We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday, can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Chelmer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Chelmer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday, can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for a week towards the end of the season in April. From collection at the airport right through to the standard of the chalet and the amazing food, we couldn't have been happier with the service we received. Sarah and Steve helped to arrange everything we needed, including ski / snowboard gear and lessons which made everything a lot easier for absolute beginners when it comes to snowboarding. The chalet is fantastic - relaxing in the hot tub & sauna after a day on the slopes was a real highlight. Sarah's cooking is incredible - each evening was a great meal and both Sarah and Steve were always available to cater to our every need and always keen to share a few beers with us. Can't wait to go back and visit them again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayrayisapuppyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had the most amazing holiday in Morzine, staying with the fabulous Sarah and Steve. Their chalet was perfect; spacious with a fantastic view (particularly from the hot tub).

The food was imaginative and delicious, Sarah's a great cook. And Steve's a wonderful host!

Being given a lift to / from the slopes each day was great, although the chalet's a walkable distance from town which made going out for drinks very easy.

Thoroughly recommend a holiday with these guys. Thank you Sarah and Steve.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMartinPageClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here in a group of 4 from Sunday to Thursday evening and it felt like home within an hour of arrival.

Steve and Sarah were as helpful as they could possibly be and whole experience felt tailor made to what we were all after. Steve took me out to my lessons each morning with no bother and picked us up in the afternoon when we wanted.

Sarah's cooking was incredible from breakfasts to the wonderful evening meals that she prepared which more than satisfied us.

Having our equipment brought to the chalet on the first day we arrived was a real plus too and made the whole experience hassle free and a total detachment from working life back in England.

I cannot sing their praises highly enough! Just hope we manage to get to stay with them again in the future as will take some beating!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaMayLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I arrived for a week solo due to a course but I usally ski with my family or freinds and this chalet would suit either. The outsourced airport transfer service is easy, you may have a wait for passengers to arrive to fill the 9 seat renault and this is the luck of the draw. If you want instant departure book the private service or hire a car. I waited 30 minutes which was okay for me.

The chalet is very nice and has stunning views. It is a 15 minute stroll into town, the plus side being quiet and beautiful at night. It is too far to walk back from the slopes in boots but this is not a problem due to the excellent pick up service they operate. A quick call and 5 minutess later you are in the van. Morzine is quite spread out compared to some resorts so there is an advantage to being able to be picked up or dropped of at any of the lift stations. If you want to access the Avoriaz and Swiss area a drop of to the lift in Prodains is really useful and a crowd beater. None of this possible in a chalet without the free drop service. In fact I would avoid going to a chalet that did not offer this if you want to explore the ski area. The ski area is very pretty due to the number of trees and its is possible to ski mainly blue runs and pick the harder runs, any lift terminating with only a red or black option has a warning before you get on so less confident skiers will feel safe. The better runs and the off piste are also very accessible. Pointe De Cherry in Les Gets for amazing views.

The layout of the chalet would be ideal for 2 or 3 families to share, internal stairs would need care with toddlers.

The four bed room( two bunks and two singles) I had was clean and had a large modern bathroom with bath and shower. It could do with some extra wardrobe space if it had a family in occupation. I assume I was in the smallest family room but this would be fine for a family of four. Bathroom big enough for the children and mum/dad.

Steve and Sarah are discreet and friendly, the food was plentiful and homely, I was staggered at how good the complimentary wine tasted and nothing was too much trouble. There is a log burner in the lounge and a lovely hot tub outside with views. If you want spa type treatments they have some who visits. This is also the case for the ski hire service which works very well at the chalet, I saw other guests who needed something changed and the shop popped straight back up with the right thing- no problem.

This is real value for money and for me strikes the right balance between price and quality. You feel a bit spoilt without feeling that you are wasting money on things that will not be used due to the fact you are on the slopes most of the day.

I have no doubt that this chalet will be well booked in advance as the repeat custom grows, I will certainly have no hesitation in returning.

If you want the best ski tuition at all levels then BASS ( English level4 instructors)are as good as it gets and the BASS HQ is in Morzine. Book early.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony a nice touch but all have great views in any case .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our first snow holiday and we couldn’t have asked for any more. When we were booking with SKP Ski, it was clear that they had thought of everything, from (discounted) transfers and ski hire, to information on lift passes and the many slopes Port de Soleil has to offer.

From the moment we arrived, Steve and Sarah made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The bedrooms are well furnished and most have a balcony offering beautiful views of the town and main slopes. The spacious lounge/dining room, also with balcony, provides plenty of room for all guests to enjoy the Sky TV, Xbox and DVD collection.

Don’t be put off by the location of this chalet. Being situated just outside the centre of Morzine works to its advantage because of the views afforded and, with Steve always on hand to drop us off and pick us up, we had a choice of which slopes to enjoy rather than having to start at the one nearest to us if we opted for a ski-in ski-out accommodation. We went into the town a couple of times for a few late drinks and it was an easy 15-minute walk.

The home-cooked food that Sarah prepared was delicious. The choice of hot and/or cold breakfast was a perfect start for an active day. A freshly baked cake with a hot drink when we got in from the slopes was very welcome and then the canapés whetted our appetites for the evening meal, which never disappointed.

We didn’t try the sauna but can highly recommend the hot tub! Enjoying a drink while we warmed up, and allowed our muscles to recover from a hard day snowboarding, quickly became a necessary late-afternoon activity. Again, the views from the hot tub made it extra special.

We are definitely going back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

16-23 March 2014. My wife, daughter and husband and 14month old granddaughter have just had the catered chalet experience to beat all others. Steve and Sarah our chalet hosts are the most considerate, thoughtful and professional we have ever met in our 10 years of ski chalet holidays. The daily 'taxi service' i.e. Steve, including trips with push chair and baby, never ceased to impress, as nothing was too much trouble. Sarah's ability in the kitchen to produce such wonderful, tasteful and varied food, including vegetarian for my daughter and husband, was exceptionally skilful and first class. The wine wasn't bad either!! Real quality wine which flowed freely. Steve and Sarah made this a most memorable holiday for my family; it was a pleasure to meet them, they are a fantastic couple, a fantastic chalet with incredible views of Morzine and overall a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Me and the Mrs are always disorganised and end up booking our hols very last minute. SKPSki were one of the first to respond to our cry for help on Chalets Direct and boy am I glad I we chose them. Over the space of two days they organised our trip from transfers to equipment hire and we feel we've had amazing value for money.

After our short complimentary transfer from Geneva we received a warm welcome from Steve and Sarah who were kind enough to have rearrange their day off so they could welcome and feed us (We did a non standard Wednesday to Wednesday week). Champagne and Canapés on arrival were just the start of the amazing food and drink to come and over the week Sarah wowed us with course after course of delicious home cooked food, it really made the holiday and was in a different league to the food in any chalet we've stayed at before.

The Chalet was beautifully furnished with all the creature comforts; Honesty bar, sky tv, comfortable beds with quality linnen, I could go on but there are so many to list, basically they have thought of everything. The hot tub was excellent offering amazing views just like the images on the website depict and the Sauna was always ready for our use.

Steve was great with the transfers to the slopes every morning offering to take and collect us from anywhere in Morzine and the surrounding valleys. This was perfect as on a couple of occasions we boarded a little to far but a quick txt and Steve was on his way and met us at the bottom of the nearest valley.

In summary this was by far the best catered chalet experience I've personally had in over 15 years having stayed at several both in the French Alps and Canada. We feel very lucky to have found this little gem and we will be returning hopefully before the seasons out work permitting but if not most certainly next year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardLatham84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#8 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermine Blanche
Hotel Hermine Blanche
#23 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chelmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chelmer

Property: Chalet Chelmer
Address: 841 Route d Avoriaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Chelmer is a fantastic french chalet in beautiful Morzine, a traditional French town in the heart of the Portes du Soleil, part of the largest connected ski area in Europe. Our chalet is situated high up on the 'sunny side' of the Morzine valley with breathtaking panoramic views. Our chalet is only a 5 minute walk from the centre of Morzine town, slopes and lifts, but we provide a free shuttle within our package. We offer a fully catered holiday with gourmet meals & free flowing wine, outdoor mountain view hot tub, sauna, log fire and much, much more - Sarah & Steve ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing