We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Last Minute Get away!”
Review of Chalet Aux Joux

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Aux Joux
Ranked #2 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Last Minute Get away!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend in Morzine with Reach 4 The Alps who were recommended to us by a friend. The Chalet and its hosts Mark & Jo were brilliant we couldn't fault it or them. The Chalet is in a great location just walking distance from the main ski lifts however Mark & Jo offered us lifts each day if you didn't fancy walking (only 10 minutes max). The food was amazing so much better than we expected and have experienced in previous catered chalets. Every day they offered us a cooked breakfast option along side the continental breakfast with seconds if you wanted, a freshly baked cake which we took with us on the slopes and canapés and champagne followed by a tasting, freshly made three course dinner with a great wine selection. This was our first holiday to Morzine but it wont be the last, we meet some lovely people and had great weather and still lots snow for the time of year. Would highly recommend Morzine and Reach 4 The Alps.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie8600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My Husband and Son had a fantastic time this week. Thank you very much Jo and Mark. They have come home with wonderful stories of the cooking. Great holiday. Very kind to Charlie when he broke his arm. Lucky he could still go out on the hill. Rooms very clean and comfy. Once again Reach 4 The Alps surpasses all the rest! Hope the snow lasts until the end of the season. We will be back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank familywithteenagers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Morzine with Reach 4 the Alps, and enjoyed the weather, the skiing and the wonderful service provided by Reach for the Alps staff.
Our chalet hosts Mark & Jo were great - very friendly, helpful, flexible and lovely to our 3 children who are aged 6, 3 and 10 months.
The evening meals were amazing - both adults and children thoroughly enjoyed the food. The children were fed separately at around 6pm and the food provided was both healthy and very tasty. They happily pureed food for our baby also, as well as washing her bottles, dummies, bowls, cutlery etc. The evening h'orderves and 3 course meals provided later for the adults were outstanding every night.

We were in the 2 upstairs rooms which are newly decorated, have lovely ensuites and were very comfortable.
Lifts were provided every day to get us to the slopes, which was great even though the chalet is within walking distance of Super Morzine and Le Pleney.
Mark & Jo were lovely hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our 6 year old and 3 year old were always in a hurry to get downstairs to see them in the morning at breakfast time and when our daughter's school teddybear was accidentally left behind on our return home, they very kindly sent us a text message from the bear telling her he had stayed on to learn snowboarding and would be back with her very soon!
We will definitely be back to Morzine and will happily choose Chalet Aux Joux again, a brilliant week.

Room Tip: The 2 upstairs rooms are ideal for a family and newly decorated, very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDWILKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Another great stay at Chalet aux Joux. Reach for The Alps provide a great service, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. The airport transfers and transport to he lifts in the mornings make it a hassle free short break. Food excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Group of 3 families booked the chalet for the half term. The bus transfer with Lee to the chalet was good and the chalet itself was in a very good location. It was a short walk for the children back to the chalet after skiing each day. We were in the room next to the living room and it was comfortable with an en-suite bathroom. Our children were staying on the top floor, adjacent to the tv room. The triple room was lovely with an en-suite bathroom with bath and separate shower . The twin room upstairs was very small but fine for the children. That room had a newly renovated shower room. Noise carries very easily in the chalet, we could hear our children talking in their bedroom at night above our room and the occupants of the room next door, coughing. The chalet was fine for us as we were all one group and early to bed after dinner. The noise in the kitchen was not an issue in the morning as most of the children were awake at around 7 am which meant we were all awake early. The hosts made pancakes for children in the morning, and they were called to the table as and when they were ready, the children could not all sit together for breakfast , but we understood the chef could not mass produce pancakes, so they were eaten as and when they were ready.
There were no games consoles but we had checked with the operator before and had brought our own games console. We even left behind a remote control and having emailed the office , it has been sent on to us, for which we are grateful. There were a few small things I noticed ;chips on the rims of most of the cups ; some of the towels looked they has seen better days; lack of glasses , but these are only small issues.
What really let down this holiday for us were the hosts. To say they seems bored for the duration of our holiday is an understatement. They didn't seem to want to speak to us at all and the drive to the ski shop in the morning was in silence unless i specifically asked a question. We were told on the first day that the children's dinner would be ready at 6pm and the adults would eat later at 8 pm , the children are all independent eaters so we were satisfied with that, although one or two or all adults sat in the open plan living room adjacent to kitchen and helped if any of the children should need it, While unpacking the first evening with my door open I overheard the children asking the hosts' questions. The children either ignored them or given a quick yes or no in a very disinterested manner. When one 7 year old asked for the wi fi password , he was told to go and look it up in the welcome pack. When I asked for a glass one morning for orange juice I was told there weren't any but one was silently grabbed form the table , washed and put in front of me without any further conversation. on one evening one of our party was 5 minutes late for dinner , and the front of house host leant against the counter in silence, tapping her fingers on the counter. These are small things and I will not mention all of them , but a responsive,informative host makes a big difference on a chalet holiday and that, unfortunately, was not the case on this holiday. We never knowingly met the owners of the company. A very chatty man brought us to the ski shop on the hosts day off , but he never introduced himself to us , so we presumed he was a member of staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

What an amazing chalet, hosts, food & overall service!

Had Lee waiting for us on arrival at the airport, greeted by Mark & Jo at the Chalet then hit the slopes. Returned back later that night and welcomed with a glass of Champagne & H'ordervers. Then the 3 course meal which on every night was out of this world (that 7hr slow cooked duck & eton mess is the best meal I've ever eaten)! And finished off with cheese board. Then we all hit the hot tub in the snow! Amazingly relaxed place, just what you need on holiday. Every morning we all got a lift up to the slopes to collect your boots, nothing was to much trouble!

We all went out with Lee for one of the days and he showed us all the great slopes, which is all included in the price. It's the little touches like that that make Reach4thealps a great little setup.

Think we've all said we'll be returning back to Morzine and Chaet Aux Joux/Reach4thealps will be the top of the list!

Mark (one of the 7)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from our short break to Morzine staying in Chalet Aux Joux. If we could rate this place accurately then we would need a box to tick for absolutely fantastic !. The hosts Mark and Jo were just great, the Chalet itself was very well presented, very clean, warm and had everything we needed including a great honesty bar and a well maintained hot tub. The food is unreal (5* quality and I have paid a lot of money for worse meals!), with all meals cooked to perfection. We will definitely return as the professionalism and attention to detail is second to none, why this place is ranked only 3rd I don't know, it should be top! One of the owners, Gina called in regularly to make sure everything was going ok and even mucked in to help clean up on the hosts day off, that is dedication for you. We were a group of 7 men and shared the chalet with a family and another couple and everyone got on just fine. Gina and the hosts also helped by running us to ski shop and the lifts and then the next lift when the Les Pleney Bubble lift broke down, this was a great help!!!. Overall this is a 10/10 Chalet, we will be back without a doubt

Room Tip: Every room is just great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.5 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#6 of 50 in Morzine
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#5 of 50 in Morzine
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Aux Joux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Aux Joux

Property: Chalet Aux Joux
Address: Taille de Mas des Joux, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This top of the range ski chalet sleeps 12-13 guests in 6 spacious twin/double bedrooms. The first floor has a huge open plan sitting/dining room with a log fire, leather sofas to chill out on and a large oak dining table, from which you can enjoy magnificent views across Morzine. The chalet also has a sauna and an outdoor hot tub. Chalet Aux Joux is located in a quiet street, 7 minutes walk from the main ski lifts in Morzine of Super Morzine and Pleney. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing