We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd consecutive year and again have been impressed by the staff - very attentive service - delicious food and clean, comfortable rooms. The hotel is also well situated for the ski lift, ski hire shops and the bus to Avoriaz. Ben and Sebastian were extremely helpful and did all they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RookeryRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    29
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It didn't matter that the snow wasn't that great - Sebastian, Ben, Tiffany and Angie made our stay in Morzine memorable - warm welcome, amazing food, fantastic service and great facilities. Dinner every evening was like a Michelin starred meal - thanks Tiffany - and Ben's help and advice, whether on the best slopes to ski or the best wine to choose, was excellent. The bar, inside and out, was fantastic, and the lounges, complete with open fires, were a great place to relax after skiing. From ski boot warming to slippers, they have thought of all the little details that make a difference. Location is great - right by the new Pleney lift for Morzine and Les Gets, while the bus to Avoriaz (and the new Prodains cable car) stops right outside. Lots of handy hire shops and bars on the doorstep too. Rooms were relatively small but warm and cosy, with plenty of hot water. Wifi was excellent! Would thoroughly recommend Le Cottage! Thanks for a great stay, Richard, Sara, Charlie & Will

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGCB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic hotel right in the heart of Morzine (literally 30 seconds from the Plenay lift)....this was a plus side in the summer, but would imagine that in the winter this hotel could be very noisy!
This hotel is currently independently ran by a lovely French couple called Seb and Ang, however Alpine Elements use this hotel for their guests - the great plus side of this is that Alpine Elements is not rammed down your throat all the time.
The downstairs areas have a real "alpine feel", however to be honest there did seem to be a bit of a variation in the bedroom sizes .... the double rooms did tend to be on the small side and the quality and size of bathrooms varied enormously....having said that you don.t go to the Alps to spend time in your room! The rooms were however spotlessly clean.
The meals served were very good - breakfast was self service and there was a very good continental buffet. The evening meals were great with a real French twist. If travelling with children although a childrens menu was not offered as such, Seb was always happy to cook a replacement meal if the children did not like the sound of the evening meal. One thing to note is that Alpine Elements did not pass on any dietary requirements to the hotel of the guests that were staying this week, which initially did course a few problems ..... if you do have requirements insist that AE pass these on!
Would I go back ....yes
Would I recommend this accommodation ....yes
Oh yes there was loads of hot water!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the cottage for three nights and if I ever went back to Morzine I'd definitely stop there again. The management team couldn't do enough to help - I was really impressed by their attentiveness.

I was in Morzine mountain biking and this hotel has a dedicated bike wash area and bike stand. Overnight the boss puts the bikes in the bar area. When it came to packing away the bikes the manager provided me with some assistance.

Over the road from the hotel is an excellent bike shop for when you break your bike. Also on the street over the road there are an array of excellent bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed off season for a night and the new owners were a delight - couldn't be more helpful.
The hotel is immediately in front of Le Pleney gondola and as such is in an excellent position.
My room, along with the common areas, appears to be newly refurbished and certainly at the better end of ski accommodation I've had in the area.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackCumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nice
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

this small 2 stars hotel was clean, breakfast very nice, and the "young" owners perfect, compared to some of the others hotels i ve stayed in this one was much better, the rooms are clean even if a bit small, bed comfortable , nice duvet, the bath tub is the tiniest i ve been in but still lovely with very hot water. For a cosy skiing holiday (two steps away from the slopes) I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: not much wiew n the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaivotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Visited this hotel last year when it was le carlina but since then has changed name and ownership.Now run by Sebastian and Angie who have changed a few things and made quite an improvement. Sebastian was always on hand to help and offer advice if needed and was genuinely interested in making your stay as good as possible.The food has definitely improved as has the service and the apres ski on the terrace was fun.Location unbeatable and rooms clean and tidy. Thankyou for a great stay and we look forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJSH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#25 of 50 in Morzine
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Clef Des Champs
Hotel La Clef Des Champs
#31 of 50 in Morzine
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage

Property: Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Address: 753 Avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel Le Cottage)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Morzine, Le Cottage is 10 metres from the Le Pleney cable car, which leads to the ski slopes and the bike trails. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a sun terrace, a bike and ski storage as well as a bike wash station. The chalet-style rooms feature a desk and a private bathroom with free toiletries, a hairdryer and a bath or shower. Some rooms have a balcony with mountain or village views. A buffet breakfast can be enjoyed every morning at Le Cottage. There is an on-site restaurant and bar serving traditional and modern cuisine. Le Cottage bar is open everyday and offers appetizers, pizzas, tapas, snacks and ice-cream that guests can enjoy on the sunny terrace. Le Cottage is 6 km from Les Gets Golf Course and 42 km from the Swiss Border. Avoriaz Lake is a 22-minute drive away and guests can go mountain biking, paragliding, canyoning, climbing and rafting in the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing