We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Le Cottage for 3 nights in Feb/Mar. The reason this hotel was so special is down to the owners, Sebastien and Angie. They put so much effort into making your stay perfect. Any problems or questions you may have they will take care of immediately.
Our room was pretty and the cleanliness was of a high standard. Bed was a little uncomfortable, and you could hear the noise in the hallway when other guests returned late at night. But overall it was suitable.
The food was delicious. One of our group is a bit fussy with their food and if there was anything that they didn't like, Sebastien made certain that something else was on offer for them.
We had 2 beginner skiers in our group and we were unsure as to where to book lessons for them. We asked Sebastien where we could go to book them and he said leave it with him and he will book it. Next thing we knew the lessons were booked at suitable times and we had no stress in contacting anyone to arrange this.
The location could not have been better. Right at the bottom of the slopes, bubble and chair lifts.
Sebastien and Angie are so kind, friendly and polite it was a real joy to stay at their hotel. All the staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    29
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Fantastic location.
Adjacent to slopes and ski rentals.

Great dinners.
They have their own chef and serve multiple courses.

Good apres-ski environment.
Bar, salon, and lounge with fireplace.

Very friendly staff
They were very patient teaching me French! Made sure I was looked out for when I wasn't feeling well!

Family-friendly
We came with a young child and were worried he might be disruptive, but they constantly brought out and showed-off their newborn. They are very friendly and patient with children.

Good clientele
Other kids, very well behaved, and one even started playing with my little nephew.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great short ski trip to this hotel in Morzine. Food was excellent as was the service. Room and decor perhaps a little dated but this just adds to the charm. Great value given the fantastic location at the bottom of the Pleney lift.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJSH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The location just couldn't be better. Right next to the bottom of the slopes and adjacent to the ski lifts. Bar and common areas are a bit dated but who cares. Rooms were clean and functional. Breakfast was substantial with eggs, ham, cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, etc. Set menu for evening meal was fine. Good home made food with starter, main course, cheese and desert. Wine list was extensive and not too expensive. The German / French owners are very accommodating and nothing was a problem. They can arrange ski hire discount and have good ski and boot storage on site. Would I go back. Big Yes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBum795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

First time in Morzine, this hotel was in an ideal location, within spitting distance of the ski hire shop, ski lifts, and bars, couldn't have been better. Lovely hotel too, would definitely return to this hotel if visiting Morzine again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheshire12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed here in March this year for a skiing trip in Morzine. We've been to Morzine many times and so know our way around the town and the slopes reasonably well. We've often had an apres-ski drink in the bar of the Carlina over the years (the hotel is right at the bottom of the slopes), and often thought "why don't we stay here some day - if we did, we'd be home now!!". So finally, we did.

Got a very good rate from the hotel - a half-board deal that included breakfast, dinner and accommodation for 5 nights. The staff were very welcoming when we arrived, and the hotel feels comfortable and homely from the minute you walk in. If you're looking for cutting edge, ultra-modern deign - this ain't it. But if you're looking for a "ahhh, I'm home" feeling as soon as you arrive - this could be for you. It's a family run hotel, and it shows in terms of warmth and friendliness through the stay. Food was home cooking and was very good. And bar is good fun during the apres ski, when many people just drop in for one on the way down the slopes.

All in all - I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Having returned last week from a long weekend stay at Le Carlina, I felt compelled to post a review on a site such as Tripadvisor for the first time. My only reservation about recommending this hotel is that it may make it more difficult to book rooms in the future! Make no mistake, this hotel is not a five star luxury hotel with spas and a turn down service that some demand - what it is a superbly located base with excellent food, great service and management that understand the needs of their customers. Rooms are basic but well maintained and clean and as a group of friends who ski together on a yearly basis, Le Carlina is a hotel that we would definitely return to. Less than a minute walk from the Pleney Lift or alternatively the train bus to the Super Morzine gondola, the lack of walking in our ski boots (especially at the end of the day) was most welcome. Less than 2 minutes from most of the local bars was also useful. The ski hire shop, with which the hotel had preferential rates, is next door and waxed our skis every morning as part of their service.The hotel (unlike many others in Morzine) is happy to accept bookings of less than a week and all the staff were welcoming, genuinely friendly and professional. Our transfer from Geneva was arranged by the hotel and we were in the resort within 2 hours of landing. An afternoon return flight meant we could ski in the morning, and Ute, the manager, kindly kept a room free so we could shower and change before setting off home in the afternoon. Don't be put off by previous poor experiences of half board bookings. 4 very good quality courses including local cheeses and a good wine list set us up nicely every evening for some further indulgence in the local bars. To reiterate, Le Carlina is excellent value in a resort (like all ski resorts) where cheap never really materialises.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlet1Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
0.0 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage

Property: Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Address: 753 Avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel Le Cottage)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Morzine, Le Cottage is 10 metres from the Le Pleney cable car, which leads to the ski slopes and the bike trails. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a sun terrace, a bike and ski storage as well as a bike wash station. The chalet-style rooms feature a desk and a private bathroom with free toiletries, a hairdryer and a bath or shower. Some rooms have a balcony with mountain or village views. A buffet breakfast can be enjoyed every morning at Le Cottage. There is an on-site restaurant and bar serving traditional and modern cuisine. Le Cottage bar is open everyday and offers appetizers, pizzas, tapas, snacks and ice-cream that guests can enjoy on the sunny terrace. Le Cottage is 6 km from Les Gets Golf Course and 42 km from the Swiss Border. Avoriaz Lake is a 22-minute drive away and guests can go mountain biking, paragliding, canyoning, climbing and rafting in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing