We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but brilliant location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalets Club Les Gourmets
Ranked #104 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic but brilliant location”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Ive just spent 4 great days skiing in Morzine staying at the Chalet Gourmet.
There are 2 parts to this accommodation. The main Chalet and the Annex (In which I stayed) opposite.
The annex contains 2 double bedrooms a bunk room plus a single toilet on the second floor plus a bathroom and seperate toilet on the first floor. All are shared facilities.
On the ground floor, there is a dormotory style room which has 3 singles and 1 double bed with Shower and Toilet. All of this accommodation is basic, but comfortable. Just be aware there only one power point in each room.

Breakfast was an selection of Cereals and Croissant with tea, coffee and fruit juice which is included, but a cooked breakfast can be supplied for a small extra cost.

Dinner is a lovely affair, 3 courses all of which were great with what appeared to be unlimited red or white wine. The dining room is set up with 3 large shared tables so it's a great way to meet the other guests over a glass of wine and good food.

Location wise its spectacular. Just off the hight street, and no more that 5 minutes walk to either of the 2 lifts (Even in ski boots).

Would I go back, YES. It's no Spa, but for location, it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Annex room 2 is certainly the bigger of the 3 rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Colinsplace,
Thank you for your feedback about the Chalet Gourmets. We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the meals. The location is tough to beat! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    32
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
16
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two seasons on the trot now for a Thursday - Monday snowboarding trip with friends.

Functional basic hotel (you are either on the piste, in the bar or asleep so it's all you need) friendly staff and good food with fresh cake and tea provided at 4pm. Short walk to both lifts and the town centre.

Just over an hour in a minibus from Geneva and a wide ski area to be enjoyed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilGarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear NeilGarton
Thank you for your feedback about your recent snowboard trip. We hope you can make it back again next winter! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for a quick 4 night break - surprised was not the word! FANTASTIC - friendly, helpful staff, always on hand and ready to help, knowledgeable about local area and best places to ski. Natalie the manager amazed us - not only does she manage a great team, we found out later that she had covered for the chef when she was ill, the food she prepared was great, tasty plentiful generous sized portions. The skiing was good too, hotel not far from the lifts, with a good central location. Both ski areas easy to access. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable. Excellent Value for money, worth every penny. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsSkiingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Leedsskiingduo,
Great to hear you had such a great time and we really appreciate you taking the time to send feedback. Chalet Gourmets is now on sale for next season at some great prices, we look forward to seeing you again next winter. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

For a "no-frills" chalet this is surprisingly good. Rooms are functional, we shared a 4 bed room but had en suite facilities. Food though is excellent for the budget - varied, tasty, generous portions!
Plenty of complimentary wine and beer too.

Staff were great - thanks to all of you for being so hardworking and courteous.

Great location too. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Richard E,
Thank you for your review about the Chalet Gourmets, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the food and will pass on your comments to the team in resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Chalet Gourmets for 4 nights, we got 5 full days skiing in! The hotel is basic but had everything you need for a skiing holiday, clean, plenty of hot water and tea and coffee available all day! Natalie, the manager is very helpful, she manages a good team, all very helpful and friendly- just want you want and need! The food was great, a hearty filling meal every night, the lamb shank is a winner! The location is spot on, right in the centre of Morzine in between the Pleny and Super Morzine lifts - means its easy to ski both areas. All in all, a great holiday - will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilliesPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear MilliesPontefract,
Thank you for your Chalet Gourmets feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and managed to fit in so much skiing! We will pass your comments back to Natalie and her team in resort. We are glad you enjoyed the lamb shank too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at the chalet gourmets. After reading about it 2 star rating I was a little apprehensive about the accommodation - but can honestly say the place is great!
Yes it's basic, no frills but the staff are v friendly, the food is SUPERB, the beds and rooms are comfy/warm and it must be less than 100 yards to the super morzine ski lift! Considering the cost it was worth every penny.
Would definitely return:-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris12111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Chris12111,
Thank you for your feedback about the Chalet Gourmets in Morzine. We are delighted to hear you had such a good stay. We don't try to oversell the Gourmets at all, it is basic but like you say is in a fantastic location. We will pass your comments about the food to Laura and her team in the kitchen. If we can help you organise a trip for next year do not hesitate to get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After reading the tripadvisor reviews of Chalet Gourmets, I must say I was quite apprehensive, especially as I will admit I can be fussy about where I stay on holiday. I feel accommodation is an important part of making a holiday enjoyable. I can only assume that either the people saying that it's awful and not to stay here are very snobby and used to staying in 5 star places, or that I was just very lucky with my stay.

Our room was perfectly adequate, with small ensuite. Not sure why there was a bidet taking up valuable space, but it wasn't offending anyone. A towel rail wouldn't have gone amiss but fair amount of hangers in wardrobe and two mirrors. Toilet roll was stocked up so we didn't run out.

Chalet was very warm throughout our stay, cosy fire in the common room/lounge which was very nice. Lovely views from here too. I thought the staff were friendly and helpful. We were trying to persuade one of our group to go out and find a pack of cards to buy, but one of the chalet girls must have overheard us and came and leant us a pack. Always topping up wine and bread throughout the meals.

We only had two dinners during our stay but they were both very nice and a nice surprise to be given three courses which I didn't know we would be getting. Although the tables could be a little crowded, it was quite a nice sociable time. Croissants and pain au chocolats at breakfast were spot on and tasted fresh. Tea and cake every day at 4pm....what more could you want?!

Location of the place is absolutely fab, right in the centre of things with a two min walk to the cable cars to take you up the mountain.

Yes 8am seems a bit too early to have to check out, really could have done with a slight lie in by the last day! Apart from this, the place was absolutely fine, and a lot better than some people are making out on here. Don't let bad reviews put you off like it did me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Chalets Club Les Gourmets, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear 312Louise,
Thank you for your feedback on the Chalet Gourmets and we are pleased you had a good stay. All feedback is useful and we will pass your positive comments about the staff as well as your point about the towel rail to the resort staff to see if we can get one installed. It would be helpful if you could email us at sales@skiweekends.com with your booking reference so we can look specifically at which room you were in. Thank you again and we look forward to having you to stay with Ski Weekends again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Valette
Bonne Valette
#38 of 50 in Morzine
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Club Les Gourmets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Club Les Gourmets

Property: Chalets Club Les Gourmets
Address: Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Chalets Club Les Gourmets Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing