We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in the heart of Morzine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic hotel right in the heart of Morzine (literally 30 seconds from the Plenay lift)....this was a plus side in the summer, but would imagine that in the winter this hotel could be very noisy!
This hotel is currently independently ran by a lovely French couple called Seb and Ang, however Alpine Elements use this hotel for their guests - the great plus side of this is that Alpine Elements is not rammed down your throat all the time.
The downstairs areas have a real "alpine feel", however to be honest there did seem to be a bit of a variation in the bedroom sizes .... the double rooms did tend to be on the small side and the quality and size of bathrooms varied enormously....having said that you don.t go to the Alps to spend time in your room! The rooms were however spotlessly clean.
The meals served were very good - breakfast was self service and there was a very good continental buffet. The evening meals were great with a real French twist. If travelling with children although a childrens menu was not offered as such, Seb was always happy to cook a replacement meal if the children did not like the sound of the evening meal. One thing to note is that Alpine Elements did not pass on any dietary requirements to the hotel of the guests that were staying this week, which initially did course a few problems ..... if you do have requirements insist that AE pass these on!
Would I go back ....yes
Would I recommend this accommodation ....yes
Oh yes there was loads of hot water!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the cottage for three nights and if I ever went back to Morzine I'd definitely stop there again. The management team couldn't do enough to help - I was really impressed by their attentiveness.

I was in Morzine mountain biking and this hotel has a dedicated bike wash area and bike stand. Overnight the boss puts the bikes in the bar area. When it came to packing away the bikes the manager provided me with some assistance.

Over the road from the hotel is an excellent bike shop for when you break your bike. Also on the street over the road there are an array of excellent bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed off season for a night and the new owners were a delight - couldn't be more helpful.
The hotel is immediately in front of Le Pleney gondola and as such is in an excellent position.
My room, along with the common areas, appears to be newly refurbished and certainly at the better end of ski accommodation I've had in the area.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackCumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

this small 2 stars hotel was clean, breakfast very nice, and the "young" owners perfect, compared to some of the others hotels i ve stayed in this one was much better, the rooms are clean even if a bit small, bed comfortable , nice duvet, the bath tub is the tiniest i ve been in but still lovely with very hot water. For a cosy skiing holiday (two steps away from the slopes) I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: not much wiew n the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaivotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Visited this hotel last year when it was le carlina but since then has changed name and ownership.Now run by Sebastian and Angie who have changed a few things and made quite an improvement. Sebastian was always on hand to help and offer advice if needed and was genuinely interested in making your stay as good as possible.The food has definitely improved as has the service and the apres ski on the terrace was fun.Location unbeatable and rooms clean and tidy. Thankyou for a great stay and we look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJSH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

back from a 7 night stay, great location, next to ski lift, rooms clean, roomy, comfy beds, cleaned every day. Breakfasts and dinners, varied, adequate amounts, staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somerset94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Le Cottage for 3 nights in Feb/Mar. The reason this hotel was so special is down to the owners, Sebastien and Angie. They put so much effort into making your stay perfect. Any problems or questions you may have they will take care of immediately.
Our room was pretty and the cleanliness was of a high standard. Bed was a little uncomfortable, and you could hear the noise in the hallway when other guests returned late at night. But overall it was suitable.
The food was delicious. One of our group is a bit fussy with their food and if there was anything that they didn't like, Sebastien made certain that something else was on offer for them.
We had 2 beginner skiers in our group and we were unsure as to where to book lessons for them. We asked Sebastien where we could go to book them and he said leave it with him and he will book it. Next thing we knew the lessons were booked at suitable times and we had no stress in contacting anyone to arrange this.
The location could not have been better. Right at the bottom of the slopes, bubble and chair lifts.
Sebastien and Angie are so kind, friendly and polite it was a real joy to stay at their hotel. All the staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#29 of 50 in Morzine
102 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
2.4 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#8 of 50 in Morzine
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage

Address: 753 avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel Le Cottage)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £94 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Morzine, Le Cottage is 10 metres from the Le Pleney cable car, which leads to the ski slopes and the bike trails. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a sun terrace, a bike and ski storage as well as a bike wash station. The chalet-style rooms feature a desk and a private bathroom with free toiletries, a hairdryer and a bath or shower. Some rooms have a balcony with mountain or village views. A buffet breakfast can be enjoyed every morning at Le Cottage. There is an on-site restaurant and bar serving traditional and modern cuisine. Le Cottage bar is open everyday and offers appetizers, pizzas, tapas, snacks and ice-cream that guests can enjoy on the sunny terrace. Le Cottage is 6 km from Les Gets Golf Course and 42 km from the Swiss Border. Avoriaz Lake is a 22-minute drive away and guests can go mountain biking, paragliding, canyoning, climbing and rafting in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing