the other guests, none of whom we had previously met. A Chalet holiday is a fantastic way to have a sociable time and make new friends as everyone has dinner together round the big table following the marvellous selection of canapés and kir royale each evening. The chalet has just been renovated so that both upstair bedrooms now have beautiful new en suite bathrooms and deep pile carpets. The new suspended log burning fire was fitted in the sitting area while we were there and is a huge improvement on the more traditional fire previously in front of the rear windows. There is now much more space and the room is altogether lighter. The fire is much less tempting for guests to throw their rubbish on, so it is a lot safer as it is enclosed by clear glass. The kitchen area has also been totally renovated to great effect. Mark and Jo the chalet hosts do a marvellous job in keeping everything running smoothly and Mark's chef skills are worthy of masterchef the Professionals! The duck confit is to die for! Lee is really fantastic at taking guests at the drop of a hat to the new Prodain bubble and picking up again at the end of the day on demand. The queues at Prodain for the old telecabine are a thing of the past with the new bubble which takes about 20 persons per car and runs constantly with uplift to Avoriaz taking about 2 minutes. There is a new bubble which should have opened today at Pleney for the Morzine to Les Gets part of the Portes du Soleil. The Francois Baud ski hire shop is right next to the Pleney lift station and the chalet guests can leave their skis and boots there each night as it is only about a 6 minute walk back to the chalet. Chalet Aux Joux is also very handy for the local Ed supermarket just two minutes along the road as well as the huge variety of cheese, hanging sausage, wine and gift shops as well as many ski shops in town.
The chalet really is excellent with complete attention to detail including all organic toiletries in the bathrooms so no need to lug shampoo and conditioner. Also decent hairdryers in each room. There is a lovely hot tub in the garden and a balcony with tables and chairs facing the evening sun and mountain view.

Room Tip: main level rooms have balconies . Upper floor rooms have new bathrooms and an upper level sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

To be honest I don't know where to start. This holiday was such an amazing experience in so many ways. Right, breaking it down-
Initial booking- due to my booking being very last minute they could not have been more helpful. Any question I had they answered quickly and in detail to ensure I had no concerns before arriving.
Chalet- what a home from home. Lovely, clean and cozy en suite room with fine attention to detail with shower gel and
shampoo. Large spacious kitchen dining lounge area and separate tv area.
Staff- Marcus and Gina have established such a great company. The staff they have working for and with them are what made my trip. Jo and Amelia, previous pro triathlete, were truly the host and hostesses with the mostest. They constructed a weekly itinerary which appealed to all requests and requirements of a group of cycling enthusiasts. Not only organising the logistics of the routes and guiding but the transport of non cyclist so they could enjoy the experience and views that we got at the top of each mountain. Amelia and Jo were also such lovely unassuming people that just couldn't have done enough and made you feel so welcome.
Catering- well what can I say, I ate like a queen for the should week. Anthony, michilin trained chef produced some of the tastiest food I've had. Not only was it amazing he also catered for a variety of dietary requirement and made every dish to the highest standard. Dinner was also such s relaxed affair at a long table so you got the chance to sit with different people each night. A lovely atmosphere was created and once again Jo and Amelia controlled the service and ensured the top up of wine, which was quite a regular thing with our group!!
Exercise plan- we cycled a different route every day and given the chance to tackle climbs famous in the Tour de France. What an amazing opportunity and to get advice and assistance on technique to assist you up the lengthy hills. In addition we did a run session structured by Amelia which was focused and specific to individual needs and ability.
Many went swimming in open lake and local 50m pool. Technique once again given from Amelia to get the best out of each session.
I think I have exhausted all compliments I can give to the most memorable holiday I've had since I went travelling round the world
Thank you team tri4thealps.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just back from a Cycling trip to Morzine with 10 friends. The Chalet was excellent, clean comfortable perfect for our base. The whole experience was enhanced by our guides Joe and Amelia, they where fantastic and could not have done more for us. I urge anyone who is thinking of cycling in this area to employ their services, you won't regret it!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
80 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Sapins
3.9 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#22 of 50 in Morzine
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Aux Joux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Aux Joux

Address: Taille de Mas des Joux, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This top of the range ski chalet sleeps 12-13 guests in 6 spacious twin/double bedrooms. The first floor has a huge open plan sitting/dining room with a log fire, leather sofas to chill out on and a large oak dining table, from which you can enjoy magnificent views across Morzine. The chalet also has a sauna and an outdoor hot tub. Chalet Aux Joux is located in a quiet street, 7 minutes walk from the main ski lifts in Morzine of Super Morzine and Pleney. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing