We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location couldn't be better - right next to the Pleney lift. But there are so many other reasons to visit le Cottage. Apres-ski is great, food was varied and really tasty, hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, foot warmers for your boots, spotless and plenty of hot water.

Yes the rooms are a bit small - but then I would expect that in a ski resort. Don't take a big case! And the rooms are too arm - but I would rather open a window than have a permanently cold room. We didn't go half-board but would probably do this next time as the food was lovely when we stayed in the hotel. Overall, this is excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We recently stayed here for a short break (Friday to Monday). Our rooms were available for an early book in making it quick and easy to get out onto the slopes, especially as the hotel is right by the Pleney lift and ski hire shops.
Downstairs there are a couple of comfortable lounge areas, one with a cosy log fire, ideal for enjoying an evening drink. Outside there is a canopy covered, deck area with paio heaters where you can enjoy the après ski drinks.
The breakfasts are continental, including boiled eggs, bread, cereal, ham and cheese with a self service machine for coffee and tea.
The evening meals were absolutely delicious! There is a three course set menu and a selection of cheeses which we looked forward to at the end of a hard days skiing.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.
The manager was kind enough to allow us to keep our rooms until our taxi turned up so that we could have a shower after a full days skiing on our last day.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Fantastic hotel in a brilliant location right on the Pleney Lift in Morzine. Le Cottage is a real gem and highly recommended. Food is absolutely superb (5 Stars +) and Staff are really friendly and helpful. Owner Sebastien is very hands-on with exquisite English and front of house kingpin, Ben made our stay the best experience that we have had in our 7th consecutive year of skiing in the area. We will return to see the Crocodile

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phaweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here with a large group of friends for 4 days in Jan 2014. We were really impressed with the place. Super friendly staff, ideal location, great food and very comfy apres ski.

I have stayed in a lot of ski hotels, and generally I avoid the half-board option where possible as the food tends to be disappointing. However, at leCottage the food was surprisingly good. Breakfast was the standard continental buffet, but the evening meals were excellent (confit duck, pork loin, moroccan tagine etc) It included 3 courses and the wine list (extra cost) was also varied and reasonable.

Add to this the simple yet stylish decor, roaring fires, comfy chairs plus a lively bar terrace, and you have a great base from which to enjoy the slopes.

Room Tip: Some rooms are recently renovated and some doubles have bath tubs - ask at reception if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_in_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband, adult son and i recently stayed at Le Cottage on half board basis and will definitely recommend to friends and family and hope to return this summer. The hotel is at the bottom of one of the main ski lifts with access to unlimited skiing of all levels. It is also located in the heart of Morzine so easy access to shops, restaurants etc. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Ben for his knowledge of best ski slopes and wines! Rooms are on the small side but comfortable and clean. There are two sitting areas with fireplaces in each which adds to the overall charm and ambience of this lovely hotel. The vibrant bar has and outdoor patio and 2 nights a week live entertainment which was great fun. And while i can give this hotel rave reviews on all fronts, it is the excellent, gourmet dinners that stand out. Each night is a different set menu, if there is something that you don't care for or have allergies to they gladly alter for you. The 3 course meals were perfect each night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed over new year and had a wonderful time. Great location next to the new Pleney gondola and easy to ski back to at the end of the day.

Superb food and attentive staff. Bedrooms basic but beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean.

Would we return - a definite yes!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd consecutive year and again have been impressed by the staff - very attentive service - delicious food and clean, comfortable rooms. The hotel is also well situated for the ski lift, ski hire shops and the bus to Avoriaz. Ben and Sebastian were extremely helpful and did all they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RookeryRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel L'Aubergade
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
2.6 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#28 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage

Address: 753 Avenue de Joux Plane, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Hotel Le Cottage)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: £82 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Morzine, Le Cottage is 10 metres from the Le Pleney cable car, which leads to the ski slopes and the bike trails. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a sun terrace, a bike and ski storage as well as a bike wash station. The chalet-style rooms feature a desk and a private bathroom with free toiletries, a hairdryer and a bath or shower. Some rooms have a balcony with mountain or village views. A buffet breakfast can be enjoyed every morning at Le Cottage. There is an on-site restaurant and bar serving traditional and modern cuisine. Le Cottage bar is open everyday and offers appetizers, pizzas, tapas, snacks and ice-cream that guests can enjoy on the sunny terrace. Le Cottage is 6 km from Les Gets Golf Course and 42 km from the Swiss Border. Avoriaz Lake is a 22-minute drive away and guests can go mountain biking, paragliding, canyoning, climbing and rafting in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing