We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alikats are go!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules
Ranked #1 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have never written a review/feedback on any website before but having stayed in many chalets over the years this one is worth a special mention.
Chalets triumph on the basis of a few key ingredients; beautiful chalet, prime location, good food & wine and good chalet hosts. Alikats have managed to tick all the boxes, and from looking at the reviews pretty consistently from opening in December.
Kat & Al are obviously very passionate about their new business venture. Despite feeling under the weather and being 6 months pregnant Kat worked up a 4 course meal worthy of a restaurant every evening with a grin on her face. Al co-ordinated ski hire/ passes for all 17 of us and took time out of his weekend to take us out skiing for the day.
The chalet is a gem with one of the largest living areas I have ever seen, allowing everyone to sit around the fire in evening eating cheese and drinking wine.
Tucked away in Montriond some would be worried about being so far from Morzine but despair not. With a lift to the mountain every day and a super quick bubble up to Ardent you are in the middle of the best ski area without the crazy lift queues. So from being up at 830 we could be at the top of the hill by 0930!! If you want to venture into Morzine a cab for 8 is about 25E. Cheap even by english standards!
Finally and by no means least a big thanks to Amelia, Ben, Colleen & Simon for whom nothing was too much trouble. These guys were key in the day to day running of the chalet & getting us up and down the mountain which with 17 individuals is hard to co-ordinate. Though at times they must have felt like they were herding cats they did it with a smile on their faces. Thanks for a great holiday guys! All the best Laura xx

For those out there thinking of booking a chalet for 2012/3 look no further!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Hi Laura,
Thank you so much for your very detailed review; it's this kind of reaction that we started the business for in the 1st place!

Give us a shout if you fancy some mountain biking over the summer and if not, see you again next winter...

Al & Kat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed with Alikats Mountain Holidays during March 2012, and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Working in the hospitality industry, I tend to be over critical when it comes to service and some of the other smaller details of hotels/restaurants. However, what was obvious to my wife and I was that a lot of thought has gone into creating this exceptional chalet.

If you have read some of the other reviews, you will not need me to tell you how good the food was!

The standard of wine that was served was also very very good. The wines were also paired with the food throughout the week, which I thought was great!

Skiing in and out from Ardent was also surprisingly good. Once at the top of the bubble, you could easily access different parts of the Port du Soleil. Before arriving I did have some concerns about having to get the minibus between the chalet and the lifts, however this was very well organised, and did not cause us any problems.

For me, the big stand out was the staff. They were all great characters to have around, very attentive and never overlooked the smaller details. So, a HUGE thank you to all the staff at Alikats Mountain Holidays.

I would certainly recommend this chalet, and am looking forward to going back in the future!

Thanks,
Doug and Nikki

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Hi Doug,
Thank you so much for your review and glad to hear you had a good time. I know what you mean about having a more critical eye once you work in the hospitality industry - we're always assessing how clean bathrooms are when we stay in hotels now!

Good luck at the villa and see you again soon hopefully!

Al & Kat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The AliKats team make a large chalet feel like a cosy homely place that is great to come back to after a day on the slopes. You are welcomed back by tea, cakes, the outdoor hot tub makes and the prospect of the evening by the open fire. Second to none and the truly stand out feature of the week is Kat's gourmet cooking. A feast for all the senses. This is a holiday experience that you don't want to leave behind.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpekaandKyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Hi Upeka and Kyri,
We might have to adopt the title of your review as the new tagline for AliKats! Love it!

It was great getting to know you - best of luck with the forthcoming nuptials and see you again soon

Al & Kat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My partner and I booked Alikats for a short notice skiing break in March 2012. From start to finish, the help and support provided by Al and Kat were exemplary, Simon, Colleen, Ben & Amelia - the chalet staff - were brilliant, the chalet great and the food was the best I've eaten in more than 25 years of chalet-based skiing. Particularly worthy of note is the outdoor jacuzzi with views down the valley into the setting sun - perfect for the end of a long skiing day!

The nearest lifts for the chalet are at Ardent, which are MUCH quieter than the lifts at Morzine and provide immediate access to both the Swiss side of the Portes du Soleil and to the Avoriaz/Morzine/Les Gets complex - and extremely well situated if you've ambitions to do the whole circuit in a day. My partner used the ESF ski school (Montriond) at Ardent and had a really great instructor - Francine. Her skiing came on in, ah, leaps and bounds this week...

The only thing to watch for is the rather inadequate local public transport: The ski buses stop running from Morzine at 1735 and the local taxi operators we tried don't seem to want to bother with the work. As Alikats provide a shuttle to and from the slopes at the beginning and end of the day, this isn't a problem if you're skiing all the time, but makes an afternoon's shopping in Morzine a little tricky. However, when we got stuck, the Alikats staff turned up with the minibus to bail us out, to our relief!

I can't recommend Alikats highly enough and we will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have excellent aspects with balconies and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technomague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Hi,
Thanks for your lovely review, it's a real honour to hear that! I really enjoyed our morning on the slopes together; best of luck with all of those inventions!

See you again soon hopefully,

Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

First up many thanks Al, Kat, Simon, Colleen, Amelia and Ben for making our stay so amazing - you guys are stars! The way we felt at home from the moment we walked in was outstanding and the atmosphere throughout the stay was so friendly and humorous.

The service throughout the week was very much appreciated. The transfers to and from Ardent, the arranging of anything we needed from skis, lift passes to taxis - Nothing was too much for you guys. The food was well gourmet, every night - Kat is such a great cook!

The Chalet is clean at all times and the chalet facilities are top notch. The sauna and hot tub was so much appreciated after a hard days skiing. The views from the chalet are breathtaking as well.

Would definitely come back and stay again and would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of going to Port De Soleil.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMyers148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Hello!
It's so nice to hear that you felt at home in our chalet because that is exactly what we aim for. It was great having the 6 of you with us for the week and nice to see all the different groups getting on so well and laughing so much!

Hopefully see you next year!

Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Thanks to Al, Kat, Simon, Colleen, Amelia and Ben for a brilliant holiday. From the moment we arrived we were looked after to the highest standard.

The chalet was large enough to give you your own space but still retain a real cosy feeling, and the friendly atmosphere generated by the staff made everyone feel really welcome.

The hot tub and sauna helped us unwind at the end of the day and was a great way to start the evening with a social glass of wine while comparing notes on the day with the other guests. Because of the friendly atmosphere we found ourselves with plenty of new friends to help us explore the vast skiing area that the Portes Du Soleil area has to offer.

Whoever was making breakfast they were always happy to advise us on the best ways around the slopes and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. The short minibus trip to the bottom of the gondola each morning was much easier than waiting for a ski bus or a long walk in ski boots and the option of being dropped off in Morzine made exploring the whole area a breeze.

You can't review this chalet without mentioning the superb food, every meal was delicious from start to finish and the afternoon cakes made leaving the bar at the bottom of the slopes a little easier.

Bad points? unfortunately during our stay someone was allergic to dogs so we didn't get to see Murray the collie as much as we would have liked, but you can't have everything :-)

The only ski holiday I have been on where I would consider returning the next year, five stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al_Cannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Hi Al,
That's a real compliment to hear that ours is the only place that you would consider coming back to next year! We really enjoyed having you at the chalet and that first day out on the slopes together was a lot of fun!

Take care,

Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Six of us stayed at Alikats at the end of February for a long weekend and the whole experience was absolutely fantastic. Alikats made everything so easy from the transfers from the airport to sorting out our skis and boots - we were out skiing about half an hour after arriving at the chalet, which was brilliant.

The team was lovely and really made us feel at home; they even arranged fantastic ski lessons and beauty treatments! They were also great at ferrying us around the different resorts and were really flexible with where they took us and when.

The chalet is beautiful; it has fantastic bedrooms and really cosy communal areas as well. The all inclusive wine, honesty bar, hot tub and sauna, make it all seem a real treat (as well as all the cakes!). The food is delicious and really not what we were expecting. There was always a hot option for breakfast and cakes when we got back as well as canapes and a three course dinner in the evening - you certainly don't go hungry!

It was my first ski trip and has set an almost impossible standard for the future! We would all thoroughly recommend it!

Sarah, Jamie, Rob, Eric, Oli and Hannah

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliKats, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Hi Sarah, Jamie, Rob, Eric, Oli and Hannah!
Thank you so much for your review - it's a shame you weren't able to stay for the full week.

We're really glad your first experience was a good one and hope to see you back here soon!

Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morzine
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
19.9 mi away
Chalet 1864
Chalet 1864
#4 of 8 in Le Grand-Bornand
31 reviews
19.2 mi away
Auberge de l'Orangerie
Auberge de l'Orangerie
#1 of 6 in Sallanches
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
#1 of 30 in Chamonix
207 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules

Address: Le Lavanchy, 74110, Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range: £71 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AliKats Mountain Holidays offer stays in their luxury catered chalet in Morzine, France. Ensuite bedrooms, hot-tub, sauna, bar, great food and pistes only 5 mins from the front door await you.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing